KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
Is this your company?

CNA

Add a Review

CNA Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 876 of over 1,054 reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
CNA Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Dino Robusto
Dino Robusto
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "This company has a good work life balance with PTO and sick time package provided(in 77 reviews)

  • "Large company with good benefits(in 56 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work-life balance is not consistent across organization(in 37 reviews)

  • "Upper Management were apathetic and greed driven(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about CNA

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CNA and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Certified nurse assistant

      Dec 14, 2021 - Consultant in Baytown, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Getting to spread your love to people who actually need it and deserves it. While building friendship and personal relationships with you patients, you grow as a person because there's a lot you see in a nursing home.

      Cons

      The only con I ran into was the earliest morning shifts.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Major Challenges and Low Morale- management needs to value people and understand people are going to burn out

      Jan 13, 2022 - Risk Control 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work. Self Directed. Some very experienced colleagues. Clients are often very understanding of services and want resources. Most managers are not micro-managing, but they are stretched. New virtual work group might me pro for people that want to not go in the field, but I heard they were overwhelmed with work and turnaround times were not realistic. Time will tell. Performance goals are clearly identified, although hard to hit unless you work long hours. Seemed to handle cyber attack well considering the impact and seriousness when it occurred.

      Cons

      Systems are very complicated. This is a major reason risk control employees are unhappy. No consistency, no time savings, errors constantly happening. Information from other departments does not align with system. Constantly having to go in and “fix” incorrect or missing information. Frustrating. Work load and capacity is not at all reasonable and not everyone understands how to do their role to begin with. Numerous open positions not being filled. A recent re-organization has not been well received as teams divided and new roles not meeting expectations. Benefits like high deductible health care program not the greatest as expensive, new providers at last open enrollment for healthcare and prescriptions as I was exiting so unknown if that is a pro or con. Company was pushing vaccination cards and this was an issue for some people. Unknown how that is progressing. No clear path to promotion for many. As they are having difficulty filling positions they seem to need to keep employees in their roles as they cannot fill behind them. A lot of newer underwriters and they need time to develop. They are under constant pressure to write business. Very short lead time to schedule prospects is common and frustrating. It is hard to service accounts as rush work orders come up constantly.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A lot of leadership turnover, minimal internal development opportunities.

      Nov 27, 2021 - Director in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, 401k match, Underwriting Department

      Cons

      The most “clicky” place I have ever worked at. I stuck by my morals and beliefs and ultimately it cost me my job: horrible HR/ER engagement. In about 3 years that I worked there we had over 6 leaders in charge of operations and all directors were turned over in that 3 year span as well. Broken promotion promises. I couldn’t innovate or support my customers because I couldn’t staff when I needed to. I upset the wrong person and suffered as a result even when that leader changed organizations within the company. She made sure she did everything possible to move me out. Great Company, but horrible middle management.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      BA

      Jan 12, 2022 - Business Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      stable job for execs but no one else

      Cons

      nice office by the subway

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Claim Operations

      Nov 2, 2021 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People, solid reputation, competitive pay and compensation

      Cons

      Technology is outdated but as with most people, I didn't leave because of the job, I left because of my manager.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience

      Nov 17, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work for CNA

      Cons

      Their process is a bit slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Nov 5, 2021 - Operations Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Room for growth -Supportive management -Always learning

      Cons

      -Health insurance isn't the greatest

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      CNA national employee review

      Oct 15, 2021 - Accounts Payable Clerk in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture and environment. Yearly performance reviews for opportunity to receive a raise.

      Cons

      Sometimes understaffed and overtime is needed every month.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Hello

      Oct 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid benefits and PTO plan, average pay

      Cons

      Downsizing, and traditional way of thinking

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Like night and day

      Aug 31, 2021 - Insurance Underwriter in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been in corporate insurance for close to 9 years. This is by far the best place I have worked. Supportive management that trusts you to work and empower you to be successful.

      Cons

      Online quoting system is a little out of date and crashes a lot. It will be upgraded in the next 2 years but until then, it can be hard to release a quote.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 876 Reviews
    </>Embed

    CNA Reviews FAQs

    63% of CNA employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated CNA 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with CNA Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CNA? Share Your Experiences

    or