SendGrid Reviews

Updated Apr 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
SendGrid CEO Sameer Dholakia
Sameer Dholakia
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Every company you consider joining has a web page that highlights why they have a great culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "Working environment is flexible, creating the ability to have a great work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains consistent across all companies that grow rapidly(in 19 reviews)

  • "Growing fast means growing pains(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Seriously the best career choice I've ever made

      Jul 9, 2019 - Product in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - culture and people are amazing, they challenge you and push you to be the best version of yourself. - decision making process is astounding for a company of our size. Product, finance and engineering decisions are made in a very data-driven way. - Willing to discuss the hard topics and make the most informed decision. - Benefits are amazing, free lunch everyday is fantastic, i hope we don't lose this. - If you're motivated and willing to work hard, you can be recognized and tasked with more responsibility. I've seen many people grow their careers here and be promoted every year based on their performance and determination.

      Cons

      - typical pains related to integrating with Twilio after the acquisition in Feb of 2019. Most painful of which is the figuring out how we make decisions now as one larger company. (Twilio has less process / standard way to make decisions, SendGrid has a formalized process). - The general energy of the company is lower now after the Twilio acquisition – still positive but now that we're not a standalone, public company, there appears to be less control over our business (email, email marketing) destiny. - Culture of Twilio, while close to SendGrid's, is definitely different and will take some time to feel part of one

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Truly, the best decision of your career.

      Jan 22, 2019 - Senior Product Manager in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Before I even officially started, it was recommended to read: "Radical Candor", "The Alchemy of Growth", and "Competing Against Luck". The company, and senior leadership has a maniacal focus on culture. Every 'Gridder' is evaluated on their ability to get work done, give honest feedback (kindly), learn and grow in their role, and contribute to others' success. We never do anything alone. Cliche analogies aside, it really does feel like you're climbing a summit. Your skill on it's own is ok, but success relies just as much on the person on belay. The company definitely cares more about your health and wellbeing more than any other place I have worked at. The benefits reflect those values and make it easy to get healthy lunches, find support in meeting your personal goals, and go out and do something fun. Feedback and rapid iteration are key values, resulting in processes that have more polish than fortune 100 companies. The focus on taking feedback at every step and making sure very iteration is better result in artifacts that feel like it took 10x as many people as we have. The work is fun, the teams are extremely supportive and tight-knit, and you'll learn more in 6 months than you thought possible in a year.

      Cons

      Not on my team, but I have heard that at times, people are too determined to be 'nice' and fail to deliver needed feedback when performance isn't great. I admire the companies commitment to delivering valuable, honest, and timely feedback in a way that's both constructive and unquestionable.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      fantastic place to work, consisting of transparent leadership and an incredible company culture.

      Apr 12, 2020 - Technical Support Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing team with lots of good mentors as well as copious opportunities to bond with other interns. Get the chance to take ownership on a substantial project of your own.

      Cons

      The way they kept track of their metrics didn't make sense which made the job super stressful. The worst part was they knew too and really didn't care that much.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Mostly good so far but...

      Jun 12, 2019 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great offices - Great culture & values - Awesome perks - Stock performance is outstanding - Rewarded for good performance - I love my teammates - Lots of opportunities to learn, challenge, and grow. Interesting work. - Processes are good - Sameer & Craig are great It might be the best decision of my career so far, but for all the good being said, some issues have come up.

      Cons

      Politics and disingenuity are on the rise. It's often said that the cultural value we're the worst at is the Honest H. Time and time again leadership says to be more honest. But when we give fair, direct feedback to leadership, people get political, then we're commended to our faces and called bellyachers behind our backs. It's incredibly disingenuous and feels like we're only going downhill from here.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Culture is not just a set of buzzwords

      Aug 15, 2018 - Director, Engineering in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Every company you consider joining has a web page that highlights why they have a great culture. At SendGrid, they actually mean it. The culture is built into and ingrained in the fabric of getting work done and respecting those you work with. The work is interesting and fast paced. Engineering teams are focused on the latest technologies and there are clear business priorities against which to work on that move the company forward. Executive leadership focuses on the long picture and making appropriate strategic plans that provide a long-term vision for growth for the company.

