Humana Reviews | Glassdoor

Humana Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3142 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Humana CEO Bruce  D. Broussard
Bruce D. Broussard
1315 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Good company for those that love to go above and beyond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data and Reporting Professional in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As of 2019, pay and benefits are very competitive. Very supportive leadership in regards to work/life balance. Work at home opportunities for many positions. Lots of team work and cross functional teams. Self improvement and learning is encouraged and supported. Satisfaction with helping others.

    Cons

    (could be good for those that love challenges and problem solving): Highly regulated industry and lots of complexity in Humana's continuously evolving ecosystem. Occasionally, tight deadlines with expectations to producing accurate results.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to offer positions to remote employees outside of your state.

    Humana2019-03-04
  2. "Senior Program Delievery Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time

    Pros

    Team atmosphere. Company cares for their employees.

    Cons

    I do not have a con for Humana.

    Humana2019-04-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Humana full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Helping your community. Schedule your own events Always doing something different.

    Cons

    Fine line between ethical sales and meeting sales goals Upper management favors agents and leaves other to fail

    Advice to Management

    Equal opportunities with agents. Remember your target audience and your duty to conduct ethical sales.

    Humana2019-06-17
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great managers and co- workers

    Cons

    Overload you with work and it's hard to catch up.

    Advice to Management

    Stop giving more and more work. Its impossible to ever catch up.

    Humana2019-06-17
  5. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - SQL Developer 

      I have been working at Humana full-time

      Pros

      Opportunity to move up the ladder.

      Cons

      No negative experience with Humana.

      Humana2019-06-16
    • "1st Work at Home Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - TELEPHONIC RN CASE MANAGER in Louisville, KY

        I worked at Humana full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        You get to work at home and avoid driving, being in traffic, being concerned about what to wear, decreased gas costs, decreased lunch costs, decreased clothes costs/shopping for work items etc.

        Cons

        Sometimes feeling frustrated with so many frequent changes in work flow or switching departments/managers/work group. Sometimes difficult to see that we are unable to offer real help to some clients and feeling helpless...ie a client with one below knee amputation tried to obtain a motorized wheelchair was denied because doctor did not document the need well or even state the leg amputation in the request to have it...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        None, it's not like it really matters what I say. Lol.

        Humana2019-06-12
      • "Humana"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Humana full-time

        Pros

        Good atmosphere with exp People are nice and friendly Supervisors and leads are nice and helpful

        Cons

        Not much growth in the job

        Humana2019-06-12
      • "Engages in culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Humana full-time

        Pros

        Build synergy with all departments

        Cons

        None to share at this time

        Humana2019-06-11
      • "Positive Experience all around"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Humana full-time

          Pros

          Work and Life balance. All around very supportive environment

          Cons

          None. Don't have anything bad to say

          Humana2019-06-06
        • "Good place to work - some hurdles"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Humana full-time

            Pros

            Good PTO and holiday allowance

            Cons

            Very siloed - hard to get leadership consensus

            Humana2019-06-05
          Found 3142 reviews