Colonial Penn Life Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Colonial Penn Life Insurance Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Colonial Penn Life Insurance CEO Joel Schwartz
Joel Schwartz
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "you can work from home after 1 year(in 7 reviews)

  • "Assists with obtaining licensing for Life Ins(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "CSR are always given more descriptions to their job but still want them to achieve sales goals RIDICULOUS(in 5 reviews)

  • "They are never satisfied and prey on the sick and elderly(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Telesales Supervisor in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance for more than a year

    Pros

    Colonial Penn is a great place to begin your career as a Life Insurance Agent.

    Cons

    I'll pass at this very moment.

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2016-08-01
  2. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life Insurance Agent in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incentive is great unless quality screws you over. People are amazing (besides management) Location Benefits

    Cons

    $15/hour is not good enough for the work Incentive gets blocked for overly strict quality grading method that has nothing to do with quality at all. . Management doesn’t take anyone’s questions or concerns seriously Some sales teams cheat and get away with it.

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN TO EMPLOYEES PAY YOUR EMPLOYEES FAIRLY

    Colonial Penn Life Insurance2018-11-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time

      Pros

      Not for me. Call center

      Cons

      Long hours, no life, old technology

      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2018-06-07
    • Helpful (5)

      "I swear one if the worst jobs I ever had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - TELESALES Representative in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      location is convenient benefits are ok pay is minimum but ok

      Cons

      your not allow to go to the bathroom unless it's your schedule break are lunch the supervisor and higher ups micromanage you to death it's beyond stressful sooo many employees despise there job and management know and don't care it's like working in a third world country no lie ....Horrible

      Advice to Management

      stop treating your employee like they are not human being learn to have feeling and be put in there shoes treat employees how u want to be treated

      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2018-04-30
    • Helpful (6)

      "Overworked, misused, and underpaid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wichita, KS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Helping people that needed life insurance. Genuinely caring about my customers and sending out policies that met thier needs unlike shoving overpriced policies down thier throat.

      Cons

      Being misused and recieving very little compensation for making this company tons of money. I was a top performer left high and dry by this company. We lost our jobs even though we were outperforming the PA site. They care about the bottom line only. They are never satisfied and prey on the sick and elderly.

      Advice to Management

      No need, the CEO is in charge and obviously he doesnt know what hes doing.

      Colonial Penn Life Insurance2017-10-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Former Telesales Agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

        Pros

        Great benefits, 401k, health, life, & dental. Great bonuses when you make your goals. Great workshops on maintaining your health. Great people, and a nice work environment.

        Cons

        VERY STRESSFUL JOB. Great place to gain experience but not to stay! I recently started with FFL and & closed more in a day than I did working at Colonial Penn in one week. The agents are SLAVES making this company a ton of money!!!!

        Advice to Management

        Agents if you value your mental health YOU WILL NOT STAY THERE!!!!! The mental abuse is not worth it. Agents deserve better PAY than $15.10 per hour.

        Colonial Penn Life Insurance2017-09-05
      • "sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time

        Pros

        good pay. very nice people and benifits

        Cons

        management sucks. expectations too high. very very very stressful

        Colonial Penn Life Insurance2017-08-28
      • "TeleSales Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Telesales Agent in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time

        Pros

        Comfortable Job Environment For Employees

        Cons

        Recent Increase in Revolving Door Employee Turn Over

        Colonial Penn Life Insurance2017-06-11
      • "Very Stressfull Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Tele-Sales Agent in Philadelphia, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Colonial Penn Life Insurance full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Very health conscious , convenient location , very fair pay ..they pay for the licenses

        Cons

        If you are not making the company money .....they don't want you . They care nothing about the customer , all that matters is getting the initial premium. If I don't get out of here I will have a heart attack .......the stress is unreal . I have seen some wonderful people leave or even get fired .......for nothing . They care more about a script then making a person feel comfortable about the items they are...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Keep in mind .....we are working with people not robots .....you can make a person send in the policy .

        Colonial Penn Life Insurance2017-07-13
      • "Customer service rep"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phila, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Colonial Penn Life Insurance

        Pros

        Great people to work with. I had the weekend off. Overtime if you want to work late and on the weekends.

        Cons

        Managers don't know anything. They make think you are wrong for not making money. Other people had to work on the weekend and, it was not overtime.

        Colonial Penn Life Insurance2017-05-18
      Found 53 reviews