Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews

Updated August 22, 2017
2,957 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance President & CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
1,266 Ratings

2,957 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • They are concerned about work/life balance (in 303 reviews)

  • It's an overall great company with tons of great benefits (in 247 reviews)

Cons
  • Biggest growth opportunity would be the work life balance associated with positions in the Direct Response Center (in 229 reviews)

  • No work/life balance, in the 18 months I worked there was unable to get a day off (in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (26)

    "Excellent Company With Great Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Irving, TX
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The Management - They actually cared for their employees.
    The Pay - You received performance raises and bumps with positions, but the pay was still lower than average.
    Morale - Great!!!

    Cons

    Upward Mobility - Several positions were lateral moves or there wasn't a lot of opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    With the new center, there should be an opportunity for more positions and employee pay.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty was positive and that you'd recommend us! We appreciate reading your thoughts on compensation. The input is... More


  2. Helpful (10)

    "Sr. Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, lots of focus on work life balance, good co-worker relationships, stimulating work opportunities

    Cons

    Frequency of re-org's is ridiculous and leads to a lot of inefficiency and waste, the "chosen one's" only one's considered for senior most roles who basically play musical chairs with each other, good advancement opportunities not what it used to be

    Advice to Management

    For the love of god, stop doing re-org's so we can focus on our work.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "The good, the bad and the ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Liberty Mutual Ins pays very well and offers a lot of benefits. If you are a high performer, you can advance quickly.

    Cons

    Too many re-organizations with too many layoffs. The only safe place in the company is the front line employees (CSR).

    Advice to Management

    Value your tenured employees, they have the most knowledge and experience.


  4. "Managing Attorney Staff Legal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Attorney in Southfield, MI
    Former Employee - Managing Attorney in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great Leadership and support to do your job.

    Cons

    The Boston Management needed to accept and value the input from managers "on the ground" in local field offices.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize input from the field more consistently

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    It's great to hear that our employees feel confident and valued. Thanks for sharing!


  5. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    very friendly working environment. and very flexible

    Cons

    using a lot new technologies.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks so much for your review! We're invested in developing the incredibly talented people who work at Liberty. Glad that's been your experience!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Employment experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work with wonderful benefits and people.

    Cons

    Corporate procedures can get in the way of completing work in the most efficient manner

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty Mutual was positive!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Portsmouth, NH
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Get to work from home, great benefits, work-load is light, very reasonable when it comes to vacation time and sick days

    Cons

    Slow career progression, can be difficult to get recognition for your work. Senior management has fumbled their change of philosophy, and has mishandled the way in which they keep their employees informed of changes that will directly impact them.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what youre doing in the future, establish a plan and stick to it. Be clear to employees

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Aug 23, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks so much for your review! We're invested in developing the incredibly talented people who work at Liberty. We encourage you to have open communication with your manager regarding your... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic environment where peers provide support to one another

    Cons

    Hours extend beyond a standard 40hr work week.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for taking a few minutes to post a review. We’re glad to know your time at Liberty Mutual was positive!


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Too Many Reorgs In Commercial Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Underwriter in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Senior Underwriter in Indianapolis, IN
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Many career paths, investments in technology and new processes show a corporate interest in staying relevant in the future, lots of underwriting talent throughout the organization. Some progressive ideas with work-life mgmt.

    Cons

    Too many reorgs. Agents and employees can't keep up with the changes. Sometimes the changes are good but then everything changes in two years and the prior achievements are lost. The latest commercial insurance reorg, which took 8-9 months to roll-out, was a complete scrambling of the framework laid by the prior major reorg. Speaking for underwriting, in the field we couldn't figure out what in the world mgmt was thinking with the latest changes. not clear what successful competitor we were emulating or what future business model we were preparing for. All that was clear was the stress and uncertainty the field had to endure yet again. I believe the company will remain a strong platform in the long run given the investments in technology and the talent they have but the employees are being put through a painful, and needless IMO, roller coaster ride.

    Advice to Management

    A year ago I would have said tweaks are needed but don't blow things up. At this point, I think the new Commercial Insurance doesn't quite make sense but yet another reorg would break everyone's spirits. Listen to the field and listen to your agents and brokers.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Commercial Property Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good people, good pay, very good benefits although the cost is increasing every year, many office locations in the US so opportunities to relocate exist.

    Cons

    They consistently assign significantly too much work to employees so people are overloaded most of the time. This impacts the quality of the work accomplished. They have significant layoffs every three or four years which adds to the stress of the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Try to address the above two problems. You could decrease the employee turnover and have happier employees that would be more productive.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – Talent and Enterprise Services

    We appreciate you spending some time writing down your thoughts. We work hard to provide an open, positive work environment that employees can be proud of. We always welcome opportunities for... More


Showing 2,957 of 3,174 reviews
Reset Filters