KingsIsle Entertainment Reviews

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
KingsIsle Entertainment Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Elie Akilian (no image)
Elie Akilian
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The frustrating part is that we don't seem to be run by a CEO or upper management that really enjoys playing games(in 7 reviews)

  • " pto policy (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Much Improved Communication!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    New management has offered crystal clear transparency with their assessments/goals/results as it relates to KingsIsle's past/present/future.

    Cons

    Lack of project ownership at the highest of levels - no Creative Directors.

    KingsIsle Entertainment2020-01-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It's Alright."

    3.0
    Current Employee - QA Tester in Austin, TX

    I have been working at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, fun coworkers.

    Cons

    You have no influence in trying to guide the company toward making the right decisions.

    KingsIsle Entertainment2020-05-11
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Worked at this company for 3 years. Really bad upper management."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We have many "holidays" where we celebrate with expensive food. Worker compensation is decent. -Adding features to track down player activity is a big bonus on your paycheck. -Adding features that track down player spending activities and targeting those players will add to your paycheck.

    Cons

    I've seen a lot of gifted software developers come and go and here are some of those instances: -Improving any sort of quality of life when playing stepping into the game as a player will get you fired (Having the ability to teleport to quest givers, setting your deck for your minion, and so on). -Modularizing models and implementing a Fibonacci Heap for loading (5x faster game launching) will get you fired. -Any ideas for the company that reflects positively on the player base like removing the subscription paywall on areas will get you fired. -Making dead features such as allowing pet games to grant energy will get you fired. -Adding skip turn features for battles will get you fired. -Allowing more people to join houses will get you fired. -Adding calculations to a player's account from creation date (Like +13 years to assume the player is at least 13 years of age) will get you fired. -Adding any elixir that cost exclusively gold will get you fired.

    Continue reading
    KingsIsle Entertainment2020-04-23
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Ruined my baby"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Meeting some of my co workers was the best experience, they had a passion for pirate101, as did I, that warmed my heart

    Cons

    Being ordered to not work on my baby felt like a stab in the gut

    Continue reading
    KingsIsle Entertainment2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "n"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Associate Creative Designer II in Austin, TX

    I have been working at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Too many cooks often spoils the pot.

    KingsIsle Entertainment2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good place to start your career, but don't stick around for too long."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Stable - Nice co-workers - Decent benefits

    Cons

    - Non-competitive salaries - No desire to innovate - Antiquated PTO policy. Will dock you hours for being late, but will not comp you for working overtime. No work from home.

    Continue reading
    KingsIsle Entertainment2019-03-07
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Truth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's a paycheck for the most part.

    Cons

    Just looks at all the other reviews, and let that soak in...

    Continue reading
    KingsIsle Entertainment2018-12-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "How awesome is working with KingsIsle?? QA Tester"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    QA Analyst in Austin, PA

    I worked at KingsIsle Entertainment for more than a year

    Pros

    gamer schedule food drinks friendly people super awesome enviornment no micro management

    Cons

    temp, better get to work or you'll be gone

    KingsIsle Entertainment2018-10-15
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Positive Outlook"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technician in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and fun culture, recent hiring of veterans from the mobile game industry have the company headed in the right direction and the release of Animal Cove on mobile and Wizard101 on Steam has been very successful.

    Cons

    The company is now in Round Rock if you live in the Austin area. Also in the past, upper management was not always open to change or new ideas or supporting the various departments as some would have liked, but I feel with the new people they are bringing in and the move to Steam they are proving they want the company to succeed.

    Continue reading
    KingsIsle Entertainment2018-09-19
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Ceo Is Out Of Touch With A Lot Of Things. Can't Wait To Leave This Place."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KingsIsle Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Lots of talented and friendly people to work with.

    Cons

    Ceo is out of touch with the fanbases. Ceo insists on wasting resources on pointless mobile game projects. Ceo meddles with creativity far too often.

    Continue reading
    KingsIsle Entertainment2018-07-11
Found 62 reviews