HubSpot Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Unlimited vacation also help de-stress concerns about work life balance(in 87 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance (you're encouraged to take days off)(in 83 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance, especially in the WFH era(in 60 reviews)

  • "Small growing pains due to recent growth to bigger market(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of HubSpot and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Eight years of growth, innovation, and happiness.

      Oct 19, 2020 - Channel Account Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started my career at HubSpot right out of college and haven't looked back since. Believing in our product and our mission is easy, but it's the people that make my job meaningful. HubSpot is filled with a diverse range of employees from all around the world working towards a single goal. As we've grown and scaled one of the areas we have continued to thrive is hiring top talent. Not only do we hire top performers and leaders we hire people that are kind, trustworthy, and empathetic. The feeling of camaraderie and belonging is authentic and represents the values that are important to me outside of work. I'm most proud of our focus on LGBTQ+ initiatives. The HubSpot LGBTQ Alliance celebrates Pride year-round with a variety of global initiatives for both employees and strangers. These programs create a more inclusive work environment, hiring pool and make me proud to call HubSpot my employer.

      Cons

      We're mostly working from home these days, I really miss our office. I've been day dreaming about the candy wall.

      18 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      This warmed my heart. Our LGBTQ+ initiatives are near and dear to my heart and it makes me so happy to hear you call them out as a reason you love working here. I also love that you note we hire top performers but who convey empathy and respect-that's our goal time and time again. I too miss the candy wall and seeing everyone, but appreciate you taking the time to write this review and all you do to help our channel partners grow with us! Sincerely, Katie

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 4, 2021 - Small Business Representative in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - people from all different backgrounds/career - great place to start out in sales - room for growth

      Cons

      has been hard to onboard remotely but they are working on this

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great remote workplace, but some leaders need more EQ

      Apr 22, 2021 - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Senior leadership makes positive changes and cares about the company culture. There are some rockstar tech leads and engineering managers here. Lots of opportunity to work with senior engineers. High mobility + flexibility. Engineers are encouraged to work on new projects/teams and to continue learning. Not very stressful, at least in my experience as a Software Engineer. I pretty much work 9-5 and don't feel pressured to work more than that. The company is experiencing a ton of growth and seems to be scaling well.

      Cons

      A handful of engineers have poor communication skills. There could be more training for engineers to not come across so arrogant, condescending, or harsh in their speech. It seems some senior engineers get promoted to tech lead too quickly. I have noticed some tech leads are better at being engineers than they are at empathizing with people. Not all tech leads will check in with you on a regular basis. This is hard when working in a remote world. Anyone in a leadership position should be trained to check in on new hires more often. Better to be over-communicative. Base compensation seems fair, but I think HubSpot could bump up the stock reward and signing bonus values to attract more talent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Bring Your Whole Self To Work

      Apr 22, 2021 - Manager, Professional Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a person of color, it is incredible to be able to show up to work with my whole self intact. This is the first time in over 20 years that I haven't been worried that I was too Black or too concerned with diversity to be successful in the workplace. I don't feel the need to 'tone it down ' at HubSpot and my unique ideas and experiences are valued. The open dialogue, resources, and emphasis on education have allowed me to exhale and be fully present. It is an incredible experience! Executive-level management is accessible, plugged in, and truly cares about the development of each HubSpotter.

      Cons

      Well, I am not the smartest person in the room which isn't necessarily a con! Be prepared for rapid shifts, innovation, and the unexpected-again, not necessarily a con!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, great benefits, great people

      Apr 22, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The one thing that has stood out to me is the way this company speaks about the social issues that are going on in the world. They have proven time and time again that they are willing to openly discuss taboo issues that others may shy away from. They also are really good at bringing in outside speakers to talk to you about things like life, social justice, goals, mental health, family, etc. Lastly, the benefits are amazing: unlimited vacation, 5-year sabbatical, free books program, tuition reimbursement, primary and secondary paid time off (16 weeks), stock

      Cons

      The only "negative" thing I would say is that at first, it's hard to really understand what information is really important and needed for you to succeed at your role and what information is just nice to have. Also, I've struggled really understanding the org chart and people's roles and responsibilities. It doesn't seem to be clearly defined

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      HubSpot gives me faith in business and in humanity

      Apr 27, 2021 - Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company truly walks the walk. They aren't getting these awards for no reason — they really do earn them. I've never worked for a company that's more honest and upfront than HubSpot. I have faith that people will do what they say they will. I have faith that businesses don't have to be cutthroat to get ahead in the market. HubSpot is the epitome of good sportsmanship with customers, employees, investors, competition, and leadership. I feel like my role and my work matters for the bottom line of the company. I feel connected and important to our overall mission. The pay is fair and equitable for the work that I do. I haven't once thought "I don't get paid enough for this." and that's a true testament to psychological safety and job security here at HubSpot. People are truly respectful and considerate. When things go well we celebrate the wins and call out what we did right. When things could be better, we address them without pointing to faults in people. I've never seen this in a workplace before. There's so much trust here. It takes some getting used to if you've always had to watch your back at work and walk on eggshells. Nobody is breathing down your back about anything or looking to fire you. You're trusted to deliver and everyone wants you to succeed.

