Walmart Reviews | Glassdoor

Walmart Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40994 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
11949 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for the amount of work(in 1565 reviews)

  • "Nice coworkers good benefits great place(in 1060 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unless hours are available full time is usually not an option(in 1213 reviews)

  • "Short staffed at times long hours(in 1169 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great work life balance with pleasant and smart employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great engineers and coders. Work life balance. Utilization of newest technologies.

    Cons

    Walmart is a huge company, so you're very disconnected from business decisions. There is also a ranking system to get raises and promotions. There is a forced bell curve for employee performance, so someone is always going to be screwed.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the ranking system and keep the standards high for new hires.

    Walmart2019-05-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It’s very fun catching shoplifters!

    Cons

    Working weekends and holidays and nights! Also dealing with shoplifters with guns. There’s a lot of danger involved in this job!! Can’t be scared to deal with some bad individuals.

    Walmart2019-05-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great job for a helpful people person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Many associates, easy to “fly under the radar” if you want. Easy to excel as there are many who don’t care to; excellence gets mgt attention.

    Cons

    Not great pay, increases come in small increments Erratic hours make life difficult

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example CBWA Show some care and concern for your associates and they will work hard for you!

    Walmart2019-05-21
  4. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Forrest City, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The best benefit of working for one of the world's largest retail companies, is that I have the opportunity to meet and work with new people everyday. Being in a customer service industry allows me to make a positive impact in my customers' day, no matter how small it may be. Sometimes it's the small things that make a huge difference.

    Cons

    The biggest set back about working for such a large company, is that it takes so much time away from my family. Family is everything to me, and sometimes I feel like I'm missing out on the most important part of my children's lives.

    Advice to Management

    I would encourage every manager to take the time to get to know your people. Realize that you all are a part of a team, and that the only way your team will succeed is of you all work together. Understand that you can learn something from h person on your team. Recognize their strenths and identify where they will best be applied to make the biggest impact. Take care of your team and they will take care of you.

    Walmart2019-05-22
  5. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Benbrook, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff and management team lots of room for advancement

    Cons

    Standing too long not enough breaks

    Advice to Management

    More interaction with cashiers

    Walmart2019-05-22
  6. "Overall good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Work schedule that was always first shift in the morning

    Cons

    Special holiday dates Walmart makes, you wont be able to take off work.

    Walmart2019-05-23
  7. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working there and meeting new people

    Cons

    Management could be frustrating on occassion, but overall good people

    Walmart2019-05-23
  8. "Great place if you stay sharp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Market and Regional Leadership: strong and genuine leaders. Salary. Resume builder

    Cons

    Must stay on your game. Do not have a bad visit above the regional level... it will be your last.

    Walmart2019-05-22
  9. "Weigh out the odds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Associate in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Usually good management Fun work environment Decent pay with ability to advance and promote

    Cons

    Corporate cares more about the money than the people

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your associates, never forget what Sam Walton was all about

    Walmart2019-05-22
  10. "Consistent work hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent work hours, consistent schedule, 2 breaks, and 1 lunch.

    Cons

    Coworkers are rude and live for drama.

    Walmart2019-05-22
Found 40994 reviews