Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated February 19, 2017
605 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
247 Ratings

605 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Fast paced, decent pay, flexible schedules (in 49 reviews)

  • Solid company with truly great people that aim to help you get the job done with a smile on your face (in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management takes longer to act on their final decisions (in 34 reviews)

  • unfortunatley lead driver wasn't willing to provide schedule with work life balance after almost two years of quality employment that I provided (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Gross job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Tucson, AZ
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Full time hours plus a bonus

    Cons

    Truckers sexually harass you every day, plus, even as a manager you still have to clean the bathrooms multiple times a day, and because it's a truck stop, and people stop there to only use the bathroom, it's really gross!!! Had to clean feces up off toilets several times a day despite being a manager. Not worth the money!!!

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. To discuss your concerns in more detail, please email us directly at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.


  2. "A/R"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Great company, they treat their employees good

    Cons

    Having to wait one year for advancement opportunities

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    Pilot Flying J is committed to making the lives of drivers better. We understand the hardships of the road and we value our hardworking team members being there for our guests on their journey. If ... More


  3. "Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Tucson, AZ
    Former Employee - Cashier in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I loved being able to talk to the customers.

    Cons

    Lack of training lack
    communication.

    Advice to Management

    Train more efficiency.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Feb 16, 2017 – Community and Public Relations Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Pilot Flying J, we believe in approaching each day according to our mission: Connecting people and places with comfort, care and a smile at every ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Fair place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Manager in Miller, MO
    Current Employee - Restaurant Manager in Miller, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Clean restrooms fair variety of items open 24 hours

    Cons

    Slow and rude employee towards female customer

    Advice to Management

    Hire new workers that are not afraid to work

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. Please email us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com if you'd like to discuss your concerns further.


  6. "Lead maintenance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Lead in Hammond, LA
    Current Employee - Maintenance Lead in Hammond, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pilot/flying j has great benefits,OK hours,pay,. All the team members are nice and helpful.You meet people from all over the world.

    Cons

    Pilot/flying j is always busy.Some customer are rude for no reason a all. Then the professional drivers act like children.And some are nasty.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Pilot Flying J is committed to making the lives of drivers better. We understand the hardships of the road and we value our hardworking team members being there for our guests on their journey. If ... More


  7. "Treat employees like they don't matter."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subway Sandwich Artist in Alexandria, MN
    Former Employee - Subway Sandwich Artist in Alexandria, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pilot Flying J part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, good hours if they follow your availability.

    Cons

    1. I had to go to the hospital due to something falling on me at work while I was pregnant. I am still getting calls from the hospital because every time they contact pilot or send mail, it bounces back to them.
    2. My manager, despite me having a 5 pounds weight restriction from that incident, had me opening on truck days. There is no way to open without moving truck orders.
    3. The only time I ever tried to call in sick, I had food poisoning and should not have legally worked. The manager didn't answer her phone, didn't get back to me until after my shift was over.
    4. I have not received a W2. I left multiple messages with no response. I tried through the store I worked at and the manager told me it wasn't her problem.
    5. I was hired as part time, but worked more than 35 hours every week, sometimes going over 40.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your store managers are doing their jobs. Make sure they are following laws and actually care about their employees.


  8. "Great place to be"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TCGM in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - TCGM in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The benefits are amazing. The company is willing to invest in you.

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities. Women do not make as much as men.

    Advice to Management

    Pilot takes the hard work out of it, all you have to do is follow policy and encourage your team.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    At Pilot Flying J, we understand you want to work with service-minded people who are committed to better experiences — every guest, every chance, every day. We appreciate you taking the time to share ... More


  9. "A great growing company that is changing it's culture. Really moving towards caring more about the employees."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Solid growing company that takes care of the employees, and getting better with management focusing on developing people to grow from within.

    Cons

    Twenty four hour business, so it can sometimes be difficult to balance work and personal life. The good thing about this is that you know it is 24 hrs going in.

    Advice to Management

    Continue working and focusing on your people as you have been over the last coup,e of years.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    At Pilot Flying J, we understand you want to work with service-minded people who are committed to better experiences — every guest, every chance, every day. We understand the hardships of the road ... More


  10. "Transportation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good pay for what you do

    Cons

    Logistics Dept is young and needs help, they need to look at a map


  11. "Deli shift lead"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Shift Leader in Jennings, FL
    Current Employee - Deli Shift Leader in Jennings, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Never a dull moment working with public. Always things to be done so never just standing around. I work with a great team that is willing to help in other areas if needed. Pilot has a very good outline on what task needs to be completed and has worked very hard to provide step by step instructions on cards on how to prepare food in deli which works great for training but is also helpful when someone from different location in store is needed to help in kitchen.

    Cons

    As with many stores there is a good amount of employee turnovers. Also, any job dealing with public always has its share of rude customers but even those customers keep us in business. Management also goes through their share of turnovers too. Some of the managers start off as managers instead of working up, and it seems like they might get stores that are to busy and needy for first time managers- like the ones they hire without any previous experience cause of education then when it comes down to doing the actual job they begin to get overwhelmed and have to be trained by employees under them

    Advice to Management

    I think that there are employees that are working at locations that would make great managers that have been overlooked and then end up training their new managers. Move up within company would be great. Seems like most of the managers will tell you what you want to hear because they are scared to upset anyone. Managers could work when needed more, if someone calls in and u call manager they shouldn't tell you that you have to figure it out or stay, but then no overtime so kinda like you stay and work a double but no appreciation is ever showed... Usually not even a thank you. And that's just if the manager answers when u call

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback here. We strive to place managerial candidates in roles that best compliment their skills and their teams. We’re always looking for ways to ensure ... More



Showing 605 of 609 reviews
Reset Filters