Rylem Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Rylem Managing Partner Mike Dades (no image)
Mike Dades
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Back in 2014, great people took a chance on me and hired me(in 4 reviews)

  • "Everyone here has strong work ethic and while we manage to sneak in some fun it's a lot more about doing a great job(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "If it hadn't been for the management team I most likely would not have considered leaving(in 4 reviews)

  • " rylem's (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Development Contractor with Rylem"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rylem full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The internal interview was professional and focused on more than the technical aspects of the position I was looking for. They really seemed interested in my goals as a person and in making a good fit with me and company that I would be working for. When they sent me to the onsite interview I had a solid idea of what that company was looking for and confidence that I was at least a solid match. After taking the contract I've found that Rylem is a small company with big benefits, certainly on par or better than the majority of the large contracting agencies I had been working with. Their hourly rate was also near the top of what other agencies were offering. They are also great at following up to make sure that all is going well and that I have what I need to be successful in the position. They are very personable and personal. I feel free to talk to the CEO any time should I need to and my initial contact recruiter still touches base with me at least once a week. I don't think you would find that any where else.

    Cons

    They don't have quite the reach of some of the larger agencies, but this wasn't a downside for me as I was looking for a smaller company where I could have greater impact.

    Continue reading
    Rylem2019-09-13
  2. "Reach out to a former employee before accepting your offer"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sourcer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rylem full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees are nice, hardworking, and dedicated people. If you reach out to any of us on linked in we'd be more than happy to tell you about our experience in detail.

    Cons

    Management doesn't seem to have any trust or respect for the employees regardless of their experience or results. Honestly, sometimes it seemed like the company exists as a vanity project for the owner more than anything else.

    Rylem2019-09-25
  3. "The grass is always greener, looking back to where you just came from"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rylem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training and a CEO with Character.

    Cons

    Looking back, there are very few things I could complain about

    Continue reading
    Rylem2019-06-28
  4. "Out with the old and in with the new!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rylem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love this place. I never knew the old partners (current CEO bought them out) but I report directly to the current owner and I couldn't be happier. Everyone here has strong work ethic and while we manage to sneak in some fun it's a lot more about doing a great job. The CEO is woking hard side by side the rest of us every day and sets a strong example for me.

    Cons

    I can't think of any really. I'd like to be fair and see the other side of the coin here but I'm really happy and don't have any complaints. If I did though, I know I could talk to my boss about them and be heard.

    Continue reading
    Rylem2019-06-07
  5. "Special place. Great team!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in South Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rylem full-time

    Pros

    I consider my time at Rylem very special. It was a great place to work and I enjoyed it immensely. We were provided with ALL the sourcing tools I could ask for...LinkedIn Recruiter, Indeed, CareerBuilder, Dice, Monster...internal training. In my 20+ years in the industry, I've never worked for an org that supplied me with this many tools! It really made a difference. I was able to leave no stone unturned in my search for top tier tech talent. Owner is very generous and always treated me fairly. We worked hard and played hard and it paid off. It's hard work, but it's also great fun. Stressful at times but that's agency life. Great team. Great place to work.

    Cons

    I don't really have too many cons. Most people who post bad reviews probably didn't have the work ethic to hack it at Rylem. Work hard and you will do well. Only con would be maybe not a path to management but a great stepping stone into the PNW tech staffing world. You will learn a lot...fast.

    Continue reading
    Rylem2019-03-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Fun, at a cost"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rylem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Owners liked to have offsite events and they weren't in the office much Gave people without experience a chance Fun environment

    Cons

    When the owners came back from long lunches you never knew what would happen Decisions could be different depending on the day Wouldn't allow people who wanted to work and not party the opportunity

    Continue reading
    Rylem2018-11-20
  7. "Great Company, Newly Developing Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rylem full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I recently left my position at Rylem, but have spent the last 3+ years with the company. Rylem is a genuinely fantastic company to work for. At Rylem, your coworkers, supervisors, and (maybe most importantly) the owner, genuinely care about you and your success. Agency staffing isn't easy, but Rylem will give you all of the tools you need to succeed. The culture has changed and evolved a lot over my time at Rylem, and it is admittedly, in flux at the moment, but the company has a great core of young salespeople and recruiters that are driven and excited, and will make great mentors for you if you're looking for your first step into the world of agency recruiting. The owner is also fantastic about working with you directly to find ways to evolve your role and take on more responsibility. Compensation and benefits are also just as good, if not much better, than competing companies.

    Cons

    Agency staffing is tough, and it's definitely not for everyone. You're much less likely to succeed at Rylem if you're the type of person that needs a ton of direction and hand-holding. This is an environment that lends itself well to "go-getters" and people who can be very self-directed. The company is also pretty small, but you will still have access to more tools and resources than you will find at many much bigger staffing agencies.

    Continue reading
    Rylem2018-03-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Starbucks Perks"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rylem full-time

    Pros

    Offered lots of perks with unlimited food and snacks and Starbuck's visits; game room with giveaways every Friday; an overall fun place to work

    Cons

    Some members of management should not be involved in daily operations

    Rylem2018-03-28
  9. "I refer friends to Rylem. That's how much I liked my time there."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rylem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, Autonomy, commission, fun, good clients, co-workers, opportunity

    Cons

    some negative co-workers, indecision, unorganized,

    Continue reading
    Rylem2018-02-21
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Beware and good luck!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rylem full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved the team I worked with and the mentors I have gained from working at Rylem!

    Cons

    Training is non-existent at Rylem. They may even try to sell you on how amazing their training program is, they’re lying. You will learn everything on your own and then soon be training the people that are hired after you! Performance is measured by metrics but metrics aren’t enforced and have been the same for years. They may scare you with a PIP but don’t worry, nothing will happen to you and you may even get promoted! They have meetings for everything.. You'll have weekly 1-on-1 meetings with management to "discuss your metrics" but they'll talk for 90% of that meeting about nothing important. You'll also have weekly recruiter meetings for "training" that are led by recruiters or sales managers because there isn’t a recruiting manager. On top of that, you may have another company meeting just because! Stand-ups happen every morning and typically take 15-20 minutes. The commission structure is terrible! You get your commission at the end of each month for the previous months work. Most agencies aren’t structured this way and you’ll constantly be thinking about where 92% of your commission is going. Management continues to have “favorites” and seem to only recognize these workers as top performers even if they’re not. They are the definition of micromanagers who do not listen to their employees and react negatively to new ideas!

    Continue reading
    Rylem2018-02-02
Found 61 reviews