      Cons

      Working remotely is great, but it does have its pitfalls when it's forced rather than chosen. I'd love to visit the office once a quarter, but because of the pandemic, that hasn't been an option. I wish I could see my coworkers more and really connect with them. But I'm sure those opportunities will come soon. Some processes are hard to work around, like getting access to internal systems.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fast growth, smart people, opportunity for impact, but be careful of burnout

      Apr 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, the real focus on being true to the culture, extreme levels of transparency on how the company is doing, humility, but most of all the focus on customers. For example the leaders invite real customers to each quarterly company all hands meeting to tell the whole company what they really think - the good, the 'need it to be better', and how that affects HubSpot's customer's own businesses/growth. Those lessons are not just 'curated opinions' telling the whole company fluffy feel good things, but keep the company very close to reality about how to grow better to help HubSpot's customers grow better themselves.

      Cons

      Scaling so fast with empathy and humility requires a lot of emotional labor as a leader. Need to keep reminding myself to use the unlimited vacation to recharge so I can support my team through a lot of change and growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Glad you like our customer emphasis at the company meeting, thanks so much for being there and for calling out as you said that it's really for us to learn and grow together. I think your push on emotional labor is the right one--I'm feeling it lately too! If you have any tips and tricks along the way, please send them my way, but in the meantime just know this is a topic of great priority with executive leadership. Sincerely, Katie

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      Apr 17, 2021 - Account Executive in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing product that is market leading amazing benefits An actual, real culture where they care about you Lots of autonomy and freedom Lots of inbound leads

      Cons

      Tons of great people work in sales and not enough leadership roles so it's really tough to move up. Everytime you apply for a role to move up the or advance your career you are up against 20 other internal candidates that are equally amazing. Unfortunately you probably have to leave HubSpot if you want to move up. Good news is that you can basically pick where you want to work after HubSpot.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for sharing your perspective and for helping us sell from beautiful Nashville! I think/hope we can continue to get creative in terms of how we retain folks given how fast we are growing, but totally hear you on the feedback-thanks for sharing it with us and for making the time to share this feedback--I really do appreciate it. Please have a coffee for me at Barista in Nashville, hope to visit you there as soon as it's safe to get back to travel someday not too far away! -Katie

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      HubSpot walks the culture code walk!

      Apr 22, 2021 - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Coworkers and Leadership really embody the values of the company - Asynchronous remote workflow and communication - Autonomy & significance of work - Amazing mentorship, I'm learning a lot about engineering and also how to be a better human being

      Cons

      I don't have any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Lots of autonomy and responsibilities

      Jan 18, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer II in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's never a dull moment at work; there's always something new cooking around the corner, and we move quite fast. I love all the autonomy and support I get to try new things and take on large, vague projects. I'm constantly learning, and if something isn't working out or I've stopped learning, switching teams is easy and even encouraged (I've been on 5 teams, and have tried out tech leadership as well as individual contributor roles). My peers support me, and I feel like they also care a lot about the team and our success. There's physiological safety to voice your opinions and try out new things, even if you're wrong and you fail. There are a few teams where this is not true, but you can easily move off or avoid them altogether by asking around. There is a lot of emphasis placed on mental health, and taking the time you need to live your life as well as work, which is wonderful. Primary and secondary parental leave are both now 4 months, which is incredible!

      Cons

      There exist teams where there isn't physiological safety and they seem to operate contradictory to the HubSpot way. While they are far and few, I imagine if you're placed here as a new hire, you would have a very different experience at HubSpot, which is saddening.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Hi there, sorry for the delay on my end, and thanks for being a senior software engineer at HubSpot! I love that you've moved around and felt encouraged to do so, and I love that you called out our parental leave change-thanks for calling that out! Helping people grow AND helping their families grow is mission critical to all we do. I think your point that psych safety has to exist on every team for it to really work is a good one, particularly as we scale-thank you for calling it out and for all your hard work at HubSpot, it's sincerely appreciated. -Katie

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,482 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

    Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Leadership Rotational Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

    or