Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated July 20, 2017
667 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
292 Ratings

667 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced, decent pay, flexible schedules (in 54 reviews)

  • Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • Very demanding environment from upper management with little compensation (in 37 reviews)

  • unfortunatley lead driver wasn't willing to provide schedule with work life balance after almost two years of quality employment that I provided (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bryant, AR
    Former Employee - Cashier in Bryant, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people that I met.

    Cons

    Truck Drivers and The SHOWER

    Advice to Management

    New RULES

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Please feel free to email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com with specific details pertaining to your experience so we can continue... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Guest Service Leader 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troutville, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troutville, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, decent starting rates, plenty of advancement room, vacation time available, fast paced and always moving forward

    Cons

    Can be a tough position. Can be inconsistent. Smaller stores' operations can be over looked. Not enough local regional managers.

    Advice to Management

    More regionals, district miles not so great. Any store can perform well when inspections are announced.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback with us!

  3. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Sonora, KY
    Former Employee - Cashier in Sonora, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun a lot of room for advancement

    Cons

    none really i loved it

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 28, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are happy to hear you had such a positive experience.


  4. "Great company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Manager in Fort Chiswell, VA
    Current Employee - Food Service Manager in Fort Chiswell, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast pace. Never get board. Training store. Lots of exposure to upper management.

    Cons

    Long hours during the summer . Slow in the off season from mid August to late February

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  5. "If you work hard you can work your way up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Supervisor in Carneys Point, NJ
    Former Employee - Deli Supervisor in Carneys Point, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Management, Stability, Vacation Time, Customers

    Cons

    Pay isn't great for the industry. Regional managers don't have your back when they say they do.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. At Pilot Flying J , we are proud to reward hard work. We are also proud to take care of our Team Members with a great work environment... More


  6. "Supply & Distribution is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great management staff all the way up to the SVP in this division.
    Lots of options to see many different aspects of the company in this division
    You get to have direct impact on the bottom line of the company

    Cons

    Not a great balance of time away from the office, hard to turn off the phone & email
    The coverage levels for the amount of health insurance premium paid is lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating and developing your blue ocean strategy

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 10, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we always strive to better the Team Member experience.


  7. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Analyst in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Care about employees, Bright financial future

    Cons

    Company culture is to expect immediate results

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 1, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    At Pilot Flying J, we continually strive to better the team member experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and thanks for all you do!

  8. "Continous Set-Up-To-Fail Syndrome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Atalissa, IA
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Atalissa, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits

    Shift Managers are guaranteed at least 35 hours a week

     You get to meet all kinds of people from around the world

    Corporate is working to better engage employee needs

    Cons

    Toxic work environment

    High Turnover

    Poor Training and Communication

    Spontaneous Work hour schedule 1-2 weeks in advance

    Little understanding of Herzberg's theory of Motivation or Organizational Development on the Store level

    Mislabeled job titles

    Advice to Management

    Need to really work hard on improving the work environment and understanding employee needs, as well as their life outside of work!

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. Please email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com if you'd like to discuss your concerns further. We are here to listen.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Cashier in Joliet, IL
    Current Employee - Retail Cashier in Joliet, IL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - weekly pay
    - getting leave when I'm at school
    - it was down the street from my house
    - 50% discount

    Cons

    - unprofessional management
    - people always calling off and you have to work 10 hour shifts everyday.
    - Manager don't know how to schedule their workers.

    Advice to Management

    Please hire better managers.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jun 13, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for the honest feedback. If you've experienced any management issues within our company, we are here to listen. Please feel free to email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com with... More


  10. "FSL2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Yolanda Ferrill (Former FSL2)Store 388 in Meridian, MS
    Former Employee - Yolanda Ferrill (Former FSL2)Store 388 in Meridian, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    It's a great company to work for,I highly recommend anyone to work for Pilot,I had a wonderful 8 years.

    Cons

    When someone comes in the store with a negative attitude.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the work

    Pilot Flying J Response

    May 10, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. At Pilot Flying J, we continually strive to better the team member experience.


Showing 667 of 673 reviews
Reset Filters