DigitalOcean Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
DigitalOcean CEO Yancey Spruill
Yancey Spruill
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "DO it. Work here."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Digital Experience 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DigitalOcean full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture surrounded by smart happy people

    Cons

    I wish I would have found DO sooner in my career

    DigitalOcean2020-05-01
  2. "Good Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DigitalOcean full-time

    Pros

    Good communication from all I came in contact with.

    Cons

    None really to speak of.

    DigitalOcean2020-04-19
  3. "Miserable Experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DigitalOcean full-time

    Pros

    Met some really nice people, great perks of a typical tech "startup"

    Cons

    The worst experience I have had in my career. Completely bypassing HR to hire people at the VP/executive level who were abusive, condescending, inappropriate and incompetent. I would never recommend anyone work on the Accounting/Finance team.

    Continue reading
    DigitalOcean2020-05-20
  4. "Start-up cultlre slowly fading. Too many competeing ides to makae a cohesive plan."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SOC Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DigitalOcean full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Remote Work is stable. Decent benefits Pay is above average for where you live.

    Cons

    Pay is not above industry standard Leadership changes frequently, and puts a hold on any work currently being done. Unable to admit mistakes and course correct.

    DigitalOcean2020-04-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not my cup of tea"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Hardware Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DigitalOcean full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices and travel perks.

    Cons

    Teams and management are completely disorganized. Little fiefdoms trying to push through agendas that weren't company or business related. Some of the teams I was involved with were very group think and had no interest in any dissenting opinions.

    Continue reading
    DigitalOcean2020-04-27
  6. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DigitalOcean full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Remote culture - Great product

    Cons

    - Turnover in the Finance team - Restructuring - Career progression

    DigitalOcean2020-02-14
  7. "Strong team, lots of love, alignment on customer service and revenue growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Capacity Planner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DigitalOcean full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    (Nota Bene to jobseekers: these pros are some of the ones a new mgmt team has also taken notice of, so I'd guess these will continue to differentiate DO for retention and recruitment) - strong remote work culture (for me, this means I get to rely on and learn from some very smart people who might not have been able to relocate) - DO Love: This is not (thankfully) corporate gobbledegook cult stuff. I genuinely feel supported by the wonderful people I work with, and that they truly care about my success. This motivates me to care about theirs', and DO's as a whole, rather than just feeling like I'm 'at a place' where a checklist of tasks become compensation. - Perks: The fitness credit, lunches, AMAZING office coordinators (Thank you B & H!), and easy-going WFH policies make DO a real pleasure to work at.

    Cons

    (Caveat to jobseekers: These downsides are *the* focus of the executive team, in order to ensure DO's continued success, and are being actively addressed) - it can be a little unclear how the nitty gritty and longterm of an IC contributes to the larger picture (weekly tasks to quarterly/yearly goals) - sometimes there's been a too slow relay of information between teams ('process' can mean 'red tape' just like it means regularity in decision making)

    Continue reading
    DigitalOcean2020-02-10
  8. "Good work conditions and benefits, hard to get stuff done."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer Experience Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DigitalOcean full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most the company is remote including myself. It's a great culture. Pay is reasonable for remote work.

    Cons

    Never take anything serious in terms of promises. You are required to firmly set your expectations but don't always expect them to be met at least not in a timely manor.

    Continue reading
    DigitalOcean2020-02-10
  9. "In a weird state right now"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Business Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DigitalOcean full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Pretty good culture Remote work is the best in the business

    Cons

    Unclear future. Three different CEOs in the past four years. Layoffs.

    DigitalOcean2020-01-18
  10. "Fell the love"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DigitalOcean full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are DO really do care about our core business and our customers. Love is in the mission statement and its central to how the business is run.

    Cons

    There are some growing pains as the company gets accustomed to big company process and letting go of smaller company dynamics

    DigitalOcean2019-12-28
Found 112 reviews