The Container Store Reviews | Glassdoor

The Container Store Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 897 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
The Container Store CEO Melissa Reiff
Melissa Reiff
173 Ratings
Pros
  • "The container store is easily the best part-time retail job available(in 91 reviews)

  • "Enjoyed working at the corporate office - great people(in 70 reviews)

Cons
  • "Labor is tight in stores, so full time sales often end up sliding to pats time positions(in 131 reviews)

  • "If you’re looking for a small part time job then this company is great(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "One-of-a-Kind Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership, intelligent coworkers. I don't feel at all micromanaged. People love the company so much, many have been there for 10, 15, 20, 25 years - in a wide variety of roles. Lots of open communication.

    Cons

    There is no covered parking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on trusting your employees to handle their business and TCS will remain a top place to work!

    The Container Store2019-04-25
  2. "Container Store contains High Quality Storeage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Germantown, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The convenience from home. Working on organizing my own home of 30 years and found great ideas in NY where daughter lives. Was excited to hear about one around my home.

    Cons

    Need a store line this sooner

    Advice to Management

    I'm a retired organized school teacher of 40 years and would appreciate the opportunity to be part of the container store family

    The Container Store2019-07-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "hiring experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Sales - Part Time in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very professional, open and friendly interviews with all 3 managers individually. After hiring there is a very thorough training process.

    Cons

    process from application to final hiring takes time

    The Container Store2019-07-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Container Store is awesome at making you feel appreciated. They are so great to work alongside you until you feel comfortable in your task. They offer helpful information while you are learning & never put pressure on you to hurry up & learn.

    Cons

    I have been at the store a month & have yet to figure out any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing & keep making us feel like we have joined a great family.

    The Container Store2019-07-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Container Store part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Adaptable to suggestions and management has open doors

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons

    The Container Store2019-07-06
  6. "Independent and Supportive Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a great job because it provides plenty of training so you feel well versed and confident during your first actual day of work. That is something that I appreciate that I haven't seen from other companies. The team is incredibly supportive of one another, both on and off the sales floor, and it is a very positive environment - no "Negative Nellie's" here!

    Cons

    It's a lot of training - so for those who just want to get started right away, you have to get through some training courses first.

    The Container Store2019-07-08
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a community of people all focused on helping each other and doing a great job

    Cons

    Occasionally you have to work early hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work hiring good people

    The Container Store2019-07-09
  8. "Loved My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Container Store part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers, flexible hours/schedules, strong management team, knowledgeable, hands on GM. Management team was supportive of family problems, personal problems, etc. While Flexible schedules, strong management team, knowledgeable and hands on GM. No job is perfect, but there was rarely a day that I didn’t look forward to working. Many on our team forged strong friendships that will outlast their employment....

    Show More

    Cons

    Some disappointments in changes within the company due to cost saving measures. I also wish management had been more upfront in telling the troops if someone was leaving, or had left. Rumors run rampant when the facts aren’t out there.

    Advice to Management

    Search for other effective measures for cost control, rather than decreasing the quality of products used at register, ie bags, tissue,etc. Its challenging to wrap bulky, heavy or glass products in paper that is 1/2 the size of the previously provided tissue paper. Don’t cut costs that are obvious to consumers. Find other options.

    The Container Store2019-07-09
  9. "Smooth retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Container Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training sessions Easy communication with staff Flexible schedule Enjoyable environment

    Cons

    Short staffing on busy days is hectic Newer employees get stuck with most work

    The Container Store2019-07-09
  10. "Exciting Company Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Facilities Executive Assistant in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Container Store full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the people I work with and I feel valued as an employee. The company values really align with my personal values and I feel at home here.

    Cons

    There is no covered parking.

    The Container Store2019-07-08
Found 897 reviews