Dillard's Reviews | Glassdoor

Dillard's Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4093 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Dillard's CEO Bill Dillard II
Bill Dillard II
1954 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great push from management to do your best(in 396 reviews)

  • "Lots of good stuff to offer for customer and I love the employee discount as well(in 385 reviews)

Cons
  • "Customers are rude, there are wild sales goals you have to meet or else your pay is cut(in 525 reviews)

  • "Conflicts between coworkers regarding sales quota(in 265 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great !!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Bossier City, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dillard's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It's a very atmosphere. I think the staff is awesome, and they do care about their employees.

    Cons

    No complaints from me. There will always be something that someone is going to complain about. Make your job!!

    Advice to Management

    The staff is awesome., and they do care about their employees. Keep it up !!

    Dillard's2018-01-18
  2. "Fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dillard's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work, very good benefits

    Cons

    You have to strive really hard to meet a certain sales goal

    Dillard's2019-05-23
  3. "Great family owed company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Store Manager 

      I have been working at Dillard's full-time

      Pros

      Great family owed company to work for

      Cons

      Retail hours are always tough

      Dillard's2019-05-22
    • "Dillards expects EVERYTHING!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The discount and Benefits are great

      Cons

      Some of the Management above you know nothing about how Dillards is run, I was told there is not a training process. When I transferred to a new region they had a company training standard and were surprised I hadn't been through it.

      Advice to Management

      Get it together

      Dillard's2019-05-20
    • "Everything"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Beauty Advisor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Dillard's full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Pay time and a half , overtime , hour lunches , employee discount

      Cons

      No personal life vs work life balance

      Advice to Management

      Value the people that work hard and don’t criticize them the moment they get down

      Dillard's2019-05-20
    • "Not the best but the pay is good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at Dillard's part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Weekly Pay and the starting rate is $13/hr.

        Cons

        Poor Management, competitive sales associates, focused on credit card applications

        Dillard's2019-05-17
      • "thoughts"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Dillard's part-time

          Pros

          great discount on store merchandise

          Cons

          Continuous drama and gossip among co-workers

          Advice to Management

          stay on top of communication among associates don't act as if moving up in the company is as simple as you say

          Dillard's2019-05-16
        • "Okay Work Culture, Inefficient Management, and High Sales Goals"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Dillard's part-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          There is a high base salary for sales associates, especially for departments that have commission on top of their base goals. Raises during review period are consistent and can result in long-term salary growth.

          Cons

          Equipment is outdated, and while recent software developments have made the POS system look nicer, the underlying systems are showing their age. The use of a constant number (SPH) in determining sales goals regardless of customer flow in the store means that employees are either worn down by the sales goals and leave, or heavily defend their area. Since each employee is judged individually vs as a team, trying to...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Emphasize the systems that are used to manage customers in training. Increase the promotion of your stores to a younger demographic, or increase the ability of local stores to help promote charitable and local traffic to your stores. Either allow for team goals, adapt the SPH goal to traffic flow, or adapt your goals to allow for associates to work together to obtain their sales goals without fighting each other....

          Show More
          Dillard's2019-05-14
        • "You Get What You Give"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Sales Associate in The Woodlands, TX
          Recommends
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Dillard's part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Supervisors care about you A great part-time job

          Cons

          Hours may change without notice Push credit card applications

          Dillard's2019-05-09
        • "A hard working sales job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Sales Associate 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Dillard's full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Good Pay, Benefits, Paid Every Week, Employee Discount Bundles with Sales

          Cons

          No merchandising crew, Expected to meet sales goals on top of tasks, customers wait for end of the month sales, low customer traffic

          Dillard's2019-05-09
        Found 4093 reviews