Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated September 21, 2017
689 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
303 Ratings

689 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced, decent pay, flexible schedules (in 55 reviews)

  • Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • False promises made by upper management (in 39 reviews)

  • unfortunatley lead driver wasn't willing to provide schedule with work life balance after almost two years of quality employment that I provided (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - General Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Over 500 locations, so lots of growth potential. Technology is top notch and always growing. Health benefits, 401K match, and good paid vacation.

    Cons

    Rough home/work life balance. It's possible but work hard to get staffed. They could pay team members more but they are working on it.

    Advice to Management

    Recruiting needs work.


  2. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Guest Service Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent company growth!!! Very stable company.

    Cons

    False promises made by upper management. Lot of backstabbing due ro employee personalities.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with the promises you make to management employees.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We are happy to hear about your experience and appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J!

  3. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Compensated pretty good for area

    Cons

    Some days are stressful at times


  4. "Pilot 404"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murfreesboro, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I love pilot! I love my pilot anyway lol upper management is key to any great work environment but so is team work and we have both. We take care of our drivers and make sure they feel like their getting everything they came in for and then some . Its clean, safe & overall no complaints.

    Cons

    The store needs a little bit of a makeover . Just a touch up on paint really. Drivers always complain our parking lot is to small or there is no reserved parking so our lot gets jammed with drivers parking at the pumps.

    Advice to Management

    Guide & train employees daily & communicate tasks so they are completed as efficiently as possible .

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    We are happy to hear you have had such a positive experience working at Pilot Flying J. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, and thanks for all you do!


  5. "The worst . I only lasted 3 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable in Knoxville, TN
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Team environment is ok. Benefits are ok? Try to build a good team environment . Upper management seems to get along

    Cons

    Drama, pay , moved me from my dept that I'm experienced in and put me on a team that I had zero experience in. I wasn't even asked I was just told they needed someone there and moved me. I put my notice in immediately

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your experience further.


  6. "Food service manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Manager in Haughton, LA
    Current Employee - Food Service Manager in Haughton, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work for

    Cons

    No youngest should work here until the age of 18

    Advice to Management

    Most of my managers are great people to work with

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear you have had a great experience and we appreciate all you do!


  7. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Free parking in the lot

    Cons

    Cheap - should be a leader in salaries

    Advice to Management

    Value employees more instead of over working them

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your honest feedback. Please contact us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com with more details concerning your experience.

  8. "TCGM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Good salary
    Changing culture to team focus

    Cons

    No growth
    Worker not a manager

    Advice to Management

    Develop growth plan and post opportunities. It should not still be good ol boys club with talent left frustarated waiting for an opportunity.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your concerns further. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  9. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time

    Pros

    The guest environment is wonderful if you treat people kindly and fairly.

    Cons

    Management is horrible and flaky.

    Advice to Management

    Do drug testing! The turnover rate is terrible because "kids" whose only goal is their next high seem to flock there.

    And actually listen to the input of your employees. We CAN make our store a better place with ideas.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your concerns further. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  10. "Food Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits at management level

    Cons

    Work/life balance. Upward movement within organization was limited as they began to look outside the company for higher level positions

    Advice to Management

    Value the employees that stick with you instead of bringing in outside employees that are not as knowledgeable about the organization

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your concerns further.


Showing 689 of 694 reviews
Reset Filters