HubSpot Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "This isn't to say that the work-life balance is bad (it isn't)(in 57 reviews)

  • "Fast growth creates some growing pains -- like needing to develop new managers/leaders(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (26)

    "The Company You've Been Looking For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at HubSpot for less than a year and these are the things that I've loved since starting - Flexibility: Just be sure to communicate with your team and managers and flexibility of schedule is offered to you if you need it. It makes you feel like you're in charge of your schedule as long as you're producing the expected amount of work. - Autonomy: At first, coming from a different company/culture, this was an adjustment. But, I can honestly say that I love being in charge of making my own day to day priorities while driving towards an overall set goal. It makes me feel empowered and I take pride and ownership over the work I'm doing each day. - Great People Work Here: Amazing people ready to welcome anyone that is new and help with any questions. - Creative Freedom/Everyone's Opinion Matters

    Cons

    The only con I have would be the sense of being overwhelmed a bit at the beginning of my career here. There is a lot of information available to new employees and it can be hard to determine where to start. The learning and development team does a great job of trying to set you off on the right path though.

    HubSpot2020-01-27

    HubSpot Response

    February 12, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and for being an engineer at HubSpot, we are lucky to have you. I think your feedback on feeling overwhelmed at the start is important, both to encourage our team to continue to keep an eye on that with new folks, but also for new folks to realize they aren't alone on that front, so thanks for calling it out! I also love you feel Creative Opinion and that everyone's voice here matters-it's mission critical that folks feel that way, so it brings me great joy that you do. Thank you for your thoughtful review and for all you do for HubSpot! -Katie

  2. "Good place to be a BDR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    - Solid product to sell, can sell everything not just a specific product - Shortest BDR Tenure I could find - Promotion based on metrics

    Cons

    None that I could think of

    HubSpot2020-05-01
  3. "Great Company to work for"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist 

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    unlimited paid time off. Overall benefits

    Cons

    Difficult to find promotion opportunities; salary

    HubSpot2020-05-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Feel like I won the employment lottery"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation days, ability to WFH whenever, amazing culture code and dedication to inclusivity and diversity

    Cons

    Wish they had more US offices - in NYC specifically

    HubSpot2020-04-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with excellent culture."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked alongside some of the most intellectually curious and humble people in Boston, and I grew more professionally and personally at HubSpot at any other company.

    Cons

    Sometimes it’s hard to take risks and try new things where the company is such a well oiled machine.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-04-19
  6. "A company you want to stay at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    1. Fair 2. Transparent 3. Human 4. Kind 5. Treat all employees equally

    Cons

    Commuter benefits are not great. Need to stand out for internal mobility

    HubSpot2020-04-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Don't Bother if you Aren't White."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Low pay, high stress, angry customers/clients, bully management.

    Cons

    For a company that always preaches about diversity and exclusivity, minorities are not treated with the same level of respect here. Time and time again, I saw the opinions of my white coworkers considered more important and above those of my minority coworkers.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-05-16
  8. "Great Place to Start Your Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Staff Writer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unreal perks, unlimited PTO, great people, big emphasis on diversity and inclusion

    Cons

    Can't think of many offhand

    HubSpot2020-04-05
  9. Helpful (7)

    "wouldn’t recommend for women/minorities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible work environment; interesting technical challenges; great mentorship opportunities

    Cons

    needs a lot more diversity, inclusion and belonging work; lacks transparency in compensation and pays way below the market rate; small 401K match; undervalue employees

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-03-26
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Not a good place to start Tech job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Maybe free gourmet coffee and smoothie.

    Cons

    The company were flooded with junior engineers who were just prompted to Tech Lead positions, and know pretty much nothing about software design and constantly exercise poor technical judgements. They don't know how to solve problems many of times, and focus on unimportant and trivia stuff. I would imagine Hubspot is probably the first job for them out of their colleges, and ironically they hold some bad-practice (software design anti-patterns) as golden rules for them.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-03-26
Found 1101 reviews