T-Mobile Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
T-Mobile President and CEO Mike Sievert
Mike Sievert
795 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great job great benefits fun place to work(in 1206 reviews)

  • "Great pay for entry level people(in 522 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not easy to have a work life balance(in 321 reviews)

  • "Sometimes can get conflicting directions from upper management(in 239 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of T-Mobile and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great experience

      May 8, 2021 - Mobile Expert in Hayward, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and company truly cares for employees

      Cons

      Terminated due to merging with former employer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Apr 14, 2021 - Mobile Expert in Bronx, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      T-Mobile has a strong culture that encourages innovation, accountability, and diversity. The company offers countless benefits and perks that aim to improve quality of life . It is a large, well managed company with plenty of opportunities and resources to grow and develop within any chosen career path.

      Cons

      Although the compensation is competitive overall within the industry and there are various incentive programs included, the commission structure in the retail stores has diminished over the last several years. Individual compensation is much more dependent on overall store performance, and veteran sales associates find themselves having to sell significantly more to make the same amount of money they were originally making. T-Mobile has had a fairly ambiguous role of Mobile Expert “Key Holder” in the retail stores. Expectations for the role vary based on the store or manager you’re working with. However, the role in general demands additional responsibilities and you are expected to be a sales leader as well as support for the overall staff. Often you are required to fill in the role of a manager when one is not present. Although taking on a leadership role will help to establish your qualifications for a potential promotion, certain tasks and responsibilities will often affect the ability to sell, which affect your overall commission. If you agree to take on this position with the added responsibilities, there is no additional pay, incentive, or bonus structure offered.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A boat load of problems

      Apr 29, 2021 - Sales Expert in Halethorpe, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heavily disconnected cell phone/ TV/ internet service, employee credit line (max offered), ESOP, highly affordable full benefits, matching 401k, renewing PTO (balance was always increasing), no union, endless career possibilities, tuition reimbursement, LBGTQ+ friendly, industry innovations that make you proud to work for the company. This company will hire people with a criminal background, requires disclosure and further approval from a team in Washington state but is a 2nd chance employer.

      Cons

      Misinformation from direct manager (COR hire) during interview process, my manager when he found out about my background was upset that I was able to be hired and treated me poorly creating a hostile workplace. The work place I had been hired to was a well known hotspot for criminal activity and no measures were in place to safely keep the business operational. I witnessed several robberies and when I brought this to the security directors of the company they told me the location was 'safe'.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 8, 2021 - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A no pressure sales environment

      Cons

      None really just a overall solid company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Working for T-Mobile

      Apr 10, 2021 - Mobile Expert in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent wage, fun environment, good benefits (medical, dental, vision, 401k match 5%, employee stock purchase discount, service discount, PTO), they pay for schooling, flexible.

      Cons

      It’s a good job if you want to be a sales person for the rest of your life. If you want to move up there is little to no room for growth. So if you are looking for a career beyond sales associate, you are more than likely not to get it. Not to say that it can never happen, but just that it’s highly unlikely. You also don’t get paid more for speaking more than one language. Even though you work harder, you aren’t compensated hourly for it. They push their political agenda on you. Jon Frier is very inclusive for all walks of life and he’s the main reason I didn’t lose my marbles with all their political biases. I miss John Legere as CEO. I don’t like the new CEO Mike Sievert as much as John Legere.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      SENIOR TECHNICIAN

      May 5, 2021 - Senior Technician, Technical Support in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big tech company with 80000 employees and lot of opportunities to move up. Great benefit and crazy about the culture.

      Cons

      If you are not a hard worker, you want survive. If you have disability in any sort to preventing you to do your job, this company will try to get rid of you. No place for lazy employee or just enough performance employee.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      (Autonomous Platform) Team work Culture

      May 7, 2021 - Software Engineer in Frisco, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very Competitive Pay. Awesome benefits and bonuses. Company as a whole is very welcoming and interesting in terms of technologies.

