Cengage Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance and flexibility is key(in 174 reviews)

  • "Number one is the great people I worked with(in 116 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Cengage Unlimited isn't holding up to the pedestal it was put on by upper management(in 73 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cengage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Feel heard and valued

      Mar 27, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Accessibility to upper leadership Feel valued Work Life Balance Good management Company culture

      Cons

      Need more consistent sales tools

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Transparent Leadership and Meaningful Work

      Apr 30, 2021 - Systems Analyst in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company leadership is thoughtful and transparent with the employees. Things got tough in the economy with the pandemic, but the leadership kept us in the loop of what was happening and started meeting with us weekly to keep a dialog going about leadership decisions that impact employees and the business. We're all dedicated to learning both for ourselves and for our customers. It's great to come to work everyday and know you're contributing to improvements in education throughout the world. Cengage's products are educational, but we're a technology company. Our technology teams implement agile methodologies. Since I have a background in IT project management, that's important to me.

      Cons

      Because we're a global company, team communications can be a challenge.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Ultra-transparent company; great work life balance

      Apr 14, 2021 - Digital Communications Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -I've never worked for a company so transparent about everything from the business strategy to the financial state of the company. The radical transparency starts at the top with our CEO, who leads weekly meetings on Zoom with all employees including "ask me anything" sessions where he answers the top up-voted questions on Slack (which can be anything on employee's minds). This candid mentality is something I've seen in my managers as well, I always know where I stand and how I'm performing and know how the business is doing. -Great work life balance -Everyone here cares about you as a person, and wants to help you succeed. Everyone is also really passionate about the education space, and is working here because they want to make a difference. -Cengage has a great professional development framework, with many opportunities for learning on the job. -Cengage has dedicated resources to I&D and inclusion and diversity is a big focus of the company.

      Cons

      -The publishing / edtech industry is in evolution, so strategies are always evolving.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Transparent Leadership, Strong Culture, Ambitious Strategy

      Apr 30, 2021 - Communications in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible transparency from CEO; employees empowered to challenge the status quo; constant test, try, learn, repeat. In my experience, the culture is very inclusive -- anyone with a view, suggestion or idea is encouraged to speak up no matter the role, team, level within the organization.

      Cons

      Ambitious strategy to reinvent education is not for everyone. If we want to impact learners, and help them improve their lives, we can't be complacent. As we continue to transform to best meet the needs of our customers, there will be continuous improvement efforts. This can lead to work / life balance challenges.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Company I have ever worked for

      Feb 17, 2021 - Account Executive, Higher Education (Outside Sales) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      #1 Reason is the people. I have great co-workers I can reach out to for anything I need and even though we are spread across the whole country, especially during the pandemic, I feel super supported. The culture is absolutely inclusive, positive (rare for a sales role) and is truthful. Many of us were teachers before and you can definitely tell. This job attracts straight-A students.

      Cons

      Your first year is extremely challenging because there is so much to learn. You will never be an expert on everything and need to learn to be ok with that. Bonuses are paid out once a year which is hard to budget for. I had to learn to actually schedule time in my day for work/life balance because it is so easy to become a workaholic in this role. Management encourages it but I always felt behind! The workload is cyclical meaning you will work evenings and weekends for a couple of weeks a quarter and then have some time to relax and recharge after the rush is over.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Mar 23, 2021 - Customer Support Representative in Independence, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work culture -Coworkers/Managers are great -Benefits are insane, plenty of Vacation days and Benefit time off -The job generally isn't that bad, this is just a textbook/online learning company so we barley get rude/unhappy customers, and you're usually off the phones doing special projects at least once a week. -Supervisors are open/willing to help you move into other departments if you're interested in other positions at Cengage

      Cons

      -Starting pay is okay, but could be much better. People have left Cengage and go to other companies just because their starting pay is like $18, and I dont blame them. I love my co-workers and supervisors and that keeps me here, but I can understand why people would leave Cengage and go elsewhere if we cant even start out at a better pay rate. -Raises do not happen often and when they do its for basically nothing, you only get them every 2, 5, 10, etc... years and the most you can get each time is $.38. I have been here for almost 3 years and because of this policy I would have to be here for another 2 years just to get another $.38 cent raise and STILL not be at a full $1.00 raise? That definitely needs to be worked on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cengage Response

