Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated October 10, 2018
846 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
378 Ratings

846 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "It is a fast paced enviorment with lots of customer comunications" (in 62 reviews)

  • "Good pay and benefits at management level" (in 36 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Fuel transport driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fuel Transport Driver in Jackson, TN
    Current Employee - Fuel Transport Driver in Jackson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. All around good company.

    Cons

    Nothing really. Just your everyday trucking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jul 20, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We're happy to hear you've had such a great experience and we appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J!


  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSL II in Kingman, AZ
    Current Employee - GSL II in Kingman, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Pay Benefits hours team players

    Cons

    None, there are no issues here

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 16, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and all you do for Pilot Flying J!

  3. "Great Place, Bad People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subway Sandwich Artist in Tolleson, AZ
    Former Employee - Subway Sandwich Artist in Tolleson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great hours, good pay, nice part-time job

    Cons

    It's a truck stop, so it's a prime place for drug deals, bad people, and crazy things that go on.

    Advice to Management

    Work more to keep the place looking good and watch out for the diverse, bad group of people that come in and out.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 16, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please contact us a PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your comments further.


  4. "It's fun but also stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emporia, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emporia, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good General Manager
    A lot of traffic so you don't have to worry about it going out of business

    Cons

    High turnover
    A lot of equipment breaks and takes too long to fix it
    Angry customers

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 16, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you sharing our honest feedback with us and all you do for Pilot Flying J. If you'd like to to discuss your comments further, please contact us at: PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.


  5. "Travel Center General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits and weekend off.

    Cons

    Super high employee turnover, ridiculous deadlines, no corporate attendance policy, not enough training labor, and not much communication from corporate down to store level. Many store visits.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback with us and all you do for Pilot Flying J. Please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your comments further.


  6. "A/R"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Nice events for employees and families. Nice facilities at headquarters. Overall Pilot is a very nice place to work long-term - if they’ll keep you around

    Cons

    Pay and benefits are disappointing. Everyone that I work with has college degrees, yet we are paid a very low hourly wage considering we are adults working a “real” job

    Advice to Management

    There’s enough money to go around. Pay employees as adults, instead of slightly more than college students working a summer gig

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. If you'd like to discuss your comments further, please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com .


  7. "PFJ Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Leader in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very family focused. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    24/7 operation. Sometimes schedules are difficult to manage.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your teams. They will always do more than you expect when they feel appreciated.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us and for all you do for Pilot Flying J!

  8. "PFJ Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Exposure to wide variety of things

    Cons

    Pay
    Lack of growth opportunities

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share you honest feedback with us and for all you do for Pilot Flying J! If you'd like to discuss your comments further, please email us at... More


  9. "It's a Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GSM in Millersport, WV
    Former Employee - GSM in Millersport, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, decent time off, close to home, if you can negotiate the pay is good..

    Cons

    Everything else, lack of training long hours no rewards poor management by all parties, are not kind to decent employees, they say they are about employees but their actions do not show, they only care about that dollar, the facilities are all failing, multiple locations are basically falling in on themselves but hey let's build another one!

    Advice to Management

    Store management is fine, its upper management that needs restructuring, if your employees are unhappy then stores fail, they are all in panic about the acquisition by Berkshire Hathaway, honestly it wont be the the same PFJ in 10 years

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. Please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your comments further.


  10. "Job gives me a headache every day. Very Stressful!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Channelview, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Channelview, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Paid breaks, weekly pay, benefits, location.

    Cons

    Unprofessional messy drama Queens in management.

    Advice to Management

    Be more professional! Stop showing favoritism! Being messy talking behind other employees backs where new employees and customers can hear you is very unprofessional! Some people just aren't management material.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you sharing your honest feedback with us and for all you do for Pilot Flying J. If you'd like to discuss your comments further, please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com .


Showing 846 of 854 reviews
Reset Filters