Walgreens Reviews | Glassdoor

Walgreens Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14644 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Walgreens CEO Stefano Pessina
Stefano Pessina
3272 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Provide career path for pharmacy technicians(in 880 reviews)

  • "Low pay (but probably matches experience required)(in 411 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "CSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Walgreens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company provides great career opportunities.

    Cons

    Doesn't do well with customer relations/ customer complaints.

    Advice to Management

    No matter the position consider all employee situations and jobs.

    Walgreens2018-11-17
  2. Helpful (31)

    "It was good...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture at the manager level and below can be excellent. The work can be very rewarding. I loved my job because of my coworkers and I was lucky with my work. I left for a huge pay increase, better benefits, an office and a better commute.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible and promotions are too slow to recognize the very best people. You can imagine what it's like if you're merely good at your job. Bonuses can (and do) get cut in half or eliminated entirely, regardless of your personal rating. Stores are underpaid and understaffed. Be wary of old company reviews. The good old days are gone. The company was taken over by Alliance-Boots in 2014. All executives...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your transparency is terrible. Your employees are given no reason to trust you and be fully engaged. Your best people at corporate (and stores) are leaving in droves as you chase away other people you feel are underperforming. You need to address the problem. You can't build a sweatshop environment in America. Open work/telemarketer space in Legal? Tax? Accounting? No bonuses? Expensive health benefits? We have...

    Show More
    Walgreens2019-06-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Keeps cutting hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and technology

    Cons

    Keeps cutting hours with no help

    Walgreens2019-08-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Pharmacy Technician-Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Sugar Land, TX

    I worked at Walgreens part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly staff for the most part

    Cons

    Outdated training modules, convoluted employee web portal

    Advice to Management

    Ask pharmacists and technicians on feedback on corporate policies and areas of improvements

    Walgreens2019-08-14
  5. "Always hiring here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Walgreens part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are always hiring! Friendly staff and always busy! You'll always get a lot of hours!

    Cons

    Pay is not the greatest, and the schedule isn't always consistent. But you have to expect that in retail!

    Advice to Management

    Pay more to keep the good-quality customer service associates around!

    Walgreens2019-08-17
  6. "Great place for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Toledo, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Walgreens part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great entry level place for experience in a pharmacy.

    Cons

    Sometimes the demand can be too high for what they give you to work with.

    Walgreens2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the family company it used to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walgreens full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Close to home Employee discount

    Cons

    Understaffed due to payroll hours cut Cares more about customers than the employees well-being

    Walgreens2019-08-14
  8. "Okay job for short period"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designated Hitter 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Simple, easy workload. Flexible scheduling. Pay is slightly higher than minimum wage for associates. No physically demanding.

    Cons

    Raises are insignificant. Management is disorganized. Reporting managerial staff for inappropriate behavior does nothing. No benefits. No real incentive or opportunity to apply for management positions. DH position is a cheap way to take advantage of employees by paying them less than what a Pharm. Tech. makes while making them do the same work. Management bends over backwards for customers, even at the expense of staff.

    Walgreens2019-08-16
  9. "Stable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Lead in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walgreens full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable job usually flexible with the schedule

    Cons

    Lack or growth low pay compared to other companies not enough personal time off

    Advice to Management

    Better pay rate for leads and assistant managers

    Walgreens2019-08-17
  10. "Assistant store manager for walgreens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I worked at Walgreens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, discounts, retirement plan

    Cons

    Hours are long and inconsistent

    Walgreens2019-08-15
Found 14644 reviews