Cengage Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance and flexibility is key(in 165 reviews)

  • "And despite working in an industry that's shrinking overall, the company is attracting great people and making really ambitious moves(in 110 reviews)

Cons
  • "Cengage Unlimited isn't holding up to the pedestal it was put on by upper management(in 73 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Great Colleagues, Great Mission, Great Opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So many people say it on Glassdoor - but it's true. The people here are the best I've worked with. Always eager to help - very few turf issues or agendas that you see in other organizations. Everybody is looking forward to figure out how we can better serve students and reform a broken industry. A lot of that comes from the leadership that has put in the work to diagnose what's wrong with the industry and chart a course for Cengage that the rank and file believe in - and believe they can impact. Folks are bought in. Other pro's: Casual culture for sure. A lot of fun is had amidst serious work. In Boston an amazing new office in the Seaport District. A growing number of social events, happy hours and the like -- many of them sponsored by Employee Resource Groups focused on the experience for People of Color, LGBTQ+ employees and Women in Technology. This is a progressive place always looking to improve. Plans to merge with McGraw Hill present all sorts of opportunities to have a bigger impact.

    Cons

    We are constantly looking to do things better so change is a constant. I don't see that as a negative -- in fact it's a positive -- but if you are change averse, this might be a tough place for you.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, End User Computing Solutions in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance and flexibility is key. The environment in the office is fun and exciting. Our environment is like a start up environment. Office has kitchens with free coffee, tea, fruit, snacks, espresso machines and much more. The collaboration has been amazing which is always a concern for a new employee. The support and knowledge sharing from other employees has been invaluable.

    Cons

    The commute to/from Boston can be difficult - however, Cengage also helps with parking and commuter costs

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-02-28

    Cengage Response

    March 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing your experience with Cengage. I’m pleased to hear your first year is going well! I appreciate all of the positive comments in your review, and perhaps most importantly, that you have found our communications with employees to be transparent – this is a key tenet of our Ethos and of my approach to leadership. I truly believe that with transparency, we build trust, and with trust, we can perform at our best. Our HR onboarding team works hard to make sure new hires have all the support they need to succeed --- great to hear this is translating well. Keep up the great work!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Job if you don't need money."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Mason, OH

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Kind, friendly culture; very nice people including managers and executives.

    Cons

    Sales goals are unreasonable given that the job consists of 50% sales, 25% customer service, and 25% tech support. Also, you get a bonus once a year, not knowing until Sept 30th if you made it. Most reps say it's more luck than anything else.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-05-20
  4. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love the culture and the people

    Cons

    Salaries tend to be in the lower end

    Cengage2020-05-19
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Top heavy under constant reorg to save money"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing Manager in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Great people and mission. The culture is mostly positive. Good benefits and fair pay.

    Cons

    Constant layoffs are horrific. Cliques and favorites get to stay, not those that work hardest or have the most experience (in fact, they go first because they are paid more). Extremely top heavy which hurts as they lay off the workers. Everyone has to take on more work to make up for those fired (with no increase in pay). Recently gave everyone a 20% pay cut and stopped 4501K match. Future looks bleak.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-05-11
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Going down like the Titanic"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant (DEC) in Newport Coast, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good product and good employees (ground level). Great potential.

    Cons

    Management suffers from a serious lack of vision, and despite paying lip service to helping students they seem to care very little for their customers. Over the past year their lack of appreciation and concern for their employees has become evident. Sales are plummeting along with morale. The company is hemorrhaging skilled and talented workers. After spending over a year preparing for a merger that many felt would never happen, they don't seem to have a backup plan prepared.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-05-21
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Working at Cengage"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervising Editor in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good pay, good benefits, collaborative co-workers

    Cons

    unreasonably heavy workload, long hours, constant meetings

    Cengage2020-05-12
  8. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic vision for future and forward thinking executive team

    Cons

    Operational inefficiencies with technology team make product development of anything non standard difficult to impossible

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-05-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "My Cengage employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cengage is a great place to work, both employees and corporate employees were very professional and very friendly.

    Cons

    Closing our d.c. office left everyone laid off.

    Cengage2020-05-01
  10. "I love being at a company that truly cares about their employees."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Representative in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great and very helpful management and supervisors, everyone is always willing to go the extra mile to help people out, no matter who they are. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly, really like a big family. I also love the honesty within the company. They really care about their employees and I feel looked out for, and appreciated for what I do. I've made some great friends working here and enjoy what I do. For a Customer Support Rep, being mentored was the most helpful step in getting ready to be on the phones and I'm very thankful for that.

    Cons

    The 3 week training is rough, it's needed to get through all the tons of information for the job, but it's rough. A lot of things I learned in training didn't apply after I was finished, and there are things that I didn't learn at all in training that are core pieces of my everyday job.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2020-05-05
Found 1334 reviews