Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated February 21, 2018
748 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
332 Ratings

748 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced,good pay,opportunities for advancement (in 57 reviews)

  • Excellent benefits and great people interested in your growth (in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • False promises made by upper management (in 42 reviews)

  • There is not a lot of work life balance (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (16)

    "PFJ is a phenomenal company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Great pay!
    Lots of room for advancement!
    Work life balance!
    Always striving to take better care of their people!!
    Family atmosphere!
    Fun, fast paced, exciting!!

    Cons

    The only downside for me is that I love my job/store so much...I never want to leave!! Lol!

    Advice to Management

    Please keep doing what you're doing it really shows us you care and value us as your employees.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to hear you have had such a positive experience and we appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  2. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Everything in Pasadena, TX
    Current Employee - Everything in Pasadena, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The kind of health care they provide is affordable and the pay is good. It is a fun job, but you also have to keep on your toes. There is opportunities in this company that you can advance into. Just stay focused and do what you're suppose to do.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    No advice for management is needed. They have a good understanding of how to properly train their crew and how to keep a established facility.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 21, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and all you do for Pilot Flying J.

  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Nice place to work at

    Cons

    Very fast work pace no time to rest

    Advice to Management

    Nice place to work for

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback with us!


  4. "I’ve been with the company many years... it’s a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSM in Haughton, LA
    Current Employee - GSM in Haughton, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I can’t speak for anyone else but Pilot has been there for me through deaths in family. Tim at store 199 has helped me to grow in company. I can’t forget Todd at 739 and Mike at 432 they helped to mold the skills I had to get my promotion as GSM at 199.

    Cons

    Don’t really have anything here. The only thing I have is training at times could be better. The company has good training programs just sometimes for those of us who learn hands on it just isn’t long enough..... lol

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your managers. That’s about it. Tim I have to say really listens I have great respect for him and David M. They listen and coach.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  5. "Gsl2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSL2 in Fort Wayne, IN
    Current Employee - GSL2 in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome place to work!!job Advancements!

    Cons

    Hour choices and the benefits

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  6. "wondering what they pay now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    meet a lot of interesting people

    Cons

    putting up with the bs the comes with the job


  7. "good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J part-time

    Pros

    nice pay, plenty of work to do

    Cons

    sometimes the hours can be long

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you'd like to discuss any of your comments further please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.

  8. "Stressful environment, fun at times, GM and DM make it good or bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Hagerstown, MD
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Hagerstown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of customer interaction, busy, leaders get monthly bonuses ( average 100-200) health insurance $$$, 24 hrs , some locations have a kitchen/deli so they hire food service too.

    Cons

    Lots of customer interaction, constant turn over, lots of policies and program to participate in and promote, not enough coverage or payroll

    Advice to Management

    Can advance from team member to leader but most GMs are hired in not promoted

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 21, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us and thanks for all you do for Pilot Flying J.


  9. "Okay College Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Ogden, UT
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good people, decent facilities, flexible, positions available to advance in company if desired, bonuses were consistent, and 401k match was inline.

    Cons

    Antiquated computer equipment, uninspiring insurance benefits, top-down communication was extremely lackluster, very laborious interview and background check process (over the top for the job) and integrity of the company has been called into questioned recently.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 21, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you'd like to discuss any of your comments further please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.


  10. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Richfield, UT
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Richfield, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people great with schedules and working around scheduling conflicts

    Cons

    If you can handle cleaning toilets and making sure things look great with absolutely no feeling of fulfillment finished you

    Advice to Management

    Keep on fueling life lol

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you'd like to discuss any of your comments further please contact us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.


Showing 748 of 754 reviews
Reset Filters