USAA Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
381 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits and management team(in 627 reviews)

  • "Amazing Benefits; Amazing coworkers; great work-life balance(in 226 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "USAA has many former military ppl(in 135 reviews)

  • "Mostly call center environment if you don't want to take calls all day long(in 110 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of USAA and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great culture and sense of mission

      Apr 11, 2021 - Product Development Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are friendly and great to work with, the strong sense of mission helps everyone rally around a common cause

      Cons

      Could have better compensation growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good for long term career

      May 7, 2021 - Member Service Representative II in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are basically set for retirement which makes you want to stay.

      Cons

      It’s cut throat. You need a masters to move up or even be able to compete.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work. They really care about employees and lots of opportunities to grow.

      May 8, 2015 - Risk Analyst in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Life work balance, great benefit package and nice colleagues. The goal of the company is providing the best service to its members. So, they treat employees the best to encourage them to do the same for members.

      Cons

      Slow IT support, limited interactions with industry. Banking business is not as mature as insurance.

      283 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent place to work, great benefits and culture

      Dec 6, 2017 - SIU Investigator I With 25 Years Experience in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent culture, honesty and devotion to members and employees. Incredible benefits and perks. Salary is average, but annual and Christmas bonus make it surpass competition. Excellent Veteran employment opportunity

      Cons

      IT. Remote employees/work at home/ often issues take many calls to resolve.

      Continue reading
      238 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Please read this review!! Proceed with caution.

      Apr 23, 2021 - New Member Solutions Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, PTO, work at home.

      Cons

      THIS JOB IS STRESSFUL. This is a very challenging sales role, and believe me, it is a sales role. Only elite sales professionals will strive at this job, but you won’t be compensated as such (no commission, very little pay increases). In pursuit of being a compliant company and not getting slapped with fines, your sales “process” will be extremely filtered. They do not give you the tools to truly sell over the phone, but expect substantial results. Talking to perspective members and customers all day is like any call center job, it can weigh on you heavily and can be exhausting. USAA members/customers will talk to you with a sense of entitlement if they meet the eligibility requirements and will frequently attack you professionally, verbally, and in rare cases personally because of this perceived entitlement. This is a hard sales role, with at times difficult customers, high metric standards, and a lack there of tools to achieve your high sales goals. If you are a seasoned sales professional and bored in your life, this would be a great challenge to see if you can succeed in this environment. If you have little to no sales experience, you may struggle greatly. PROCEED WITH CAUTION!!!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great benefits, Lower than average base pay, Good people

      Apr 12, 2021 - Software Engineer III in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, positive work environment. Feels like people actually care about the products and customers.

      Cons

      Compensation is low up front. They do make up for it someone with less transparent compensation like yearly bonus and holiday bonus. But they should really up the base pay to stay competitive.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Almost Perfect, Hopefully Improving

      May 4, 2021 - Software Engineer I in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work environment, people, tools, culture

      Cons

      Pay, “Agile” methodology, Promotions, Salary Increases

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A good company with good benefits and great people, but growth is changing executive management's culture.

      May 4, 2021 - Data Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Time off in abundance, great employee culture, did all the right things during covid, retirement match of 8%, annual (but ever shrinking) bonus of ~10%, sometimes interesting work.

      Cons

      "Work life balance" is kind of a meme, salaried people work way too long, executive management is slowly cutting / changing employee benefits, rapid growth in the 2010's caused some compliance heartburn, which is ongoing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It's complicated...

      Feb 16, 2021 - Software Developer and Integrator III 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's certainly a place where you can stick around for a long time. The 8% 401k match is great, the other benefits are good, and there is a program for newer hires that can help you make friends. I had a few other new hires on my project team, which helped a lot.

      Cons

      I got fired from USAA because of a bad manic health episode, for which I ended up hospitalized. Looking back, there was an opportunity to deal with me carefully and humanely. It should have been obvious that over about 2 weeks, my mental health was progressively deteriorating, and I was clearly not behaving normally, in contrast with the rest of my time on the job. I did not feel like there was proper due diligence in figuring out why I was acting that way; rather, the focus was on what I was doing. Instead, I lost employment (and health insurance) at a highly vulnerable moment, and it took at least 1.5 years, if not longer, to regain my footing professionally. This is a very specific case, so feel free to take it with a grain of salt. For me, it's extra infuriating because USAA deals with military service members, and mental illness is very common in that community. Surely they have at least some experience having to deal with that. To be fair, this is not a situation I would expect most companies to resolve well. But that would mark the difference between a typical corporate establishment and a fantastic company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Best company hands down

      Apr 30, 2021 - Licensed Property and Casualty Agent in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have never worked for a company who cares about their employees like USAA does-they are the best, hands down, that I have ever worked for or heard about! Pay, bonuses, benefits, work/life balance-all excellent!

      Cons

      Job is repetitive and boring, I didn't like having to try to transfer people to the financial planners and meeting that goal-I think a lot of people got transferred who were not happy about it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,715 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with USAA Job Seekers

    Claims Adjuster
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at USAA? Share Your Experiences

    or