Hertz Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Hertz President & CEO Kathryn V. Marinello
Kathryn V. Marinello
869 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits; team oriented; locally managed branches(in 161 reviews)

  • "Awesome team and great people in the team(in 145 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours which can lead to very late finishing time(in 622 reviews)

  • "Not enough support from upper management(in 412 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hertz and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jan 12, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Fayetteville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, great Hours ,good benefits

      Cons

      Pay need to be higher

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      High Pros and High Cons

      May 9, 2021 - District Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with Hertz a long 10 years. I love my Co-workers and I enjoy many parts of the job. The corporation gives both extreamly great benefits but also negativity. I love the company car, the pay is fair for the position, and bonuses are nice.

      Cons

      However we get these terrible surveys that are suppossed to rank the location but the customers are mad at corporate policy, 1800#, roadside ext. Yet at ground level we are to answer for it. They have a terrible outlook on how to book cars allowing customers to book and walk In for a vehicle you don't have on the lot. The regional GM is a joke, and I in general have always liked my bosses, so me saying he is a tool... really means he is a corporate pushing shell of a man. While COVID happened they made the worst most cost expense ideas leading to even more issues and dug a huge hole. Then to get out of it they punished the ground level employees with layoffs and location closures, gave senior management bonuses, then later reopened locations and just left those employees to struggle. What an awful company to work for. For someone with no morals and who love to take advantage of those corporate advantages then it's a great place, but if you care about ethics and people it's probably not for you. It will leave you feeling like an empty shell of a person being yelled at that your ruining peoples trips, vacations, day, week, so on just because the company doesn't care.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Phenomenal Position

      Apr 2, 2021 - Finance Manager in Rockville Centre, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If being successful, dependable and doing a good job matters to you then you can make a very good income along with getting great benefits. Literally the best job in the best location in the company.

      Cons

      The paperwork can become a bit overwhelming at times, but it’s a job, not amusement park. Some people may have negative things to say and I understand that I’m just one person with one opinion based on my one store. I simply have not had those negative experiences.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      good place to work

      Apr 29, 2021 - Vehicle Service Agent in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good bosses, nice co workers. I really liked it, and I'd still be there, but I got laid off due to the pandemic.

      Cons

      working outside in all kinds of weather. I've heard the company has filed for bankruptcy, but I haven't heard how it's gone. I presume they are still working out things with their creditors.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Company to Work For

      May 12, 2021 - Branch Manager Trainee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You learn something new everyday

      Cons

      Shortage of vehicles from company could be an issue.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      May 12, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great culture and potential to move up

      Cons

      Compensation was lower than I would have liked

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Salary

      May 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay scale and nice work environment

      Cons

      So far I havent find any difficulties

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      It’s ok

      May 11, 2021 - Hertz Branch Manager in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company car was nice

      Cons

      Being Micro managed was not fun

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Hertz Employment

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst in Estero, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, great management, very talented people

      Cons

      dependen on the travel industry and lot of debt in the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tough Scene

      May 14, 2021 - Manager Trainee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Drive nice cars. Occasional free time when no reservations.

      Cons

      Hertz overbooked and leaves you with no cars to rent for upcoming reservations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 5,424 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hertz Job Seekers

    Branch Manager Trainee
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hertz? Share Your Experiences

    or