      Cons

      As mentioned in the Pros company has awesome technologies to work with and fun events, but I unfortunately got stuck with a very bad team (Autonomous platform team). I was sold on a welcoming and helpful culture but when I got onboared to the team, got the complete opposite. Team members are really difficult to talk to, always get enraged when someone asks questions or for a further explanation on a topic briefly covered. Also was told I'd be working in scrum and the team does not follow any T-Mobile processes everything is done on the go very adhoc style. Deadlines are set on a best case scenario basis by the principle architect with no bandwidth or requesting feedback from the developer that will actually be doing the work. When concerns are raised as to why a deadline seems improbable Principal Engineer and scrum master shut the person down and set the deadline to what they like. And sure enough deadlines keep getting pushed and team ends up looking bad constantly because of this. Principal Engineer is always in "meetings" and comes onboard in the middle of project implementations to add more work to do without revising the deadlines. Always assumes everything additional is easy and fast to do which is why he has explained that he has no problem adding more requirements during a sprint without deadline revision, even though 90% of the time someone else ends up doing the work as he is always "busy". We have no product owner so the principal engineer and senior engineers give us the requirements which is a very big issue, requirements are always verbal and we constantly have to meet with the leads/seniors to verify what is being done is what they wanted and they are always "busy". Most of the team is overloaded to the point where working overtime and weekends is the norm and it's mostly due to the agressive deadlines set. Since we are working remotely we have a webex channel open all day from 9am-7pm that we are expected to be on "for anyone needing help", which is very irritating and difficult to do my work with when there are people screaming on the webex. I hate working here, and I just got hired July of 2020 only reason I have stuck around is because of the pay and benefits as they are actually really good compared to what I had previously. Most of my coworkers hate it here too and over half of them are contractors so they are afraid to speak up at all. Every meeting set seems to be taken as an opportunity for the principal or senior engineers to go down a 3 hour rabbit hole of what is wrong with the current architecture being built or something related.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great People and Culture

      May 2, 2021 - Business Analyst in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      T-Mobile has a great corporate culture with a passion for DEI, it’s customers, and supporting employees. The work hours are flexible and the benefits are great!

      Cons

      It’s easy to get lost in a big organization and things take longer due to size and bureaucracy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Can Be Better

      May 6, 2021 - Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      T-Mobile overall has a great work-life balance. I find it fast-paced and on the go at times, but I enjoy it. In my tenure, I have not been expected to over work or be expected to work during the weekends. Pre-COVID, people were driving off campus by 4PM. Depending on the team you are on, managers can be really supportive of your career and advocate for you. You won't find that in all managers, but there are definitely some at T-Mobile. PTO is great (almost 4 weeks from 1-3 years, almost 5 weeks from 3-7 years, and 6 weeks 7+ years of tenure). Inclusive of who you are. Regardless of your skin color, background, gender, ethnicity, hair color, tattoos - ALL are welcome!

      Cons

      T-Mobile is old fashioned and outdated: - Mediocre pay. You will be paid 15-30% lower than companies around the Seattle market, if not more. They'll justify the lowball compensation with "think of our culture" and "giving you room to grow". - Whereas other companies offer signing bonuses and attractive stock options, you won't receive attractive packages, not unless you are in the senior level. - Culture should not be a selling point in a job and why you are not paid market value. Having a culture should be the NORM. - T-Mobile is not a leader, they are a watcher. Although T-Mobile did a good job handling work from home during COVID, T-Mobile was very ambiguous about intent to come back into the office. There were a lot of uncertainty. It wasn't until other companies made their announcements that then the Senior Leadership Team made an announcement (CEO also said, after many months into COVID that more "research" needed to be done in order to make a clear decision). - T-Mobile is cheap, at best. In fact, they're so unwilling to pay their talent more in Washington at market value, they rather move their hiring to LCOL. They had also promised growth in hiring after the merger. Lots of people ended up getting laid off.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Zero Regrets

      May 7, 2021 - Retail Store Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is very generous Company efforts to make sure employees are taken care of

      Cons

      Work/Life Balance Numerous conference calls Ever changing systems and staffing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,974 Reviews

    Popular Careers with T-Mobile Job Seekers

    Retail Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Associate Expert
    Learn About the Job

    Work at T-Mobile? Share Your Experiences

    or