Choice Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 632 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "For contractors no benefits, No VISA sponsorship provided(in 26 reviews)

  • "Turn over remains high due to low pay, no bonuses for levels below director (or manager with direct reports) and lower morale in the Scottsdale office(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Opportunities Ahead!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Evolving company with countless opportunities to innovate, with an IT leader preaching for innovative changes. I really enjoy my days working with lots of different personalities. Keep it up!!

    Cons

    IT leadership has been getting bad press for wanting to innovate and evolve the company. There are pockets of individuals resisting, instead of embracing change or offering better alternatives.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting from within and hiring bright talented individuals.

    Choice Hotels2019-03-15

    Choice Hotels Response

    May 8, 2019

    Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your feedback on our innovative environment at our Phoenix technology center as Being Bold is a core value at Choice. We will continue to promote from within – and if you know any bright individuals, friendly reminder to take advantage ...

    Show More
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Culture of Respect, learning and growth.

    Cons

    Some incompetent people; but they can improve

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good work on

    Choice Hotels2018-12-03
  3. "Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Saint George, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management system to work with

    Cons

    Escalation at times can be frustrating

    Choice Hotels2019-07-18
  4. "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    lovely working and pleasunt atmosphere

    Cons

    extra work and more hours

    Advice to Management

    need additional for extra work

    Choice Hotels2019-07-10
  5. "I absolutely love all my guests"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Choice Hotels

      Pros

      Best reasons to work here is you get to meet people from all over the world

      Cons

      The GM and Owner are very unorganized, we never have the supplies we need to adequately run the hotel. Numerous problems within the hotel. Mold all over kitchen walls, leaks every where, air conditioners not working in multiple rooms.

      Advice to Management

      They are only there to get a paycheck. They do not care about anything or anyone

      Choice Hotels2019-07-21
    • "not too bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Landman 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Choice Hotels part-time

      Pros

      like it , really nice people

      Cons

      there is a lot that they can change

      Choice Hotels2019-07-20
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Revenue Manager in Rockville, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, culture, forward thinking, SCRUM development

      Cons

      Slim budget for remote workers

      Choice Hotels2019-07-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lack of empathy and culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Competitive salary for Phoenix. Reputable company with larger budgets and overall resources.

      Cons

      Sr. Leadership shows no regard for the welfare of its associates by retaining executives who create a fear-based culture. No momentum in culture because the company cannot keep its talent and shows no serious steps towards rectifying it.

      Advice to Management

      I'd recommend the CEO take a hard look at whether his executive team are living up to the values and culture he so clearly wants to create.

      Choice Hotels2019-07-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Executive leadership can't figure out the problem because they refuse to believe that they're the problem"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Choice Hotels full-time

      Pros

      Some smart people that really want to succeed.

      Cons

      Executive leadership plays on like the band on the Titanic as if all is well, while everyone runs for the life boats. For those left behind, their fate is equally cold and dark. Marketing and Distribution is a disaster, run by authoritarian rule at the C-suite level and is always in search of the shiny new thing. New ideas that aren't in line with the C-suite's thoughts are immediately and brutally crushed. As others...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Mr. Pacious, at some point, you need to honestly address the root cause of these issues in M&D.

      Choice Hotels2019-07-15
    • "Hotel Motel"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - General Manager 

      I worked at Choice Hotels full-time

      Pros

      Good franchise to work with

      Cons

      With Change in ownership your job gets end.

      Choice Hotels2019-06-11
    Found 632 reviews