Neustar Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Neustar President and Chief Executive Officer  Charlie Gottdiener
Charlie Gottdiener
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Neustar is a good company to work for, with great benefits and plenty of opportunity(in 49 reviews)

  • "Everyone on my team works hard but also seems to be able to maintain a good work/life balance(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is not that great, sometimes it gets hectic(in 25 reviews)

  • "Upper management just make promises to client without using their head; timeline does not make sense for people on the ground doing all the work;(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "After 5 years here, I have never regretted joining the Neustar Team!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Manager in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neustar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Truly care about employees, benefits are AMAZING, current leadership seeks to understand, love the work hard/play hard culture.

    Cons

    If you do not adapt to change well (are you resilient?), then Neustar may not be a good fit for you.

    Continue reading

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we truly appreciate your commitment to grow with us for the past five years. Your insight and feedback is greatly appreciated. Hearing it directly from our employees is valuable and essential for our growth. Thank you! - Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  2. "Great benefits but HR is terrible."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Worker- Product Support in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Neustar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Great cafeteria Friendly managers Decent people- for the most part

    Cons

    Money minded decisions at the expense of individuals Lack of process sometimes, management is not formalized Lack of templates to succeed at work. HR is terrible at connecting individuals with internal openings. Client relationship is only a facade, internal teams have their own opinion about vendors and clients. It sometimes seems like a frat house popularity contest.

    Continue reading

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. It is important to hear what we are doing well and what we need to improve on. We are unhappy to hear your feelings about issues with our account management/sales and HR teams. Likewise, your comments regarding employee development and recognition indicated you are not feeling appreciated or valued. These are important issues and we would like to discuss these and any other concerns you may have. We would appreciate hearing more so we can work to improve Neustar and your employment with us. Please reach out to your HR Business Partner, or even myself at your earliest convenience. - Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  3. "Good times"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager 

    I worked at Neustar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collegial, financially rewarding, professional growth opportunity

    Cons

    Corporate identity crisis that was not managed and communicated downstream very well

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Your input matters to us and is greatly appreciated. -Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  4. "Had it’s heyday but SF is terrible now"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Tech in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Neustar full-time

    Pros

    Had smart, talented, and dedicated people once. Work life balance depending on the team.

    Cons

    Technology in SF is run by a misogynist. Leadership and HR haven’t done anything about it.

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. It sounds like you had a bad experience with us. I am very sorry for that. We have specific escalation processes for complaints and wish you had utilized these prior to your departure. We are very proud of our San Francisco team. They are consistently recognized as leaders by their peers through our Values Recognition program as well as by their departments. Misogyny, or inequity of any type within Neustar, is not tolerated. We take diversity and inclusion very seriously -- so much so that we recently officially launched a program that will be co-created by our employees and management team. We wish you luck in your future endeavors. -Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  5. "Great people and culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Neustar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people at Neustar are extremely smart, dedicated and driven to do what's right for clients. New CEO is dedicated to driving a new culture that employees are very much buying into.

    Cons

    As a result of many acquisitions, there are still some lingering "cliques" within the organization that can be tough to navigate.

    Continue reading

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will continue to hold ourselves accountable in our commitment to use our shared culture and values as our guidepost and work together as one Team Neustar. - Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Current employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neustar

    Pros

    Competitive pay, good benefits, great company culture.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are so glad to hear you are having a positive experience. - Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  7. "It was okay"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Analyst in Sterling, VA

    I worked at Neustar full-time

    Pros

    They were somewhat flexible with the working schedule

    Cons

    There was no growth in this small company

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very excited about our Roadmap for Growth. We’ve outlined this, along with the Strategic Priorities that will help us realize our Roadmap and since its introduction, we've met or exceeded all of our goals. In fact, last year we exceeded our profitability goals which enabled us to pay out in excess of 100 percent in bonuses. This year, despite COVID-19, we are on track for another successful year. - Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Such Amazing Care during this Crisis"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director Engineering in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neustar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Our CEO and EC truly care about the people who work at Neustar. The support for our new working conditions is remarkable. I have been so impressed and delighted at the information shared during our weekly updates from Charlie and his staff. I truly feel like I work in a small startup but actually we are geographically disbursed team of over 1500 employees.

    Cons

    Nothing to report at this time.

    Continue reading

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are incredibly proud of our team showing resilience during these unprecedented times. We will continue to work hard to keep our employees safe, motivated and engaged while we are working from home due to COVID-19. - Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  9. "Great People"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Services Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Neustar full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Neustar has some very talented employees. If you are working in the right group with the right manager, it can be a great excellent company to work for. With new management (since PE buyout), I could see how my group fit in to the overall company plan.

    Cons

    My contributions were not always recognized, often a male coworker would be given credit for my ideas. Management talks about work/life balance but doesn't back that up with reasonable assignments. After PE buyout, benefits were reduced (401K match doesn't happen until after year closes, decreased vacation time accrual, … ). I didn't find there was support from my management to move to other opportunities within Neustar.

    Neustar Response

    June 23, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for your review and for your more than eight years of service to Neustar. Our people are our most valuable asset at Neustar and I am glad you mentioned them and their talent. Misogyny, or inequity of any type within Neustar, is not tolerated. I wish you had felt comfortable to escalate your concerns while you were with us. We take diversity and inclusion very seriously -- so much so that we recently officially launched a program that will be co-created by our employees and management team. While it is true that our benefits were adjusted as a result of the loss of the NPAC contract and subsequent investments by our private equity partners, our benefits remain among the most generous in the industry. I wish you success in your future endeavors. - Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

  10. COVID-19
    Helpful (8)

    "Solid Company with Great People!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Neustar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since joining the Neustar team, I have been very impressed with the company's response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Communication and support from the CEO and the rest of the management team has been regular and consistent throughout with Neustar being one of the first companies to announce that all employees would work remotely until it is safe to return to the office. Everyone on my team works hard but also seems to be able to maintain a good work/life balance. Benefits are solid with relatively low employee premiums for medical and dental insurance.

    Cons

    In my relatively limited experience, I do not see any major negatives

    Continue reading

    Neustar Response

    April 19, 2020Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thanks for sharing your experiences. It’s reassuring to hear that our work to support our employees during the COVID-19 crisis is meaningful to you. - Carey Pellock, Chief Human Resources Officer

Found 575 reviews