Red Robin Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,571 of over 3K reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Red Robin President and CEO Paul Murphy III
Paul Murphy III
191 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good tips, flexible schedule, good management(in 128 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, management that truly cares(in 85 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours barely breaks management sucked(in 64 reviews)

  • "Sometimes understaffed so it can feel like we're being over-worked (no expos or bussers)(in 55 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Red Robin and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Server

      Jun 1, 2021 - Server in Tempe, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food and flexible with hours

      Cons

      Will give you large tables and host don’t care

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      B U R G E R

      Jun 16, 2021 - Server/Waitress 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is lenient when it comes to hair color, tattoos, and even piercing. They really accept the idea of come as you are. They are willing to work with you in regards to kids, schedule, and even school. They have little events for the employees and keep a positive fun atmosphere as long as you are doing your job. I have worked in multiple locations from Raleigh to Apex. The management team is understanding of situations and circumstances that can arise but do not slack on letting you go if you continue to have issues consistently or continue to call out. Each location is different on their priorities or what they focus on, some locations are stricter on uniforms then others, while others are stricter on regulations then others.

      Cons

      They can get disorganized with request off or scheduling, usually due to short staff or miscommunication. Training is decent but if they are understaffed or short on trainers it may be a fend for your self situation. On the plus side if you ask managers questions that was missed during training they will help. They take a while for promotions, do not exspect a raise unless you can truly show you deserve it and you have to push to get anywhere up the chain. even if it is from host to server or server to supervisor.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Hard work, low acknowledgement

      Jun 9, 2021 - Server/Waiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My specific store's management is spot on for understanding my scheduling needs. Works around problems that arises, and takes my consideration reasonably. My general manager in specific will listen to any problems that arise and will handle them appropriately with no repercussions unlike other jobs that I've had.

      Cons

      Customers will run you dry mentally and physically. Being yelled at by irate co-workers when you're not a server is mentally taxing. To-go is not worth the stress and mental abuse.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Depends on your managers

      Jun 14, 2021 - Server in Orange, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Usually, great co-workers and can be fun (if you like to stay busy - you'll never be bored!)

      Cons

      Very specific measurements of success based on corporate decisions and they can be unfair. Some managers will determine your schedule based on this criteria, but if you have a good manager they will understand that these can be unfair and don't base scheduling off of this.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I loved it. They were very flexible. They work with you, and they hear and understand complaints.

      Jun 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Bowie, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They work with you. They work around your schedule.

      Cons

      Some of the managers don’t understand the hard part about being apart of kitchen staff. They never worked in the kitchen, hence why they don’t understand.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Unwelcome Clique Culture

      Jun 13, 2021 - Anonymous Former Employee in Greenwood Village, Arapahoe, CO, Optional[CO]
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tons of free food Opportunities to innovate in your role

      Cons

      No support from directors or upper management. Toxic level of expectations that comes out of upper managements desperation for results, always being reactive rather than proactive. Nearly no work life balance. Expect to be called during vacation to work. Culture of subliminal bullying for disagreeing with upper management. Lack of investment in materials to get the job done well. If you’re not part of the inner clique, you won’t last long and they’ll force you out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Communication is Key - When in Doubt say it at Least 5 Times: be Diligent

      May 22, 2021 - Line Cook in Bellingham, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Food, Exercise, and Friends for Life

      Cons

      Exhaustion, Long Hours, Frustrating Schedules

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst Job

      Jun 11, 2021 - Host in San Dimas, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some discounted food Some nice coworkers

      Cons

      Horrible work environment. Manager is so rude and she stares at you to make sure you're continuously smiling. 24/7. If you aren't for even a minute she will have a conversation with you. I smiled, was friendly with customers, bussed tables which was not part of my job, and managed tables well. She then reduced my hours to 3 hours a week. When I asked to get more hours she said no. So I ended up making less than $30 a week because I "didn't smile enough". I saw other hostesses being rude to customers and they were promoted. Seemed very unfair and biased. And she didn't allow me to transfer either, because she spoke to other managers and told them I wasn't a good fit. Another manager there was extremely unprofessional as well.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good but stressful

      Jun 14, 2021 - Line Cook in Greeley, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great crew Free food to take home after shift Fast Pace

      Cons

      No Pay increase over time of employment Understaffed Other companies pay more/same and less work Bottomless sucks

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good experience

      Jun 17, 2021 - Server/Waiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, ample training, easy money

      Cons

      There are not really any opportunities for advancement. No benefits available for servers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,571 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Red Robin Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Red Robin? Share Your Experiences

    or