WellPoint Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
WellPoint Chief Executive Officer  Joseph R. Swedish (no image)
Joseph R. Swedish
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay;flexible schedule; many good people at worker bee level; able to work from home(in 115 reviews)

  • "Excellent support, great benefits, work-life balance is highly respected(in 48 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Membership Representative II"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WellPoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great position. Easy work. Phenomenal benefits.

    Cons

    A lot of rules and regulations. Not really a con just need to know so if you are not a rule follower, this is not the place for you.

    WellPoint2018-06-14
  2. "Horrible workplace / One of the most unprofessional jobs I've ever had"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Examiner in Middletown, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at WellPoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can really think of unless you are white

    Cons

    Racism, nepotism, politics, hostile work environment if you don't belong to the right click

    Continue reading
    WellPoint2020-06-04
  3. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Contract Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WellPoint full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has room for growth, great energy and employees are very nice and welcoming.

    Cons

    Really can't think of any, it was a great company to work for as well as all of their subsidiary companies.

    WellPoint2020-02-28
  4. "Fast Paced"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WellPoint full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very organized, employee recognition. Great benefits.

    Cons

    You have to be married to the company.

    Continue reading
    WellPoint2020-02-27
  5. "Solid 9-5"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Contract Specialist 

    I worked at WellPoint full-time

    Pros

    good work-life balance; good benefits

    Cons

    my particular area was poorly managed by senior team members that were shifted around from one position to another rather than appropriately reprimanded and/or terminated for not being very good at managing others

    WellPoint2019-09-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Better before Merger with Anthem"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WellPoint full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Training room for growth at the beginning.

    Cons

    Burnout city, everybody that was decent left or got laid off. Lots and Lots of layoffs continually.

    Continue reading
    WellPoint2019-07-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Glass ceiling"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WellPoint full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a paycheck Good to see on a resume Great benefits

    Cons

    Minimal one on ones for feedback on performance Lack of transparency in operations Difficult to advance due to favoritism and nepotism Overworked and underpaid Once you prove your worth they keep you in the same position Merit raises are extremely low Bonuses rarely depend on individual performance

    WellPoint2019-04-28
  8. "CLAIMS REPRESENTATIVE"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative 

    I worked at WellPoint full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and great hours

    Cons

    Layoffs because call center jobs go overseas

    WellPoint2018-08-24
  9. "Sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at WellPoint full-time

    Pros

    Money, benefits. Other employees were amazing

    Cons

    Management and HR time spent in office

    WellPoint2018-08-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Empty Promises"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WellPoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work / life balance Plenty of Paid Time Off and / or medical leave available Paid training with OK trainers Amazing medical insurance coverage

    Cons

    HR is located in India Office politics are ravenous- much like 200 cougars alone and hungry in the wild All management cares about are green numbers Rude customer care reps are awarded with gift cards and candy because they help save the company meager amounts of proceeds by literally yelling and/or shutting down member's requests for help with finding alternatives to pay their medical bills etc., whether it's only 1 penny or $1,000,000. Empathetic personality types: DO NOT WORK FOR ANTHEM! (no, seriously. don't do it... no matter what they promised to you...)

    Continue reading
    WellPoint2018-07-24
Found 669 reviews