CNA Reviews | Glassdoor

CNA Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
CNA CEO Dino Robusto
Dino Robusto
98 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Surety Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surety Underwriter in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Goal oriented and strong underwriting company with reasonable expectations.

    Cons

    Systems, not all but some.

    CNA2019-05-12
  2. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rating Specialist 

    I worked at CNA full-time

    Pros

    Always able to find someone to help when you have questions

    Cons

    difficult to meet goals

    CNA2019-10-03
  3. "Na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Great Falls, MT

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love the patients and I’ve worked with my co workers for years

    Cons

    Management promotes and demoted based on likable and picks and chooses who gets in trouble and who doesn’t for the same thing

    Advice to Management

    Be more about quality and ability

    CNA2019-10-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be the coolest place to work, very toxic place since 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is OK Compensation is comparable to industry levels

    Cons

    Large number of experienced people left in the last 18 months Senior/mid management driving unhealthy relationships within and across different teams Almost absolute lack of internal promotions Favoritism in some cases Mid management often has no knowledge/experience and not ready to delegate decision making to resources under them Mid levels not willing to take responsibility for what needs to be done, only... praises for what others do Senior levels distance themselves from the "ground level" people Lack of clear strategy (technology/InfoSec) Unproductive relationship with the MSP Often changes of strategic decisions/directions for technology

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Motivate people to stay and contribute Take a look back to before 2018 and why people were staying with the company and loved working for CME Merit based promotions, don't bring external resource with no experience if there are internal people that can do the job Define strategy and stick to it! If changing, admit mistakes that were made, learn lesson, move forward Spend money to provide "real" training to... resources that are at higher technical levels! Teach managers to manage, not to be rulers! Disagreement is OK, seniority is not always a valid "decision factor", delegate if you don't know what's right decision!

    Show More
    CNA2019-10-15
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Java Developer 

    I have been working at CNA full-time

    Pros

    Yes great job love it for surep

    Cons

    None great overall would do it again

    CNA2019-09-30
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly everything - Work/life balance, flex schedule, work from home, positive reinforcement, compensation, benefits, direct management, peers, culture, very supportive environment, and pays in full pays for CE. They provide everything needed to succeed, and more. I've never worked for an organization that fully grasps what's needed to keep their employees happy. Very attractive employment package including a... hiring bonus and incentives to support the organization to succeed. Lastly, I share very similar social values with the organization, which is very important to me.

    Show More

    Cons

    Systems/IT needs improvement, but management is leading in the right direction. Onboarding could have been smoother.

    CNA2019-09-20
  7. "RUN AWAY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A&E Claims Specialist in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work if you have a law degree. If not, forget it.

    Cons

    Lawyers have taken over and any non-lawyers are being given the boot. Terrible culture there now.

    CNA2019-10-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New building is the only nice thing

    Cons

    There is a lack of diversity at CNA. It’s a traditional company where culture still has not transformed. It is expected that females behave/act a certain way (bubble/giggly). If a female is more direct and has a stronger personality, immediately seen as a negative and there will be feedback from all sides bashing it. Additionally, the performance management culture is harsh. Every little thing is nitpicked just to... justify a lower rating. The employee morale is low for that very reason. Management needs to rethink performance management and how employees are coached.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get leaders that actually care to engage with their employees. Create a performance management process that’s more fair. Create an actual diverse and inclusive environment, don’t just talk it

    CNA2019-10-10
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Misplaced Priorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is competitive and I enjoy the colleagues/ peers that I work with.

    Cons

    Management is focused on reorganizing the company but neglects the basic needs of their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent and show your employees that they are valued.

    CNA2019-09-11
  10. "Great place to learn a lot!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Management Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CNA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn a lot about insurance Good work/ life balance

    Cons

    Large workforce. Can get confusing as on what is happening sometimes.

    CNA2019-08-20
Found 670 reviews
</>Embed