KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Progressive Insurance

Engaged Employer

Progressive Insurance

Add a Review

Progressive Insurance Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,702 of over 3,810 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They really care about their employees and the work environment they create(in 227 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, including working from home(in 222 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "sometimes poor work life balance(in 206 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is poor due to heavy work load(in 106 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Progressive Insurance and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great company and amazing culture

      May 22, 2021 - Senior Claims Adjuster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, work from home, gainshare bonus, internal promotions, amazing company culture -lots of potential for growth if you're patient

      Cons

      can be tough if you are not good at time management, also need to be patient with customers, - this job is not for everyone but it is very rewarding if you are able to handle the workload

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture and positive coworkers

      Jul 23, 2021 - Claims Adjuster in Allentown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer a yearly bonus as well as full benefits package and ample compensation.

      Cons

      Not really any cons I can think of =)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Caring leadership and great work environment!

      May 28, 2021 - Customer Service Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance. Gainshare (a.k.a. profit sharing). Work from home. Great pay and benefits. 17 days of PTO in first year. 8 paid holidays. Metrics matter but you never feel as if your job is in jeopardy. Coaching and professional development time is always available. Tons of ways to earn or win extra bonuses and prizes.

      Cons

      Very high stress dealing with customers all day long on back to back calls. A typical day of call volume you'll handle between 50-70 calls of all different natures with only 5 seconds in between calls. You don't sell home insurance but you are required to offer it to customers when the system indicates they are eligible candidates and you have to talk them into being transferred to a home insurance sales person to get a quote. Home insurance transfer metric is the most coached and talked about metric. You will also deal with a high amount of customers who are angry or upset because of their rates and take it out on you. Customers also think they know every facet of insurance and all the laws and they all believe they should have a lower rate, so you will be talking them down off the ledge or off their pedestal a lot. You also have to bid for your shift every year in March, so you're not guaranteed the same shift continuously.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Depends

      Jul 8, 2021 - Claims in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very Inclusive. Coaching is frequent and ongoing. Plenty of room for growth within the company. The gainshare was wonderful, and the health benefits are nice as well.

      Cons

      They say they care about customers and customer service, but they really do not. You will be stuck in your current position unless you conform to their behavior standards. Meaning, if the position is not right for you and you do not achieve their goals you will get fired. They seem nice at first, but they expect perfection. Even if you are getting awards and recognitions, they will still rate you as an average employee. They value group think rather care about the individual. You can achieve every goal but one, and if you cannot achieve that one goal you will be terminated. Be warned that this organization holds employees responsible for literally ever second on the phone. They listen, and will expect you to "turn & burn" calls no matter what is happening with the customer or what that customer needs. You are expected to do the bare minimum and push everything else off onto another department.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Almost A Great Company

      Jul 18, 2021 - CRM Consultant in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most Progressive Policies, Work-From-Home Opportunity, Profit-Sharing, Discounts, Job Progression, 401k and Stock Option

      Cons

      Health Coverage, Pay Too Low for Workload, Work Life Balance, Work Disruption Policy (i.e. Weather Related Disruptions & Technology Failures) for WFH Employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great position, wonderful company

      Jun 25, 2021 - Claim Adjuster in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started with Progressive at the beginning of the pandemic, and I really enjoyed the position. Management, for the most part, was wonderful. I came out of the closet during the pandemic as being a trans woman, and Progressive fully supported me. Their name is reflective of the ideals of the company. If you are looking for a wonderfully, forward-thinking company, this is the right place for you. Be prepared to work hard, though.

      Cons

      learning the job virtually from home during the pandemic was a struggle, but hey, gotta do that Covid Pivot, right? No real cons, maybe the training after you get out of training could be a bit better, but I think that was more the fault of an inexperienced supervisor.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ehhhh

      Jul 5, 2021 - Inside Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gainshare, Training (some parts), Culture Diversity, Friendliness of coworkers and trainers, benefits, and work/life balance The CEO is also AMAZING!

      Cons

      First off, let me start off by saying Progressive is a Good company. Training was a bit mediocre but great trainers. Nesting supervisor was NICE but lacked encouragement of growth. I was suppose to have a one on one every week, I would be lucky to get one one time a month. Upon being hired there were things disclosed DURING training was not told to some, such as shift bids. Shift bids are based on tenure and metrics. How well you do in this role is based on the support of your Nesting Supervisor. The sales philosophy is the WORSE! This was the biggest con for me. I felt like a robot. I wasn’t able to be my authentic self. Also pushing HO/ renters. I know selling takes a bit of push but not being able to be myself and being forced to push a product on a customer felt WRONG. I had no problem offering and educating bit I had a MAJOR ISSUE with PHA being a part of metrics.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company

      Jul 23, 2021 - Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits Work/life balance (depends on what department you work)

      Cons

      Too many different leadership styles, Which creates inconsistency. Numbers driven for both claims and up selling products

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      Jun 7, 2021 - Sales in Riverview, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Progressive was a great place to work. I heard it was very hard to get into but I was hard right away. There was a training class to get licensed for insurance and that was my golden ticket when I left. I felt like they really card about employees. The benefits were amazing from healthy cafeteria, a gym, bonuses , incentives, and tons of rallies & such.

      Cons

      They do monitor and record every call, the calls are then color coded according to different things. You would get “dinged” for having a moment of silence or pause, for not “asking for the sale” or sounding angry (even if you weren’t ). I did have sales quotas and during my employment I was going through a messy divorce which my ex was trying to take custody of our 3 children and he lived in another state- my brain was so fogged I couldn’t think. Because I wasn’t “happy” enough, my supervisor and I had many talks. I finally left and worked in an office at State Farm for better pay , hours, plus commissions. But I owe it to progressive. I would go back in a heartbeat.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Beware Management Cliques!

      Jul 15, 2021 - Claims Adjuster in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s easy to trauma bond with co-workers here bc there’s a general respect between lateral roles and an “in this together” mindset

      Cons

      The job alone is stressful due to the workload and nature of insurance claims. That would be all well and good, maybe even a fun challenge, but working in an environment where rampant nepotism is covered up (poorly) by toxic positivity is another thing. At this point, it seems like no one’s even trying to hide it. If you’re not peppy and well-connected, moving up isn’t an option for you. This practice, on top of an already stressful environment is maddening. Management is more concerned with posturing than actually working hard and making sure customers are dealt with fairly. Lastly, new employees are regularly hired making the same if not significantly more than tenured, successful representatives in the same position. Progressive doesn’t appreciate hard working, loyal people who have given years of their lives to the company. They value people who thrive on existing office politics or are easy to control.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,702 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Progressive Insurance Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Progressive Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    or