Cover image for Cengage Group
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2023

Cengage Group

Engaged Employer

Cengage Group

Add a Review

Cengage Group Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,002 of over 2K reviews
4.2
85% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2023
Cengage Group CEO Michael Hansen
91% Approve of CEO

Found 1,978 of over 2K reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Cengage Group CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
1,109 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "There are some great people at Cengage and the open work environment is collaborative and fast paced.(in 229 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and culture.(in 162 reviews)
  • "The culture is great and they truly root for you to build a collaborative team(in 126 reviews)
  • "The work life balance was great!(in 90 reviews)
  • "Immediate colleagues are great(in 62 reviews)
Cons
  • "poor management of employees(in 89 reviews)
  • "Increasingly low pay for sales..little chance for advancement unless you are part of the 'in crowd'(in 69 reviews)
  • "Upper management is arrogant, dismissive, and unprofessional.(in 61 reviews)
  • "Many of the managers have been here a long time so many of the people they manage are their friends.(in 58 reviews)
  • "low salaries compared to industry standard(in 55 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Cengage Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years
    Featured Review

    Best Place I've Ever Worked

    Nov 30, 2022 - Director in Mason, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Like so many other reviewers I necessarily have to start with the culture and the people. This is a mission-based for-profit serious about transforming lives through the power of education. That might sound like a bunch of bull, but it's a living, breathing part of who we are. I see it championed each and every day in the focused efforts of colleagues who will go to extraordinary lengths for instructors, institutions and students. I see it in the way that colleagues support one another and pitch in to help. But the good work of thousands of employees wouldn't be possible without a strong vision and strategy. We are blessed to have a strong CEO, a great Executive Team, and awesome leaders at all levels of the organization. They have done an amazing job of evolving our strategy and the company in a way that has positioned us for continuing success and growth. There is no better time to be at Cengage Group than right now.

    Cons

    Downsides are hard to find. Education markets continue to evolve - so change is ever present. If you are looking to do the same thing for the next 10 years, you should probably look elsewhere. On the flip side, if you like new challenges, if you take satisfaction from delivering on high expectations, and if you want to change lives, then this is a great place to be! Lots of reviews mention compensation being a little tight - that's a product of the market headwinds we were working against in past years. With the company growing again, we're in a much better position to invest in people. Even with those challenges, I have always felt fairly compensated.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for leaving a review and for your more than 8 years of service. I believe that we have a strong mission to provide quality, digital learning experiences that help millions of students lead choice-filled lives. However, it is our dedicated employees who truly bring this mission to life. I am happy to hear the positive remarks about your colleagues and their efforts, as supporting one another helps strengthen our overall impact. I agree that the education markets continue to evolve as we keep up with the changing needs of learners. I understand that this can create unique challenges and requires our employees to be flexible and adopt a growth mindset. I appreciate your flexibility and willingness to take on new challenges. I am glad that you enjoy working here and I encourage you to reach out to me directly with better ways that we can support our employees. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Create work environment on the tech side

    Jan 27, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of remote work options Flexibility Internal mobility Professional development support

    Cons

    PTO could be better, but "wellness days" are a nice perk.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Cengage Group team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Sad to leave, but it had become impossible to stay

    Jan 21, 2023 - Anonymous Employee in Mason, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, the chance to create content and products to be proud of, overall a pretty healthy culture. I never stopped respecting and valuing my coworkers because the company does attract truly quality people.

    Cons

    Almost non-stop reorgs and layoffs with very little acknowledgement of the impacts. Half my team was laid off, and then two months later the person who organized that layoff got laid off. Very low pay, with very low to no increases Ever increasing workload, with no relief in sight

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your more than 10 years of experience working here. I appreciate the positive remarks about our culture, products, and your colleagues. Regarding reorganizations, the education markets continue to transform. During the last decade, technology has played an increasingly central role in enabling and enhancing education and as a global education company, we have learned a great deal about what products and services are needed to meet the needs of today’s learners. I know change can be unsettling, and I am sorry to hear this was your experience. Employee health and wellbeing is a priority for Cengage Group. I appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your next endeavors. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company

    Jan 11, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gale, and Cengage as a whole, is a great company to work for. They value internal hires, have lots of ways to professionally develop, and are a mission driven organization. The work is interesting, and Gale in particular has a culture of realistic expectations and good work-life balance. All of Cengage has a fantastic culture of transparency. It's a great place to learn skills you want or break into a career you're interested in.

