Pilot Flying J Reviews | Glassdoor

Pilot Flying J Reviews

Updated August 14, 2018
822 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pilot Flying J CEO Jimmy Haslam
Jimmy Haslam
367 Ratings

822 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "It is a fast paced enviorment with lots of customer comunications" (in 60 reviews)

  • "meet a lot of interesting people" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is not a lot of work life balance" (in 21 reviews)

  • "upper management in the United States" (in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Fuel transport driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fuel Transport Driver in Jackson, TN
    Current Employee - Fuel Transport Driver in Jackson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. All around good company.

    Cons

    Nothing really. Just your everyday trucking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Jul 20, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We're happy to hear you've had such a great experience and we appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J!


  2. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, decent pay

    Cons

    need to hire more maintenance workers during peak months

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and for all you do for Pilot Flying J!

  3. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Davenport, IA
    Former Employee - General Manager in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The ability to grow and develop not only your career but others as well. They are very innovative which creates a lot of opportunities for both career and personal growth.

    Cons

    Long hours..inconsistency as far as management goes..not anymore than expected but still a Con nonetheless. Locations of certain locations make staffing somewhat tough.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Work Environment and Easy To Learn and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ocala, FL
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ocala, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly Management

    Pay Increase Every Year

    Cons

    Your hours aren't really guaranteed

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 12, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your positive feedback with us!


  5. "Good for the most part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits

    Cons

    Managers with favorites open 24/7 365 days


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Broken promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay some fun times

    Cons

    No confidentiality. Don't value good employees. No repercussions for call outs,no call no shows or tardiness.It is employees job to hold other employees responsible for their lack of work and their attendance.

    Advice to Management

    Make employees responsible for letting their team down when not showing up for work.Do what you say you are going do.Treat the loyal hard working employees right

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and value all you do for Pilot Flying J. Please contact us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com to discuss your comments further.


  7. "Cashier/Weigh master"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Weigh Master in Carneys Point, NJ
    Current Employee - Cashier/Weigh Master in Carneys Point, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The best reason to work for Flying J is making the day of the people responsible for the exportation of America's Goods. It's more important than people realize and these men drive under extreme circumstances so a friendly smile and helpful service goes a long way and means a Lot to them.

    Cons

    The downsides are dealing with negative personalities. It can be exhausting.

    Advice to Management

    Faster equipment, i.e. pumps and registers. GM'S should pay closer attention to employees and their work ethics and offer better incentives for better performance.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! We appreciate all you do for Pilot Flying J.

  8. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Great place to work for

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you sharing your positive feedback with us!


  9. "Hard work, little regard for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Former Employee - General Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pilot Flying J full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay
    Nice annual trip for General Managers

    Cons

    I can't speak for them all, but the supervisors I had gave little concern to my store needs.
    MONEY first, not employees

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees and they'll take care of their customers and you.

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 10, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    We appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please contact us at PFJHR@pilottravelcenters.com.


  10. "Decent place if this is the type of work you enjoy doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Cashier
    Current Employee - Cashier
    Recommends

    I have been working at Pilot Flying J part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay is good for cashier position, not your typical minimum wage job. You have opportunities in advancement, and get a raise every six months where I was employed.

    Cons

    Your coworkers don't feel like family. Managers show favoritism in regards to scheduling and such.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention

    Pilot Flying J Response

    Aug 10, 2018 – Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and all you do for Pilot Flying J!


Showing 822 of 830 reviews
Reset Filters