      Cons

      The company IPO-d last year and is going through the growing pains shifting from startup to small private company, to public company. The company is poised to continue to grow and there will naturally be growing pains as part of that process. Someone who like stability and no change would not thrive in the environment. That said, it's not chaotic, but you have to be comfortable with a growth mindset.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SendGrid Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for providing your feedback! We appreciate the Honest H review. You’re right that as we continue to grow and hit these major milestones, we experience growing pains and want you to bring those to the table as you see them crop up. Let’s all work together to identify them and then eliminate them quickly. Transparency remains a focus for me and the entire executive team, and we’ll continue striving to communicate all that we can with our employees. Thanks again for your review and advice.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent employer, be prepared to work hard

      Dec 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely employee friendly company, good team, flexible, and collaborative environment. I rate the pay and benefits 8.5 out of 10.

      Cons

      Too many meetings. Many people end up working nights and weekends because there is insufficient time during the day to get actual work done. This next item is not really a "con." It's more of a warning. The company has a "do it now" attitude with absolutely everything. If you accept a job here, be prepared to work hard.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love This Company!

      Aug 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's rare to work at a place that really, truly cares about each one of the humans that come to work every day but SendGrid is one of those places. We're not perfect but I've found us to be a place where people are honest about what's not perfect (Honest H) and then they work hard to solve the issue. People are genuinely nice. We have amazing office space and lots of perks but I'd work here without them since they are not what makes this place so special. Our CEO and exec team give me confidence and make me feel like I make a difference. Don't want to work anywhere else!

      Cons

      It's not perfect here. We have growing pains that come with going through an IPO, adding more and more people to the team, and having systems that we've outgrown and need to be updated. Lots for us to do!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SendGrid Response

      Chief People Officer

      We appreciate your feedback! It’s awesome to hear that you appreciate the perks and benefits but are inspired by something more. We’ll be the first to admit we’re not perfect, and we’ll continue working to improve and become more Humble, Happy, Honest, and Hungry. Together, we can do it. It’s true, there are growing pains associated with becoming a public company. We know the process isn’t simple or easy. Innovating and improving the way we operate is a priority moving forward. We’ll need to continue effectively scaling our internal operations, much like we’ve scaled our email program. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company in Denver

      Nov 15, 2019 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and fantastic people.

      Cons

      Expectations for work can be unrealistic.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome place to be

      Sep 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I worked with are great. Highly skilled, hard working, good at what they do. SendGrid’s value system is built on four H-words—characteristics that every employee is expected to possess and display. The Four H’s are Happy, Hungry, Humble and Honest. Although all four values are important, humility is the company’s most distinctive characteristic. Incredible benefits - Excellent compensation that rewards strong performance - Lots of autonomy - Tons of room for growth - Very transparent from the top down - Strong leadership - Intelligent and caring colleagues - The most fair and well thought out review process you will find everywhere - Exciting work

      Cons

      No cons found yet for the company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      SendGrid Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your Honest H feedback. We’re happy to hear you enjoy working with your team and that you find the 4H values consistent across the company. As a distributed company, it’s important that each person embrace those values which will ensure that they remain the mainstay of our strong culture. Thanks for helping keep them alive and well in Redwood City!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Great Place to Grow

      Nov 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent leadership and a clear direction. This company values employees and is truly merit based in promotions and raises - if you perform well, you will be rewarded. The culture is real and followed top down. Great benefits!

      Cons

      Things move fast and can get hectic at times. Planning is not always done well and product + eng orgs need to work more closely together.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 117 Reviews

    Popular Careers with SendGrid Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at SendGrid? Share Your Experiences

    SendGrid logo
    or