Sport Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Sport Clips Reviews

Updated January 21, 2019
958 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sport Clips CEO and Director Gordon B. Logan
Gordon B. Logan
592 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great pay and awesome leadership" (in 65 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance, great tips, continuing education" (in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • "have to be able to work nights and weekends" (in 17 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about my company" (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Sport Clips is a great choice for a long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coach in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Coach in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people you meet at Sport Clips become your second family. They are a company grounded in doing what is right and treating people the way they want to be treated.

    Cons

    None. I wouldn't want to advance my career any where else.

    Advice to Management

    You're awesome.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 10, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for the review and for your dedication to Sport Clips!


  2. "Worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy
    Good Money
    Fast-Paced Work Environment
    Growth Potential
    Awesome Staff

    Cons

    Store was struggling with employment but seems to be improving

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your staff, always! Sure, customers pay you, but those you pay are who keeps the business going asked if you focus too much on the customer, your employees need to be valued and will leave.

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 17, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    What great advice to management! We love that! Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate your positive energy and commitment to the Sport Clips team.

  3. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time

    Pros

    They treat employees and managers well and really care about you!

    Cons

    Always need more staff to accomadate client flow

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 15, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We love to hear that you feel valued as this is one of our number one of core values here at Sport Clips. Thank you for your feedback and commitment to the team!


  4. "Asst. Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Carlsbad, CA
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Professional work environment and great pay

    Cons

    The commute to work is the only con

    Advice to Management

    Continue building

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 15, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and dedication to the Sport Clips team! Wishing you the best in 2019.


  5. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Waco, TX
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Waco, TX

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Everyone treated each other like family. The owners are very caring.

    Cons

    Could pay a little bit better for receptionists.

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 11, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your dedication to the team and hope that you keep us in mind in the future!


  6. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Stylist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Current Employee - Stylist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have worked for two different sportclips companies in two different states in Michigan I helped Aid in the opening of four stores and got to be a store manager before leaving the company once I was located in Virginia Beach I started at another sportclips at a stylist level and have enjoyed it very much!

    Cons

    Sport Clips can be a little demanding. With that being said I like the work environment I like the challenge I like the competitive atmosphere!

    Advice to Management

    Always be willing to learn the best way to complete this position in the experience that I've had is that no matter how much you know there's always something more.

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 11, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We love your positive attitude & appreciate your dedication to the Sport Clips family! Thank you for giving us this great feedback, wishing you the absolute best in 2019!


  7. "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Family atmosphere with great franchise owners and an amazing concept.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 9, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and dedication to the Sport Clips family. We are wishing you the absolute best in 2019!

  8. "Bad Managemeny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Nampa, ID
    Former Employee - Stylist in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips (More than a year)

    Pros

    -good paycheck( got to work you butt off)
    -great for making new clients

    Cons

    -Management not professional
    -you're no good unless you're making them money
    Working at the South Nampa location was horrible. Everyone hated days when the manager was working, it was seriously like tiptoeing around eggshells when she was there. One day she would be happy the next day she was so hatefull. She picked favorites and made cliques with certain stylist. She made it obvious who she didnt like, she would devalue your hard work and make you feel like you were incapable of giving a good haircut. Stylist are too afraid of standing up for themselves of fear of getting on her bad side. She doesnt know how to deal with confrontation so instead of being a professional and handling it she would either glare you down or completely ignore you.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of only showing us bad surveys shows us the good ones. We were only being told what we were doing wrong. This company is losing stylist right and left because you guys are bullies! Advice lose your attitudes and start treating stylist better. Leave your home life problems at the door. Sportclips wouldnt have such a high turnover rate if stylist werent being mistreated and made to feel un-appreciated.


  9. "WalMart salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Stylist in Carrollton, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Stylist in Carrollton, TX
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    More professional than other chains.

    Cons

    Paid like a Walmart worker but the level responsibility (open/close facility, responsible for money, no extra staff to allow for missed shifts or LUNCHES) does not correlate. Feel that owner takes advantage of female staff.

    Advice to Management

    Offer raises. Duh. Want a staff that is proud to work here? Pay them. It’s obvious we are replaceable and my shop is reminded regularly. Morale suffers greatly, along with motivation at $10 per hour.


  10. "Thank you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Georgetown, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Georgetown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time

    Pros

    Inspirational leadership that enables you to do your best every day!

    I’ve seen both ends of the spectrum at various points in my career. Don’t choose a company, choose a boss.

    Culture is critical. I didn’t appreciate great culture in the past, realized how easy it is to destroy and see how hard it is to build. The ratings and reviews are a reflection of the investment in culture.

    Cons

    All companies have cons. The pros outweigh the cons by such a large margin that I am greatful for each day.

    Sport Clips Response

    Jan 7, 2019 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank YOU! Our stylists and Culture are the back bone to our operation here and we appreciate you highlighting that. Thank you for your commitment to the Sport Clips team, wishing you the absolute... More