GE Reviews | Glassdoor

GE Reviews

Updated February 19, 2019
8,049 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
H. Lawrence Culp, Jr.
91 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance not maintained at quarter ends" (in 351 reviews)

  • "sometimes you have to work long hours" (in 182 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Amazing Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Analyst in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Analyst in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Exceptional, brand new office with state of the art, modern technology. Open, friendly environment. General Manager, Joe Allen, is very personable, involved, and an incredible, caring leader. Wonderful working atmosphere. Great people and events.

    Cons

    Matrix Management in some parts of the company, too heavy a workload due to being spread too thin.

    GE Response

    Feb 11, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for sharing this with us!


  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    GE Healthcare will be a strong standalone company

    Cons

    Uncertain times on Wall Street

    GE Response

    Aug 17, 2018 – Talent - Events & Pipeling

    Thank you for taking the time out to review us, we value your opinion.

  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    hours, pay, supervisor was good

    Cons

    not a lot of room for advancement

    GE Response

    Feb 20, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thanks for your positive assessment!


  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Houston, TX

    I have been working at GE full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great perks
    Smart colleagues
    Work - life balance

    Cons

    Salary was below market
    Business is going through a lot changes

    GE Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're always working to improve and appreciate your comments.


  5. "A great place to get work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Danbury, CT
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Danbury, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Salary and benefits varied opportunities

    Cons

    Shrinking company, mismanagement by prior GE leadership

    Advice to Management

    Manage what is left of the company carefully

    GE Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're always working to improve and appreciate your comments.


  6. "Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customs Analyst
    Current Employee - Customs Analyst
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good work life balance, manager is supportive, great facilities, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    I wish there were more opportunities for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees and making them feel valued

    GE Response

    Feb 18, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're always working to improve and appreciate your comments.


  7. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    benefits, tuition reimbrusement, pto, vacation

    Cons

    high level competition for promotions and few positions

    GE Response

    Feb 14, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Appreciate your recommendation, thank you.

  8. "Internship Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Was paid a lot of money

    Cons

    wasn't working on anything technical or even remotely close to engineering

    GE Response

    Feb 12, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback!


  9. "Fulfilling and Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer
    Current Employee - Software Engineer
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at GE full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    People, benefits, fulfilling, challenging, Name

    Cons

    Management, big company culture, IT, unstable, travel

    Advice to Management

    Listen and act on employee input

    GE Response

    Feb 13, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time out to share your insights.


  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Newark, OH
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Newark, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Treat employees very well, very family oriented

    Cons

    Lot of re-organizing,
    Could to better communicating with employees

    Advice to Management

    Give employee more input, have levels of communication where employees views can be heard

    GE Response

    Feb 11, 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thanks for this, we appreciate your comments in light of the tremendous change GE is experiencing.