2U Reviews | Glassdoor

2U Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
2U CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
392 Ratings
Pros
  • "Incredibly fun environment (monthly happy hours, snacks, company meeting (great speakers and performers)(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance with unlimited PTO(in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Lucky to call this my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Marketing Coordinator in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring and collaborative environment Opportunities for growth within departments Great leaders who know how to manage people Unlimited PTO Work from home 1 day per week (at least) Like minded people, who have a "student first" mentality Incredibly fun environment (monthly happy hours, snacks, company meeting (great speakers and performers) Salary is competitive All higher-ups are really friendly and... involved with employees

    Show More

    Cons

    401k match could be better

    2U2019-06-17

    2U Response

    July 1, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you're enjoying your time at 2U!

  2. "IT Helpdesk Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Technician in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is incredible

    Cons

    Hard to move up when you really want to. Some internal positions are already flagged for more senior team memebers.

    Advice to Management

    Please fight for your teams promotions

    2U2019-09-25

    2U Response

    September 30, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience as a 2Ute! Feedback like yours is critical to us accomplishing our mission and we greatly appreciate your assessment. We are a fast-paced company and acknowledge that there is room for improvement as we continue to expand. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Navigating Choppy Waters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Competitive salaries for higher ed space - Approachable leadership - Growth opportunities for those that make a point to stand out - Friendly coworkers - On-site gym, cafeteria, and coffee bar - Fun company events and generous PTO policy - Mission driven: genuinely achieves high-level outcomes for students and partner universities

    Cons

    - Complicated business model in a volatile space that is subject to a lot of scrutiny from both the public and political arenas - Clumsy handling of change management (several influential and beloved Admissions leaders hastily let go without apparent anticipation of negative morale ripple effect that has since followed) - Inefficient practices and shortcuts/workarounds as commonly implemented strategies - With a... few exceptions, not many inspiring, thoughtful leaders remain within the Admissions department

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take time to understand what contributions your individual employees are making; specifically those who are passionate about the business and leading in ways that positively shape culture, motivate people to come to work, and inspire others to bring their best to the job every day. As it stands, there’s currently an apparent communication breakdown at the Director/VP level, and the future is unclear in the eyes of... the majority of those in the Admissions department. Optimism once abounded. Now, uncertainty and anxiety is the prevailing sentiment. There is still the possibility of a very bright future ahead, but it hinges on how leadership chooses to navigate this very volatile time in the company’s journey.

    Show More
    2U2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Overall Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at 2U for 3 years and had a great experience working with incredible people. The pro's inclue: -Amazing culture -Unlimited PTO -Good benefits package -Great location (Denver) -Collaborative environment -Mission driven -Friendly and engaging upper management -A fun place to work

    Cons

    -Challenging to move up in the department and can be very political. -It seems that Senior Leadership is very out of touch with the actual work that their employees are doing compared to what they are selling. -Salary does not match the actual work in Student Engagement department -Change mangement needs improvement

    2U2019-10-13

    2U Response

    October 18, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your 2U experience. We’re growing quickly, revealing areas we need to continue to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. Employee feedback (both current and former) is critical to hear and we welcome the chance to learn more about your time at 2U. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

    Show Less
  5. "Overall Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, Unlimited PTO, Employees perks

    Cons

    Current uncertainty about growth and holding leadership positions.

    2U2019-10-18
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, Great Culture, great management

    Cons

    Unwilling/No salary negotiation at hire

    2U2019-10-17
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Do more with less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admission Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, and honestly just the people

    Cons

    PMP, raised goals but cut spending on out program and would hold the counselors accountable if they didn't hit unrealistic admission goals.

    Advice to Management

    Get better, overall, get better. You mass fire managers and directors to save 12 million but yet spend tens of millions on your meetings and halloween every year. I know numerous people who gave you there careers and never wanted commission which people should have received or stock but then you fire the people who gave you everything. Yet you still have no idea what you are doing.

    2U2019-10-09

    2U Response

    October 14, 20192U Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience at 2U. At 2U, we are proud of our people-first, highly collaborative, and team-oriented culture, and this includes company-wide events. These events are a critical part of our culture and what makes 2U, 2U. The recent restructuring was done to put the student journey first. It is agile and leverages our learnings from more than 70 partners and a decade at the forefront of digital education transformation. While it’s never easy to part with colleagues, these decisions were made thoughtfully to create a stronger 2U. Our business is healthy, growing, and today, we believe no other company is better positioned to help universities serve the quickly evolving needs of learners. Employee feedback is critical to hear and we welcome the chance to learn more about your experience. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Management disconnect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office (gym, gourmet meals for cheap, unlimited snacks)

    Cons

    Management disconnect, slightly-phony company culture, weak camaraderie because a lot of people are remote

    Advice to Management

    Management checks in with its employees weekly but is quick to be much more critical than supportive. There is a lot of micromanaging and I've seen colleagues get put, somewhat unnecessarily, on what they call these "corrective action" plans (more like "Cover Management's you-know-what" plans so they can make it easier to fire you). Managers can be somewhat dishonest and unwilling to help. It seems like they want... you to not so much work hard, but work the way they want you to work. And they tell you to ask questions, but don't ask too many. It feels like admissions is the so-called "lifeblood" of the company and other departments get treated like second-class citizens. I have never worked in admissions but a lot of people seem to feel they are basically telemarketers. And while there is much hoopla over the company meeting, it feels like a lot of the stuff the company promotes is pure fluff and almost cult-like. I've always felt like the perks and the fancy office and all that stuff is meant to distract and take away from some of the core things about the company that are negative.

    Show More
    2U2019-10-04

    2U Response

    October 11, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your insights into some of our growing pains, revealing areas we need to continue to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. One example is a required training curriculum for all people managers at every level, covering comprehensive leadership skills. At 2U, we are proud of our people-first culture and the importance of having candid, honest, and open conversations about the business. We’re disappointed to hear that you don’t feel this and think the work of your team is undervalued. We would like for every 2Ute to feel as though they can take pride in coming to work and provide white glove service to our university partners and their students. Employee feedback is critical to hear and we welcome the chance to learn more about your time at 2U. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great company, great mission, poor business decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, thriving company culture, strong team members

    Cons

    The business model is flawed, after over 70 people laid off they are still making crazy business decisions

    2U2019-10-15

    2U Response

    October 18, 20192U Communications

    Employee feedback is important to hear as we continue to grow and evolve our culture. While you are no longer with 2U, we genuinely value your feedback and we would like to speak to you about your experience. Please reach out to feedback@2U.com and reference "my Glassdoor review" so we can talk.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of change but overall a great mission driven company with competitive benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, Competitive Salary, a lot of training for entry level positions

    Cons

    401 match, decent but not great benefits

    Advice to Management

    For team members to want to perform well and show up with a positive attitude most days, they need to like you. Focus MORE on building relationships with your team and within your team (#relationships matter) and less on technical aspects of the job (i.e. obsessing over how many dials in an hour/building another report that we could do on our own time) ALSO, please don't roll out new initiatives without thinking... through solutions to foreseen problems

    Show More
    2U2019-10-08

    2U Response

    October 9, 20192U Communications

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your insights into some of our growing pains, revealing areas we need to continue to focus on, and we are continually making improvements for our employees, our university partners, and their students. One example is a required training curriculum for all people managers at every level, covering comprehensive leadership skills. As we grow and evolve, developing managers will continue to be a top priority for our leadership. Employee feedback is critical to hear and we welcome the chance to learn more about your experience. If you are willing to chat, please contact us at feedback@2u.com and reference “my Glassdoor response.”

    Show Less
Found 503 reviews
</>Embed