DigitalOcean Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
Yancey Spruill
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best remote culture I've ever encountered(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, great staff, competitive pay, big sense of community(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "We are experiencing some growing pains(in 10 reviews)

  • "Senior management is uninspiring, only managing the money(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best company I've ever worked for.

      Mar 25, 2021 - Technical Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote and flexible work. Great benefits and pay. Wonderful colleagues.

      Cons

      Communication seemed to go one way for a while, but that has recently been resolved.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best company I've worked for

      Feb 16, 2021 - Engineer Ll in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing pay and stock options. They actually care about your well being (gives you gym and mental health stipend monthly) and give company wide "recharge days" where the whole company takes random days off. Strong financials and innovative space to work. Customers love the product.

      Cons

      none that i can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great interview and onboarding experience

      Feb 5, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Recruiters are on top of things. Interview process was very straightforward and you could tell they were very interested in good fit with the team. Onboarding was very smooth. It was very easy to understand what I needed to do and my manager and the people team were very helpful.

      Cons

      I haven't been here long enough to know any meaningful cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work at my company

      Feb 25, 2021 - Performance Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Simplicity Value for employees Love at its core

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      great company

      Feb 15, 2021 - Software Engineer II in New Brunswick, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with modern technology on interesting features.

      Cons

      Fast moving and pressure at times to meet deadlines

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Feb 9, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited PTO Great environment Great people It is a growing industry with much upside

      Cons

      Sales team was not fully ready for main product line

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Worked there three years

      Jan 11, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great engineering culture: There is a broad assumption of positive intent. Trust within and between teams. - Building a cloud has lots of interesting challenges. - Lots of opportunity for advancement and professional growth.

      Cons

      - There's not much downtime and contributions back upstream don't always happen as much as I'd like.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Dishonest/disconnected leadership, "values" are a myth

      Dec 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Before the current leadership DigitalOcean was an amazing place to work. Pre-2020, the company lived up to its values, had an amazing culture, provided real opportunities for dedicated employees, and was a place where leadership (both direct managers and senior leadership) cared about the people. There are great benefits for remote employees. Monthly snack/coffee deliveries, monthly wellness stipends, etc. They introduced extra paid days off in response to COVID. They offered an office stipend when the entire company became remote because of COVID. There are amazingly talented people at DigitalOcean. Great compensation, though annual raises have been significantly less beneath new leadership (3% max). Shark Week was an amazing benefit/event, but I doubt that will ever happen again once travel is safe because of the fixation on trimming costs.

      Cons

      - Under the latest leadership, veteran employees do not feel safe. - Recognition is only given to a handful of "teacher's pets." - Several layoffs in 2020 made room for senior leadership's colleagues from prior companies. Leadership posted job listings for these roles, which were quickly filled by old teammates from their last company. Some of these replacements have no idea what they are doing and are not qualified to be leaders, which is reflected in the work being done and the number of veterans looking for new work. - Internal surveys show that employees don't trust senior leadership, but leadership does nothing to course correct and regain trust. Their behaviors do the opposite. - The values are not true anymore. The only value that leadership lives by is to become "cash flow positive," even if that means letting go of the "love" culture they claim is at the core of "everything they do." The only thing at the core of all leadership does is profit. - The CEO has reprimanded those who ask difficult but fair questions during "AMAs." They always dodge the tough questions. - Note that almost all positive reviews from 2020 were written by people who've been with the company less than a year.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Strong team, lots of love, alignment on customer service and revenue growth

      Feb 10, 2020 - Capacity Planner in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      (Nota Bene to jobseekers: these pros are some of the ones a new mgmt team has also taken notice of, so I'd guess these will continue to differentiate DO for retention and recruitment) - strong remote work culture (for me, this means I get to rely on and learn from some very smart people who might not have been able to relocate) - DO Love: This is not (thankfully) corporate gobbledegook cult stuff. I genuinely feel supported by the wonderful people I work with, and that they truly care about my success. This motivates me to care about theirs', and DO's as a whole, rather than just feeling like I'm 'at a place' where a checklist of tasks become compensation. - Perks: The fitness credit, lunches, AMAZING office coordinators (Thank you B & H!), and easy-going WFH policies make DO a real pleasure to work at.

      Cons

      (Caveat to jobseekers: These downsides are *the* focus of the executive team, in order to ensure DO's continued success, and are being actively addressed) - it can be a little unclear how the nitty gritty and longterm of an IC contributes to the larger picture (weekly tasks to quarterly/yearly goals) - sometimes there's been a too slow relay of information between teams ('process' can mean 'red tape' just like it means regularity in decision making)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love it, great place, great people

      Jan 5, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, great staff, competitive pay, big sense of community

      Cons

      none so far, will update once some time has passed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 155 Reviews

    Popular Careers with DigitalOcean Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Director, Solutions Engineering
    Learn About the Job
    Manager, Financial Reporting
    Learn About the Job

    Work at DigitalOcean? Share Your Experiences

    DigitalOcean logo
    or