    Cons

    Like any bigger company, your experience could differ drastically based on your immediate manager, team, and colleagues. It's also a turbulent and sometimes declining industry, so re-orgs happen every 1 to 2 years, which sometimes are accompanied by layoffs. It's not the company for you if you are seeking the highest salaries, most secure industry, or are not comfortable with a shifting landscape of business priorities.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your experience, I appreciate the positive remarks about Gale, and Cengage Group as a whole. It’s great to hear that you find your work interesting, that you are able to achieve realistic expectations, and that you have found a healthy work-life balance. I appreciate that reorganizations can be disruptive and are quite common in the publishing world. Gale has been transforming from a North American-centric library reference publisher to a global provider of learning and research solutions. This is no simple task. It has required us to center our operating model around customers and to shift resource from legacy product lines to growth engines. Thanks to a culture that has embraced change, Gale is growing market share and revenue which, in turn, has afforded us investments in people fueling that growth. Best, Paul Gazzolo, SVP and GM of Gale

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Healthy Work-Life Balance and Extraordinary Culture

    Sep 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I believe that time is one of our most valuable assets, so work-life balance is important to me. It is clear that Cengage respects and values employees’ time by providing ample PTO, extra days off to prioritize mental and physical wellness, and volunteer days that can be used to support your local community. The people who work at Cengage are mission driven, I feel fulfilled knowing that the work we do is making a real difference for learners. Managers and team members encourage professional development and provide many learning opportunities. I particularly enjoy the Talent Live webinars where colleagues share their career journeys and offer advice for those looking to follow a similar path of advancement. I also appreciate the culture here, it’s nothing like I have ever experienced before. Leadership is honest and transparent. In fact, the CEO hosts a company-wide webinar each week and invites individuals from across the company to join him in an open discussion, sharing company updates or new initiatives. I find them to be very informative, it’s a great way to keep everyone in the loop.

    Cons

    Compensation is low, this is something that I have experienced myself and heard from many other employees in various departments. I think it’s worth reevaluating salaries across the board as inflation continues to rise. Wages we were paid two years ago no longer cover basic living costs and necessities.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about your work experience. I agree that time is valuable; our employees are a top priority and we strive to create an environment where employees feel they can achieve work-life balance. Employee wellbeing is a priority and our annual wellness week is a great example of this; this year we will host a keynote speaker, post challenges in Slack, provide reflection exercises, and more. Regarding compensation, I recognize that more and more people are facing the impact of inflation. Our HR teams closely monitor the market to ensure we are staying competitive in our industry. If you have specific questions on your salary or salary range I encourage you to talk to your manager. Thank you for your feedback as we continue to improve. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Highly Recommend Cengage

    Jan 11, 2023 - Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    So many pros but the people are the best - smart, creative, and just nice. I've look forward to collaboration with my co-workers. Over the years, I've made lifetime friends here. Also, the work-life balance is good - there is flexibility if you have a childcare issue or whatever life brings up that isn't according to plan. Great benefits, too.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to hear that you are passionate about working here and that you appreciate your collaborative, creative colleagues. It’s also great to hear that you have been able to achieve a healthy work-life balance, as employee wellbeing is a top priority. Thank you for your more than 8 years of dedication to the company, feel free to reach out to me directly with more ways that we can support our employees. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Incredibly caring company

    Jan 11, 2023 - Team Coordinator in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for several large multinational companies. This is the first company where I feel like a part of a team and I'm completely virtual. I have met maybe 5% of the people with whom I work. Everyone really cares about their team.

    Cons

    I want to see the Boston office! I hear it is amazing.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Cengage Group is an amazing work for!

