Ascend Learning Reviews | Glassdoor

Ascend Learning Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 233 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Ascend Learning CEO Greg Sebasky
Greg Sebasky
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Manageable workload, and good work/life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great people and great working environment - true to their values(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is not group of authority to force these business units to play by the rules(in 15 reviews)

  • "Upper management is out of touch to the point of being damaging -(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Superb Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Executive in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovation, leadership, and clear vision of purpose are the driving forces at Ascend.

    Cons

    Must be flexible and willing to adapt to new innovations, ideas and process. However, this is what keeps this role fun.

    Advice to Management

    Don't stop! Keep driving toward our goal.

    Ascend Learning2019-06-08
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun culture, flexibility, promising future, and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    New initiatives/projects can get bogged down and delayed due to management indecisions/management changes.

    Ascend Learning2019-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company unless you're a new parent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leawood, KS
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time

    Pros

    Overall, I like working with my team and the office culture is pretty good. I enjoy my work.

    Cons

    Ascend makes it hard to return to work after having a child. Mothers can take FMLA leave for 12 weeks, but I wouldn't call it a quality maternity leave. 4 weeks are fully paid, 4 weeks are paid at 2/3 of your salary (with short term disability pay), and 4 weeks are unpaid. It's more than some companies offer, but isn't competitive and has me looking at other companies with better leave policies for the future. Now...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to stop losing new mothers, up your game on the maternity leave pay (and/or duration) and provide a nicer pumping room that's above the bare minimum that's legally required.

    Ascend Learning2019-06-11

    Ascend Learning Response

    June 12, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I've notified the right people and we are in the process of making changes to the rooms.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ascend Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home on Saturdays for overtime

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    None that I can think of .

    Ascend Learning2019-04-22
  5. "Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Operations 

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time

    Pros

    Extremely working working environment. Great sense of Community

    Cons

    Not great Work life balance to many hours

    Ascend Learning2019-04-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great company with big problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are pretty good. Management really seems to value employee feedback. Training can be available.

    Cons

    There is a group of super sensitive feminists that get good employees fired. They don't pay for overtime and expect you to work a lot of it. Management keeps purchasing new companies at a fast rate and most of these companies don't have compatible technology. Each Business Unit goes by their own rules and don't want to conform to the main vision. There is not group of authority to force these business units to play...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit letting people that don't do any work get productive members of the team fired for stupid reasons.

    Ascend Learning2019-04-12
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Make Your Move (Away)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working for Ascend is the unlimited vacation policy. While in some departments folks seem to feel guilty about taking time off, in general this company values work-life balance.

    Cons

    One of the corporate initiatives is “make your move,” which unfortunately means that in order to advance you need to transfer to another business unit or leave the company. This is especially true in certain departments, which impacts morale greatly. Adding to that is the lack of pay equity for the same job. There are so many great people working at Ascend who are sincerely dedicated to making the world better, but I...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider the flat organizational structure and reward employees fairly for the good work that they do.

    Ascend Learning2019-03-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "All talk and no action makes everyone fed up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most positions allow you to be flexible about working from home but it really depends on your manager. Benefits are ok. There are some really kind and really intelligent people there, who are probably really frustrated with how things are going.

    Cons

    My colleagues are fun, intelligent, and kind but once you get director level and above, it becomes a completely different work culture. Everyone in the place is universally hamstrung by the 'T&O' group. Accomplishments working with that team are far and few between. It's all completely under resourced and under staffed with no time or allowance given to proper R&D. That means everyone else has to wait and make...

    Show More
    Ascend Learning2019-03-21
  9. Helpful (5)

    "It's better than most large companies in many ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible time and unlimited vacation. Great, amazing, talented co-workers. Good opportunities and pay for new employees.

    Cons

    Functional working across teams/departments is lacking. System of review and salary increase and bonus based on merit, except it isn't. Fewer job opportunities for most long-term employees.

    Ascend Learning2019-01-30
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Could be good... But it isnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vacation policy. If you're ever able to use it. Usually overworked, underbudgeted and understaffed if you're not part of the ATI team.

    Cons

    Leadership from GM up. Lack of respect for talent. Complete incompetence when it comes to decision making. Toxic environment to work in. Egos abound.

    Advice to Management

    Start over with leadership on the JBL side. Poor decision making and lack of funding is killing some great businesses.

    Ascend Learning2019-03-14
Found 233 reviews