      CEO

      Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your time thus far at Cengage. Internal mobility and professional development are key initiatives and priorities here, so it is great to hear that you find managers are supportive and provide opportunities for you to grow and develop. Additionally, we take concerns about compensation seriously. While there is no one-size-fits-all solution, it is something we continuously monitor and I appreciate you letting us know how you feel compensation is impacting employee retention. I encourage you to reach out to your manager, HR business partner or myself directly so we can work to address your specific concerns. Best, Michael Hansen, Cengage CEO

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Lots of Potential

      May 7, 2021 - Content Creation Manager in Clifton Park, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The mindset, the people, the learning opportunities

      Cons

      Leadership is often blind to the fact that the staff they have on hand already could solve most of their business problems easily if they were given the opportunity

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Work for the greater good but don't expect greater security, benefits, or pay

      Apr 29, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working in education feels good, the benefits are okay, they're responsive to social issues

      Cons

      no raises or cost-of-living increases in *years*, many people have their positions eliminated, and employees are *required to dance on camera* to build morale after rounds of layoffs and reduction in pay, company-wide. That's right- if you didn't get fired, your pay was decreased and all 401k contributions stopped to "help the company."

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Cengage Response

      CEO

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. In regard to your comment on pay decreases, I wanted to note that this was a deliberate decision at the beginning of Covid 19 to ask all of us for a temporary pay sacrifice to be able to continue to serve our customers and avoid significant job losses. This decision was tough but the right thing to do– as we felt strongly we were all in this together and when the circumstances changed, we would do right by all employees. Due to the hard work of our employees, I was pleased to announce this past February that we were able to pay back the sacrificed salary in full and reinstate the 401K match earlier than expected. Additionally, we strive at Cengage to create a collaborative, honest and transparent culture that enables all employees to feel like they can bring their authentic selves to work. That being said, I strongly believe that this should never be imposed and you should never have to do something in which you are uncomfortable. I am glad to see that you find the work-life balance at Cengage a positive and encourage you on all other issues you raised to reach out to myself or your HR business partner so we can work together to address your specific concerns. Best, Michael Hansen, CEO

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good intentions, poor execution

      Apr 1, 2021 - Account Executive in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great cause, noble industry, trying to make things better, inclusive culture

      Cons

      It seems all the companies efforts and resources were put into the Cengage Unlimited bucket and they cut corners other places leaving huge people deficits. Sales people are having to be technical support and training managers. Not enough support for sales or for product. Everyone is stretched super thin and are burning out fast. The company is having to hire more newbies, which doesn't put them in a good strategic position and places additional stress on the senior employees. They say they want to hear your thoughts and opinions but nothing ever changes. Hence the mass exodus in the past 6 months.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Cengage Response

      Thank you for sharing these comments about your experience with Cengage. I know the pandemic and necessary deep customer focus put additional strain on our sales team members and appreciate you bringing your concerns to light. I would like to note that I am very proud of our team and how well we supported each other and responded to the needs of our customers. This effort shows up in our results including a record number of promotions, employee retention and engagement rates that are at an all-time high. We will continue to build on our team culture and improve how we work, this includes strengthening our tools, resources and processes, to enable more success for our people and the work we do with our customers. That said, I appreciate your feedback and suggestions on ways we can best support our teams – there are always ways we can continue to improve -- and encourage you to reach out to me anytime to discuss in more depth. - Edwin Robles, SVP, US Higher Ed Sales

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work!

      Apr 2, 2021 - Technical Content Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a place where I can be proud of my work. I love what I do, I love my team, and my managers have been outstanding. The company leadership cares about us workers as human beings, as well as the customers.

      Cons

      Like any other company, layoffs happen due to market forces. It's not the end of the world, but still, it's sad when it happens to friends.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,510 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cengage Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Regional Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Cengage? Share Your Experiences

    or