Mastercard Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Mastercard President and CEO Ajay Banga
Ajay Banga
1,128 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior Management is strong - while mid-level management is far weaker(in 46 reviews)

  • "No Cons as such for the company(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Purchase, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time

    Pros

    Global nature, ceo, growth opportunities

    Cons

    Some politics seen, health insurance

    Mastercard2020-05-30
  2. "Great Company, Interesting Work, Good Pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Product Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top management are genuinely good people and are very competent. Compensation is fair, bonuses are excellent. The work is interesting and you can standout if you are capable. Your coworkers generally want you to succeed.

    Cons

    There are some legacy inefficiencies that continue to remain that make getting things done slow. Sometimes products get discontinued or your VP abruptly leaves and you can get left to fend for yourself. You’ll be let go if you can’t find another team that wants you.

    Continue reading
    Mastercard2020-05-27
  3. "A great place to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The team, the opportunities, the options. I have been in the same team for a total of 13 years now, but the amount of different things that I have worked on is very vast, from technologies to areas of functionality

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels like we are always very busy, but my biggest complaint is the layers of process that we have to follow for some of the tech ops teams.

    Continue reading
    Mastercard2020-05-26
  4. "Excellent Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    An innovative company with lots of opportunities. Great benefits and flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Too many layers of management making it difficult yo get work done.

    Continue reading
    Mastercard2020-05-19
  5. "Great Benefits and a great CEO."

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and great leadership

    Cons

    Stressful job and weekends are always busy.

    Mastercard2020-05-28
  6. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Strategic Sales in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, life work balance, compensation

    Cons

    None. Great company to work for

    Continue reading
    Mastercard2020-05-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Back stabbing culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mastercard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not a good place to work

    Cons

    Tough upper management. Not easy for upward mobility

    Mastercard2020-05-15
  8. "Mastercard is the place to be and retire from"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mastercard prides itself in taking care of its people (Benefits, Volunteerism, Career Development and much more). I personally plan on retiring out of Mastercard which is not something many people can say about their jobs nor company. If you ever get the change to become an employee at Mastercard, DO IT!

    Cons

    None that I can find yet

    Continue reading
    Mastercard2020-04-27
  9. "Best place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family like culture, teamwork, collaboration, diversity, work/life balance

    Cons

    Operations can be demanding at times, but it's part of the job

    Continue reading
    Mastercard2020-04-20
  10. "New Challenges and Growth Opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Software Engineering in O'Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mastercard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, empowerment, transformational projects, community involvement

    Cons

    golbility challenging, leadership reluctant to change

    Continue reading
    Mastercard2020-04-22
Found 1766 reviews