FirstEnergy Reviews | Glassdoor

FirstEnergy Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 268 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Chuck Jones
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits and Paid Time Off(in 20 reviews)

  • "The company generally has good people, good pay and good benefits(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "You are treated like a number and expected to comply with any and all directives from upper management(in 12 reviews)

  • "Management issues, sometimes work life balance isn't the greates(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer in Perry, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knowledgeable individual in the correct spots. Great at trouble shooting and fixing problems faced daily.

    Cons

    Fear of bankruptcy was always there.

    FirstEnergy2019-06-04
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substation Design Engineer 

    I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Low stress, no more than 40 hrs/week, good support/knowledgable coworkers, good bonus program, safety is very important to the company

    Cons

    Health/dental/vision insurance are below average

    FirstEnergy2019-06-24
  3. "Good job for a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Perry, OH

      I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      schedule, co-worker, culture, ability to advance or move departments.

      Cons

      There were not many things I didn't like

      FirstEnergy2019-06-20
    • "Great place to work and be a part of."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Akron, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great place to work and great people.

      Cons

      Canno think of anything bad to say about working at FirstEnergy.

      FirstEnergy2019-03-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don't do it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Friendly co-workers, employee gym, pay

      Cons

      I worked for one of FirstEnergy's nuclear generating stations for over six years. While I am grateful for my experience, after being gone for over three years and switching to a completely different industry I can confidently say that I would not recommend working here. First, get ready for loads of bureaucracy. You have to jump through hoops upon hoops to get anything done. Money is scarce. Management is top heavy....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Show appreciation for your employees. Advance people based on results rather than playing favorites. Encourage new ideas. Embrace change. Stand up for your people. Start doing the right thing.

      FirstEnergy2019-03-16
    • "Long hours and no opportunities to advance. Good old boys club with antiquated thinking"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Akron, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Employees are paid very well

      Cons

      Long hours Senior Management has old-school obsolete thinking Employees are treated as a number even though HR touts how they value workers. Dumpy offices. Not a very modern or stimulating environment to attract employees

      Advice to Management

      Get your heads outta the sand. Take your golden parachutes and let a younger, talented workforce take over

      FirstEnergy2019-03-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Reading shop is the worst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Substation Engineer in Lebanon, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      union work so they let you sleep in the truck while customers go with out electric for days on end.

      Cons

      you spend most of the day looking the other way while your coworkers get high and laugh about how much they get paid. the management at the reading,pa could have been ran better by an 8yr old. I moved to different shop and found out that some people actual do work other than complain in this company.

      Advice to Management

      Hire some mentally challenged people to run the Reading,PA substation. You can pay them lower wages and won't notice any difference in performance.

      FirstEnergy2019-03-30
    • "Not a bad place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      good team atmosphere. People help each other. Nice work / life balance

      Cons

      wish it had more opportunities to grow

      FirstEnergy2019-01-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not what you know, who you know"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Analyst in Akron, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Benefits are very good and salary is competitive. There are good people in the organization and if your lucky you work for some of them.

      Cons

      Management often makes decisions prior to evaluating the decisions they make. They leave the validation to the employees who are forced to justify these sometime very poor decisions. Culture can be combative where managers often resort to shouting. This shouting management style comes from the top down in IT. Opportunities for advancement are very limited. If you're in the "Good Ol Boys club" you'll do fine.

      Advice to Management

      Don't make decisions because the vendor sold you on it. Trust your employees to evaluate technology for you. Trust your employees. Give equal opportunity for advancement and acknowledge that you don't do this now.

      FirstEnergy2019-02-07
    • "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Analyst 

        I have been working at FirstEnergy full-time

        Pros

        Good Benefits and Paid Time Off

        Cons

        Old-school in nature in certain aspects

        FirstEnergy2019-01-17
      Found 268 reviews