KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Auto-Owners Insurance

Engaged Employer

Auto-Owners Insurance

Add a Review

Auto-Owners Insurance Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 665 of over 746 reviews

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Auto-Owners Insurance CEO  Jamie P. Whisnant
Jamie P. Whisnant
35 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Auto-Owners Insurance and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Company

    Jul 10, 2022 - Physical Damage Claims Senior Adjuster 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good benefits and a fair salary.

    Cons

    There are no cons from my point of view.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Auto-Owners Insurance Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We are proud of the robust benefits package we offer.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Oct 5, 2022 - Functional Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and great environment

    Cons

    The in the office policy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Commercial Underwriter

    Sep 29, 2022 - Commercial Underwriter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Low stress, great job/life balance

    Cons

    Less than stellar annual raises

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Auto-Owners Insurance Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We value the work/life balance of our associates.

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Overworked and underpaid

    Oct 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home hybrid options

    Cons

    Over worked and pay is below average for industry. Inability to stop turn over

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Underwriter

    Sep 6, 2022 - Personal Lines Underwriter in Traverse City, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay and benefits were really good.

    Cons

    Micromanaging everything you do. No room for discussion. Target employees to make then quit rather than terminating them.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Auto-Owners Insurance Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We would welcome anything additional you'd like to share by emailing conversation@aoins.com.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great benefits offset poor pay

    Sep 15, 2022 - Associate Software Developer II in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home options, great culture and benefits

    Cons

    Very low pay for software development with slow growth as well. Makes it hard to stay.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Auto-Owners Insurance Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We are proud of our strong company culture and robust benefits package.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Rvw

    Sep 14, 2022 - Personal Lines Underwriter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, Bonuses , 401K, Pension

    Cons

    Not 100% work from home

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Auto-Owners Insurance Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We are proud of our robust benefits package.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A great place to start

    Sep 8, 2022 - Software Development Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The training is excellent and you'll be exposed to some of the most in-demand technologies. The culture is also excellent and fits well with my personality, work/life balance is important and management seems to genuinely care about my well being.

    Cons

    The salary is consistently lower than similar positions in other companies. Salary growth is also exceptionally slow, which makes it difficult to achieve the real benefit of employment here, the fully funded pension plan.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Auto-Owners Insurance Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for you review! We are proud of our high-quality training programs and our friendly, supportive and inclusive culture.

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Avoid if minority woman, Thrive if White Male

    Sep 18, 2022 -  in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stable No layoffs People don't get fired easy unless they really mess u

    Cons

    No promotions You will be stuck in one position Low Pay Horrible benefits

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Auto-Owners Insurance Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience - this is not typical of Auto-Owners. Please email us at conversation@aoins.com so we can learn more about this.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Sep 18, 2022 - Support Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, no micromanaging, work/life balance.

    Cons

    Low pay, old fashioned, not completely remote.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Auto-Owners Insurance Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We would like to learn more about your concerns. Please email us at conversation@aoins.com and tell us more about your experience.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 665 Reviews

Auto-Owners Insurance Reviews FAQs

Auto-Owners Insurance has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 746 reviews left anonymously by employees. 73% of employees would recommend working at Auto-Owners Insurance to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Auto-Owners Insurance employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Auto-Owners Insurance. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

73% of Auto-Owners Insurance employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Auto-Owners Insurance 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Auto-Owners Insurance to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be culture, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Auto-Owners Insurance Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Auto-Owners Insurance? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Auto-Owners Insurance Photos

+ Add Photo
Auto-Owners Insurance photo of: Three cheers for Coaches vs. Cancer and our amazing associates who donated to this great cause!
Auto-Owners Insurance photo of: Home Office in Lansing, Michigan
Auto-Owners Insurance photo of: Lansing associates come together to end child poverty, one nose at a time, for Red Nose Day 2019.
Auto-Owners Insurance photo of: Claims associates set up mobile response stations to help those affected by Hurricane Florence.
Auto-Owners Insurance photo of: Associates enjoy playing in their after-work slow pitch softball league.
Auto-Owners Insurance photo of: Associates participate in the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk as part of the A-O Gives Back program.
Auto-Owners Insurance photo of: Associates donated books to the Gwinnett County Public Schools Book Mobile which lends books to students who may not have easy access to the public library.
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Atlantic Casualty Insurance CompanyThe Concord Group Insurance CompaniesCapital Insurance Group

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Auto-Owners Insurance Job Seekers Also Viewed

State Farm Logo
State Farm

3.6

15,198 Reviews
Compare