Sport Clips Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Sport Clips CEO and Director Gordon B. Logan
Gordon B. Logan
795 Ratings
Pros
  • "I would recommend any new or experienced stylist to find a Sport Clips they can work in(in 106 reviews)

  • "Fast pace environment great company great pay ability to move up(in 89 reviews)

Cons
  • "Turn around with stylist that stay longer than 1 year do to competitive salons(in 127 reviews)

  • "Hard on your your back and shoulders sometimes cuz you’re doing so many haircuts(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "I love my job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Elizabethtown, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time

    Pros

    Well for one yaw pay waaaaaaayyyyyyy better than any salon I have worked at and believe me i have worked at alot. I make great commission as well which is far better than other salons. I also get insurance, this is the first salon I have worked at that offered me insurance! The people I work with are great and fun to be around and the work schedule is awesome. I finally feel like I dont have to work myself into the ground for good money, I finally feel like I can make what I am worth!

    Cons

    I dont have any so....

    Sport Clips2019-08-02

    Sport Clips Response

    August 2, 2019Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for sharing! So important to love what you do and where you work! Not all locations offer benefits, so I am happy to hear that your store owners provide benefits and a strong compensation plan!

  2. "Great opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Stuart, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time

    Pros

    I like a clean and structured environment with a high standard in service. Sport clips stays up to date not only with technology, providing easier service for our clients, but also training and education to improve individual employees. With this company there is plenty of room for growth, so maybe one day you can reach a dream you’ve been reaching for.

    Cons

    I Haven’t found any yet

    Sport Clips2020-06-02
  3. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good hours, great environment

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Sport Clips2020-05-07

    Sport Clips Response

    May 22, 2020Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We love to have you as part of our team! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! :) #SportClipsStrong

  4. "Need New Leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some Great People to work with Owners, Operators, Coaches

    Cons

    President of the company is dysfunctional and has destroyed the Culture of the Company with Franchisees and employees. The Current executive Team is more about money than people in a people business. The last 2 years have been terrible and It looks like it will continue into the future.

    Continue reading
    Sport Clips2020-05-20

    Sport Clips Response

    May 22, 2020Talent and Engagement Specialist

    I am sorry to hear about you experience. Feel free reach out at contact.us@sportclips.com I would like to hear more! #SportClipstrong

  5. "Love my job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Commission, benefits, staff, boss is awesome

    Cons

    Store is fairly new so its not too busy.

    Sport Clips2020-04-11

    Sport Clips Response

    April 14, 2020Talent and Engagement Specialist

    This is great to know! I am glad you are happy to work for SportClips just as we are to have you as part of the team. Thank you for your awesome feedback! #SportClipsStrong

  6. "Awesome company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in McDonough, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved my co workers and managers. Pay was great and so were the customers

    Cons

    Slow times, not much advancement available

    Continue reading
    Sport Clips2020-04-10

    Sport Clips Response

    April 14, 2020Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your input! These stores are independently owned and benefits vary by location. I will be sure to relay the information to the appropriate party. Your feedback is very valuable to us! #SportClipsStrong

  7. "Fun environment but need BARBER SKILL SET"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, great hourly pay, nice co workers, unique environment for boys and men to watch sports while getting service .

    Cons

    No training and I’m a licensed hair stylist that can cut any type of style but working on just men and boys requires you to know how to use clippers( beard and mustache cuts) and scissors to produce fades and you aren’t taught that in school, in school only taught basic men’s cut. On feet without any ergonomic pad underneath , main issue is no training AT ALL.

    Continue reading
    Sport Clips2020-04-12

    Sport Clips Response

    April 20, 2020Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for sharing! I'm sorry about your experience. We have coaches in every market an provide training for our team members. However, these stores are independently owned. I would like to learn more! Feel free to email contact.us@sportclips.com. Best wishes! #SportClipsStrong

  8. "Love the company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips

    Pros

    Fun and fast paced family environment

    Cons

    It is a great place to work wish there was more area to grow with pay

    Sport Clips2020-03-30

    Sport Clips Response

    March 31, 2020Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review at time with Sport Clips! Have you discussed your desire to grow with your franchisee or area coach? Opportunities vary by market, but there should be opportunities for growth if you want them. Let's power through this season! #StaySportClipsStrong

  9. "Good tips $5 per client"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clients tipped avereage of $5 each. Steady work with lots of clients

    Cons

    Catty and easy to get written up for dumb stuff (doing hair on floor, checking texts when slow, etc)

    Continue reading
    Sport Clips2020-03-16

    Sport Clips Response

    March 20, 2020Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and commitment to Sport Clips!

  10. "Easy and fun. I was a stylist and manager from 2013-2019"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always clients to service, you can pretty much make your own income depending how efficient you are. Plenty of growth within the company. You don't have to spend a ton on trendy work clothes. Uniforms are super comfy. TENNIS SHOES, come on.... Some shirts are better than others, not all stores wear the same thing. You can work full time or you can work part time and make the same if you aren't lazy and follow the 5 point play.

    Cons

    RETAIL HOURS!!! ugh. But it is what it is, that's any salon :)

    Continue reading
    Sport Clips2020-03-16

    Sport Clips Response

    March 20, 2020Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience! You've made some valid points and I appreciate your transparency. Best wishes!

Found 1262 reviews