Universal Protection Service Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
38%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Universal Protection Service CEO Steve Jones (no image)
Steve Jones
245 Ratings
Pros
  • "Uniforms on the day of hire and they even ordered new pants since the ones they had did not fit properly(in 26 reviews)

  • "Decent pay for Admin level staff under the Retail Division(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay; can’t leave until your replacement shows up, and sometimes they never do or are late(in 53 reviews)

  • " pay no (in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Security Professional"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Protection Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have done of the brst wages in San Francisco the management and company is excellent

    Cons

    Never had any issues my operations manager couldn't handle

    Continue reading
    Universal Protection Service2017-03-22
  2. "Favoritism"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patrol in Coto De Caza, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Protection Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    If you do one thing wrong you could get removed from the post Some people the manger favors over others

    Universal Protection Service2020-03-31
  3. "It's not what they promise"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Armed Security Professional in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Universal Protection Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, supply equipment, paid initial training

    Cons

    Poor leadership, account management isn't stable, falling short on promises, won't stand behind employees

    Continue reading
    Universal Protection Service2020-03-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A company that could care less about there workers.."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unarmed Security Officer in Vero Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Protection Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You were glad when it was time to go home. There were no Pros..

    Cons

    They don't care about you. At the site I worked at you were not Security you ran around passing out towels and trying to fix things and putting the pool in order and passing out newspapers.. Yes sometimes 104 newspapers to pass out in the am... This was not a Security job... We lost the site because of another worker. They never even got in contact with me for another site. The so called office monkey came by and said this is your last night here. What???? Some flunky that I never saw before.. The former guy quit. A real good guy.. But they worked him to death. The former company ABM was a much better to work for.. Universal promised us a weeks pay after a year of work when they took over.. Never saw a penny.. A bunch of lies. My advice to everybody is to not work for this company.. Run the other way.. I am 66 now and work for a small outfit run by retired cops in my town.. Thank god they know what the hell they are doing and they care about you the worker..

    Continue reading
    Universal Protection Service2020-03-05
  5. "Very stressful"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Universal Protection Service part-time

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers. Friendly staff at location at other business

    Cons

    Supervisors walking on eggshells and they take it out on employees.

    Universal Protection Service2019-03-08
  6. "It's a job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Protection Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers were a pleasure to work with you. You are able to work for different wake county sites.

    Cons

    Poorly managed, pay needs to be better.

    Universal Protection Service2019-02-17
  7. "Good company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Santa Rosa, CA

    I worked at Universal Protection Service part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management worked with you for life balance

    Cons

    Some jobs were out in the rain

    Universal Protection Service2019-02-02
  8. "Decent Security Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unarmed Security Officer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Universal Protection Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional security environment with access to accounts at prestigious locations. Positive experience with central office personnel.

    Cons

    Not exclusive to this company, but I did experience a tendency for some people to shift blame or liability for their own errors to others.

    Universal Protection Service2019-01-17
  9. "Scamming me out of Sick Pay"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Protection Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Shady security company,was exposed on social media

    Cons

    ViolatesLabor Laws,also likes to be sued for sexual harrassment

    Continue reading
    Universal Protection Service2019-01-18
  10. "Legal Database Administrator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Universal Protection Service full-time

    Pros

    Terrific people. Opportunity to interact with different departments and co-workers throughout the nation. The company mission was shared and repeated, so everyone could work toward the same goal. Some people had the option to work remotely. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Older software for personnel, that was not intuitive to manipulate to retrieve necessary reporting.

    Continue reading
    Universal Protection Service2018-10-16
Found 779 reviews