    Jan 11, 2023 - Learning Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Inclusive Company Culture Respectful Fun Competitive Pay Lots of Remote Jobs Career Direction Oriented

    Cons

    Some of the higher positions involves a change in demographic.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Culture and Work Environment are Superb

    Jan 11, 2023 - Associate Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive work environment, with great culture imbedded Top executives are incredibly personable Remote first company

    Cons

    Some positions offer a low base salary for entry level jobs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Special Place

    Sep 29, 2022 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cengage is truly a special place. I can't imagine being anywhere else. There's a commitment at all levels of the organization to impact learners with a focus on "education for employment". The culture values transparency and bringing your authentic self to work. Cengage is positioned to be a leader in their space, especially as we lead the way in terms of the digital learning experience. Lots of amazing people doing great work here. Benefits are top-notch.

    Cons

    The organization is extremely dynamic. In order to fluorish here, you really have to be someone who embraces change and can pivot easily. If you like more consistency and stability, this isn't the place for you. Some employees take the "bring your authentic self to work" a bit too far and use company tools (slack) and large forums to express their personal views on topics that have no direct relationship to our business (ie. political views). A very small population of employees have very loud voices and it can be pretty distracting at times. Management has recently set a new tone on what's acceptable and it has improved a little bit. Thank you, your "silent majority".

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Cengage Group Response

    CEO

    Thank you for reflecting on your experience at Cengage Group. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy working here and that you are passionate about our mission that puts learner’s needs first. As you are aware, the education industry is constantly changing, and I am proud that we have been at the forefront of that change by establishing ourselves as an education technology company. Embracing change can be challenging, but I appreciate your flexibility and willingness to adapt. Don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly with ways we can better support our employees in the future. Thank you for your more than 10 years of service. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,978 Reviews
</>Embed

Cengage Group Reviews FAQs

Cengage Group has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 2,132 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Cengage Group to a friend and 74% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Cengage Group employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Cengage Group. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

85% of Cengage Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Cengage Group 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Cengage Group to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Cengage Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cengage Group? Share Your Experiences

Cengage Group logo
or

Cengage Group Careers

Cover image for Cengage Group

We are proud of our deep heritage, which dates back to the early 1900s. During the last one hundred years, Cengage Group has evolved into...More

  • Employee Experience
  • Cengage Group ERGs
  • What We Do
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Cengage Group

18 days ago

Proud to announce we've been named a Best Place to Work in 2023 by the Glassdoor Employees' Choice Awards! We're listed as one of the top 100 large U.S. companies and earned this recognition based solely on the input of current and former employees. Earning a spot on this list is particularly meaningful as it demonstrates our strong culture and commitment to transparent and honest feedback. With that, we'd like to thank our more than 4,500 global Cengage Group employees for their willingness to share their experiences, helping us to continually raise the bar as an employer. Hear more from our CEO Michael Hansen on this recognition here: http://bit.ly/3jYGfvk
Shared image - Cengage Group Named a Best Place to Work in 2023 by Glassdoor
Cengage Group Named a Best Place to Work in 2023 by Glassdoor
bit.ly
Logo

Cengage Group

23 days ago

Careers
We recently interviewed 5 employees who work in technology, content, sales, software engineering and finance, all areas where we are currently hiring. Read our "A Day in the Life" blog to hear from Douglas Mealing, Chanda Pittman, Jarrod Mayes, Joshua Salcido and Kayla Blakely who each share a bit about their career journey and an inside look at what it’s like to work at Cengage Group: https://bit.ly/3Hyz7zB
Shared image
See all

Cengage Group Photos

+ Add Photo
Cengage Group photo of: the Boston office lobby
Cengage Group photo of: open air roof top deck at the Boston office with a view of the ocean
Cengage Group photo of: open air roof top deck at the Boston office
Cengage Group photo of: Employee working in the Boston, MA office
Cengage Group photo of: Employees having lunch in the Boston, MA kitchen
Cengage Group photo of: CEO, Michael Hansen in the Boston office kitchen talking to employees
Cengage Group photo of: CEO, Michael Hansen hosting a 'First Friday' open forum conversation with employees in the Boston office
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Cengage Group Job Seekers Also Viewed

McGraw Hill Logo
McGraw Hill

3.9

1,434 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,132 Cengage Group reviews submitted anonymously by Cengage Group employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Cengage Group is right for you.