VIPKid Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Parental bookings are not guaranteed(in 306 reviews)

  • "The only downside that I can think of at the moment are early morning hours(in 162 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is good. Working on line from home is great. No rush hour traffic. Company works well with the teachers. Curriculum is prepared for you!

    Cons

    None that I have experienced.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-25

    VIPKid Response

    May 25, 2020Social Media Specialist

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!

  2. Helpful (326)

    "Perfect Job For Me"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Course Teacher in Mineville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to do from home. No commute, no child care, no savvy business clothes, no commuting in the snow, and the best part is every day is "bring your cat to work day!" My cat, Bootsie, loves my job as much as I do! No kidding, I've had parents post reviews on my cat! The kids love it! Payment is once a month. I don't mind that because then it its a big check. You know what to expect and money is in the account on time. I love the children I teach. It is amazing how close you get to the family from the other side of the world!

    Cons

    You'll read that there is not enough work. I don't think that is accurate. I've been with VIPKID going on six months. My first contract is at an end. My first month I made $55.00. The next month I more than doubled that, and every month after has been going higher and higher. I am now teaching about five hours a day and making very good money for wearing pajama bottoms and an orange t-shirt. My monthly is in the four figure range. The thing is you have to give the parents a reason to schedule with you. Sitting around waiting for bookings to come is not good. You won't get far teaching only trial students; although, trial students become regular students and they will remember your smiling face. The trick to getting more bookings is to take advantages of their certifications in different areas. In November I got certified to do the major courses and my schedule is now completely and totally packed. I literally have a very full schedule, teaching around eleven classes a day. You hear a lot of complaints about missing classes. When you teach, even at a school, attendance is important. As far as online schools go, VIPKID is the most liberal. I could have worked with DaDaAbc and made a lot more money. Their attendance policy is HORRENDOUS! You are locked into a schedule that will not vary, cannot travel. I have two homes and I could only teach at one. My travel was stopped. VIPKID encourages their teachers to live a life. Its great stories for the kids. When I am at my place in Brooklyn, they are pretty amazed to see NYC. My students get to see a variety of things, which VIPKID was pretty smart to encourage their teachers to live a life.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2017-12-26

    VIPKid Response

    January 4, 2018Program Manager

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!

  3. Helpful (46)

    "Pay Cut for Loyal Teachers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work from home; Fun

    Cons

    Company doesn't value it's employees; Wishy-washy on policy; Greedy

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-29
  4. Helpful (45)

    "Not the “best”, Just one of the “rest”"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home , learning to teach ESL

    Cons

    Employees are not valued, incentivized or given any raises. Pay is equivalent to ANY other online ESL teaching company, now that the pay structure has changed.

    VIPKid2020-05-29
  5. Helpful (40)

    "Recent Incentive Cuts Sting"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get to work from home and meet a lot of great kids!

    Cons

    There are very little incentives and teacher pay has recently been cut significantly.

    VIPKid2020-05-30
  6. Helpful (44)

    "Very much enjoyed working with them until recently"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible hours. There used to be decent pay. It is one of the top ESL companies in China.

    Cons

    The early morning hours for US teachers (12+ hours time difference) mean very early mornings. They also recently introduced a new pay structure that only benefits those who work over 200 classes a month. However, many teacher have been hard pressed, recently, to book 200 classes for 'unknown' reasons. Personally, I will take a pay cut of more than $1.00 per hour after working for the company for 3.5 years. They've also taken away raises for everyone. You'll always keep the same base rate now.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-29
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Many pros, a few cons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TEFL Teacher in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule freedom, lots of great kids (a few challenging ones), decent pay by comparison, one-on-one teaching, great platform, curriculum provided, job itself is a joy

    Cons

    No guaranteed booking, in three years the pay structure has changed several times without warning and always to teacher disadvantage, extra time and expenses often required (but since this is contract work, that is expected)

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-29
  8. Helpful (13)

    "It WAS a great company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VIPKID Teacher in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, work at home

    Cons

    Very strict cancellation policy. Can be stressful if you live in an apartment where electricity or other things go out and it's beyond your control.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-30
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Love the students, hate the company policies."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher in Lawrence, KS
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students are the best!! And the curriculum is really very good.

    Cons

    The company just announced a PAY CUT for all veteran employees!! It’s extremely difficult to talk to an actual staff member, and when you get a reply it’s typically a canned response.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-31
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Pay Cut"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKid part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Students are great, materials are prepared

    Cons

    We all just got a pay cut. VIPKID advertises that you can work as much or a little as you like. However, they have just released a new payment structure that will result in a significant pay cut for any part time teacher. They have also removed the opportunity to earn a raise in base pay.

    Continue reading
    VIPKid2020-05-30
Found 367 reviews