Steven Madden Reviews | Glassdoor

Steven Madden Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 374 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Steven Madden CEO Ed Rosenfeld
Ed Rosenfeld
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount meet people from all over(in 38 reviews)

  • "The discount is really good and sometimes they have contest for free shoes(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management was to trustful with some certain employee(in 26 reviews)

  • "Low Pay for a lot of work and stress(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Stock 

      I have been working at Steven Madden part-time

      Pros

      Decent pay with good people

      Cons

      Hard to obtain full time

      Steven Madden2019-05-30
    • "4/5 Stars"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Store Manager 

      I worked at Steven Madden full-time

      Pros

      Simple job and good music which is always nice working in retail.

      Cons

      45 hour work weeks. No work/life balance

      Steven Madden2019-06-14
    • "Fun environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA

      I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I worked with a great team and was able to grow associates into sales leads/assistant managers.

      Cons

      The company doesn't always feel like it has much in advance planning. sales role out over night and change halfway through the day. just seems a bit scattered.

      Advice to Management

      set clear goals and follow them.

      Steven Madden2019-06-03
    • "Fun, demanding, and confusing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Destin, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It was a fun environment for the most part that allowed you to express who you were through fashion and your outside appearances with good music. I loved my job though up until the last 3 weeks I guess. I was extremely loyal to the brand and my store.

      Cons

      But depending on who the upper management was the rules changed and they always changed to benefit the company, never the employees in the store doing the hard work every day. People who should have been let go are probably still there and people who were let go shouldn’t have been. They were always micro managing the store management teams so bad it didn’t allow them to be a management staff. The amount of hours you...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You need to appreciate the people working in your stores more. If you have loyal store managers try keeping them around instead of making it hard for them to stay. Work life balance is important. Even for the people working in your stores, remember that. Also when you let someone go they shouldn’t have to fight for the money that’s owed to them. Thanks.

      Steven Madden2019-06-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "why i wont work at steve madden"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Steven Madden part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      good work life balance involved

      Cons

      associates can steal sales when they want

      Steven Madden2019-06-05
    • "Easy once you get the hang of it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Steven Madden full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy to understand system. Basic interviews

      Cons

      No movement or growth

      Steven Madden2019-06-03
    • "It was good while it lasted..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Steven Madden full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The relationships that you grow with your staff Benefits Discounts Makes you feel like a real business owner

      Cons

      Not following handbook procedures Lack of training Micro-management Immature Upper Management

      Advice to Management

      If you are going to follow company policy at least allow someone to see what they did wrong and make up for their mistakes. I was let go in a very unfair manner after just being told I was doing an excellent job by multiple people that were of senior in the company. Let me go over something that was even a rule in the handbook and had it been I wouldn't have done it. If you plan to work for this company I would recommend...

      Show More
      Steven Madden2019-05-29
    • "TOXIC & demoralizing corporate office"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Long Island City, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      If you like a cut throat work environment, this is the place for you.

      Cons

      Highly toxic culture with Low Pay, High Turn Over and No Advancement. Everyone is leaving, has already left or is preparing to leave. I do not see the light at the end of the tunnel. Upper management isn't doing anything.

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      Steven Madden2019-06-05
    • "OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Aventura, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Steven Madden full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Fast paced environment. Love co-workers

      Cons

      Pay can be better, need more structure

      Advice to Management

      Fight for what you deserve $$$

      Steven Madden2019-05-13
    • "An okay company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Supervisor 

      I have been working at Steven Madden full-time

      Pros

      discount, the people, the environment

      Cons

      no real growth within the company

      Steven Madden2019-05-10
    Found 374 reviews