Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
40%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
478 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is a fast paced enviorment with lots of customer comunications(in 57 reviews)

  • "Good pay, regional leadership gives you the tools and training to succeed(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn’t care about the people who work under them(in 55 reviews)

  • "Long hours, pay could be better, angry customers, managers have to work at other stores if needed(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RSS in Toms Brook, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pilot is a wonderful company, they care about their team members like we’re family.

    Cons

    There’s always room for opportunities.

    Pilot Flying J2020-05-14

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 29, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate the positive feedback and hope you’ve been able to grow with the company further. Don't hesitate to share other thoughts with us in the future.

  2. "Solid Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Center General Manager in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and Bonuses, consistent schedule

    Cons

    Confined to a geographical area, difficult to change areas

    Continue reading
    Pilot Flying J2020-06-01
  3. "Poor communication leads to inefficiencies"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Representative in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Casual dress code, fun environment if you're liked by management

    Cons

    Poor communication, ambiguous leadership, focus on other departments leave Guest Services picking up the slack, representatives are seen as a commodity instead of people

    Continue reading
    Pilot Flying J2020-06-01
  4. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company has really good benefits and seems to care for the employees

    Cons

    Mid level management is a mess. They are consistently hiring under qualified store managers which serve as little more than a figure head for the physical locations. Shift leaders do the bulk of the management work and are under appreciated.

    Continue reading
    Pilot Flying J2020-05-15

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 29, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to relay your concerns about the management. We'd like to discuss more if you could follow up with an email to pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com.

  5. "Doesn't care about employees"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Deli Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits and friendly customers. Discounts.

    Cons

    I got hurt. They refused to pay for treatment I had worked there 14 yrs

    Pilot Flying J2020-05-30
  6. "Good job, poor management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier Team Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Food is good.

    Cons

    Long hours, pay could be better, angry customers, managers have to work at other stores if needed

    Pilot Flying J2020-04-29

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 29, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you expressing your concerns. Let's continue the conversation to see how we can improve. Please reach out to us at pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your comments further.

  7. "LOVE PILOT"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Kingston, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pilot Flying J part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, flexible hours, fun environment

    Cons

    low pay, can be busy at times

    Pilot Flying J2020-04-27

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 29, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with Pilot Flying J, and we hope you will share your positive work experiences with others in need of employment.

  8. "Disappointed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Team Member - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At first it was great, ...

    Cons

    Then it fell apart at the seams.

    Continue reading
    Pilot Flying J2020-04-28

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 29, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you expressing your concerns. Let's continue the conversation to see how we can improve. Please reach out to us at pfjhr@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your comments further.

  9. "Endless opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is endless opportunity while working for Pilot. With over 800 locations, your options to transfer to better position are endless! Customers are blunt, so there's laughs to be had at the fuel desk.

    Cons

    Customers can rude, pump issues make it difficult to do your job.

    Continue reading
    Pilot Flying J2020-04-11
  10. "Bridger (deadwood)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Crude 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pilot has some decent drivers and management.

    Cons

    Pilot made a colossal mistake buying and then keeping bridger management. They ran their company into the ground then we paid good money for them and they're doing the same thing here.

    Continue reading
    Pilot Flying J2020-04-26
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1035 Reviews