RealPage Reviews

Updated May 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
RealPage CEO Stephen T. Winn
Stephen T. Winn
324 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance (even before Covid)(in 81 reviews)

  • "This isn't a hostile work environment but it is extremely busy tedious work(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management constantly shuffling which makes for changes in work very often and unpredictable(in 40 reviews)

  • "no work life balance, need to work under pressure(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of RealPage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 27, 2021 - Account Manager in Piscataway, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, employees genuinely care about making a positive impact, room for growth and advancement, modern/fun office building and ability to work from home.

      Cons

      Minor lack of transparency from senior leadership, development is done in silos causing issues with other products and you have to attend internal leadership trainings to move into management roles. Recent buyout causes some concern for the future, but leadership has ensured that there is nothing to worry about.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall Good

      Apr 6, 2021 - Not Important in Piscataway, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      RealPage has improved tremendously in the years that I have worked here. They listen and appreciate employee feedback at the overall corporate level. Benefits are good, especially if you work in one of the main offices with lots of amenities. (Gym, onsite café, covered parking)

      Cons

      You better adapt well to change because t happens constantly. Changes in titles, managers, SOP's, duties. Important updates don't always get communicated all the way down or across workgroups. Many things are on a need-to-know basis that I feel we need to know, but someone forgets to share or just doesn't think it affects the general workforce. If you work in a position that you receive bonuses as part of your compensation, the goals that you are given change every year. They have become much harder to get over the years because they are not based on how well you do your job, but how well others do theirs, so very hard to achieve. Management seems to have short term memory when it comes to knowing what is already on your plate as they continually push you to take on more than you can reasonably handle, without taking away other duties. You are just expected to take on more and maybe "next year" we can give you more of a bump in pay or a promotion. Management has favorites and it shows.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. We did hold a town hall for just managers and went over the stock program in great detail. If you were not a part of an acquisition in 2019 or 2020, all of your vested and unvested equity will be bought out at $88.75 a share. There was a communication that was just sent out asking about where you wanted your funds directed, Hope this helps and feel free to call me at 4016 to discuss. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Customer service

      Apr 30, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly environment Everyone seems happy to work there. Love the people. The job is pretty easy in comparison to other call centers but just as busy lol.

      Cons

      Training should roll over to actual job was trained to do the job one way then I was told it was wrong. Having to rewire to do what my manager needs of me. But I still like this job overall just one issue.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not a good place for developers

      May 3, 2021 - Developer in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kind, talented colleagues. Accessible management. Interesting product line.

      Cons

      I should start by saying that I don't harbor any anger or ill feelings toward RealPage (despite my forthcoming harsh words). I'm sharing my thoughts below for two reasons: To allow any HR/Senior Management at RealPage/ThomaBravo reading this to reflect on the vision the foresee for the company and their employees, and to warn potential developer applicants from applying any time soon (unless serious and meaningful changes are made). I'm only speaking in my capacity as a developer; I'm sure others at RealPage have had/do have different (probably better) experiences, and I'm very happy for them. The bottom line that current RealPage developers (and potential developer applicants) need to know is this: You are being undervalued and under-compensated. I know everyone likes to complain about their low compensation. I get it. But what happens at RealPage isn't one of those instances. It's quite different. I'm not talking about 5%, 10%, 15%, 20%, 25%, 30% below market rate. No. I'm saying 50%+ below market rate. When I finally decided to look for a new role, I was able to get two job offers that were very similar to my RealPage role (in terms of tech stack and requirements) at similarly-sized (even smaller) organizations for significantly more money. One was for 47% more, and the other for 58% more money than I made at RealPage. It was kind of dumbfounding to me when I heard those numbers, especially since I knew I actually made more money than many of my colleagues (those of us who are close had discussed our pay...that shouldn't come as a shock to RealPage HR or any other HR department in 2021...Millennials don't think those subjects are taboo...we discuss them openly to make sure we're being valued and treated well). RealPage's benefits, too, aren't up to industry standard. At almost every other similarly-sized tech company I interviewed at, PTO was unlimited and health benefits were 100% paid by the employer. At RealPage you get 5 sick days a year and if you need more, you have to tap into your limited PTO. This policy is beyond insane. It's not 1950 anymore. If you want to be perceived as a competitive tech company, please don't make your employees take PTO if/when they need surgery and need 2 weeks to recover. Those policies are outdated and need to be retired immediately. 401(k) matching is discretionary and it only happens once a year as a lump sum. Anyone with a basic understanding of compounding interest knows this hurts employees (i.e. start contributing the match on a monthly basis and not once a year...that's lazy and doesn't maximize the benefits of investment growth). If you're a developer with a good head on your shoulders, I promise you this: You can do better. You won't be challenged at RealPage. You'll just coast and be mediocre (and I'll admit that's where I was for the longest time until I started to feel stagnant). Please don't repeat my mistake. With the ThomaBravo acquisition, it's hard to say what their vision will be for the company, especially the developers. Chances are they'll look to outsource a lot of work offshore. That should be another motive for you not to apply at this time; wait for the dust to settle and see what they do. Better yet, look at what ThomaBravo has done to other companies they've acquired (ex: Sophos) and see what happened there and proceed with caution.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don't drink the Kool-aid

      Apr 22, 2021 - Anonymous Former Employee in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned a lot, provided training documents unbeknownst to me for my offshore counter parts that will do your job for a fraction of your salary, but not nearly as well

      Cons

      The acquisition gutted this company, they cut my job and now it's off-shore. They said they would help in placing you in the company however, without going into details that would compromise me I will just say it was phony and disingenuous, due to this acquisition all they want to do is cut, off-shore and for those that choose to stay will only have twice the work with no pay increase, hard pass on this place at least till Thoma Bravo sells in a few years (that's thier MO) P. S. Kurt, please don't insult me by giving a worthless response, disappointed in you guys.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company!

      Apr 28, 2021 - Sales Development Representative in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the people and culture, room for growth

      Cons

      Training, Learning all of the products

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Low Pay

      May 4, 2021 - Account Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Coworkers are great to work with - Wine Wednesdays

      Cons

      - Poor management - Poor pay

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing People and Support System

      Feb 1, 2021 - Sales Development Representative in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great place to work if you are very resilient and love talking on the phone in a consultative approach. Managers are amazing and help you to be as successful as possible and want you to grow within the company. The office is fantastic as well and RealPage is a top leader in the industry for their solutions and continues to innovate. Great training and everyone is always willing to help you to perform better.

      Cons

      This is a job where if you try hard and are a quick learner you will succeed. There are a lot of solutions sold so may be overwhelming, but you have to take a consultative approach and you will be fine. I have no cons to working here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post and advice. We wish you greatness in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Mehh

      Apr 26, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet some really cool people.

      Cons

      90s sales job - cutthroat. If you can't get the job done then they will find someone who will.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 7, 2021 - Marketing Strategist in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great environment. Lots of collaboration between sales, product and marketing.

      Cons

      Zero transparency. Purchased by a private equity firm.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post and I see that you have moved on. The Pro comments are encouraging and I will always agree with your advice. Lately with the TB purchase, we have been coming out publicly on a continuous basis to share what we believe can be a very positive outcome through this transaction. I know that you listed it as a con, but for those who stay we all want this to work out. Wishing you well. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 875 Reviews

    Popular Careers with RealPage Job Seekers

    Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at RealPage? Share Your Experiences

    or