HubSpot Reviews | Glassdoor

HubSpot Reviews

Updated November 14, 2018
736 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

736 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The awareness around work/life balance is also very appreciated" (in 37 reviews)

  • "Work from home or flextime is highly supported" (in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be difficult to work out at first" (in 47 reviews)

  • "It's a growing company so there are some growing pains obviously associated with that" (in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Still great after 4+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've been at HubSpot now for almost 4 years and there's nowhere else I've even thought about working in that time. Why? HubSpot is a great place to work. I feel like I'm valued. I have a lot of autonomy in how and when and where I work. I feel strongly about the mission of the company. All in all, I'm extremely happy here.

    Cons

    As the company grows, scaling communication and decision making becomes more difficult. Luckily, it's something that's top of mind for many people who are working to make communication easier and better.

    HubSpot Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for spending 4+ years with us and for your kind review--I'm super grateful to you for sharing it. I agree with you on scaling communication and decision making--my hope is that the investments... More


  2. "Recruiting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    The shared growth mindset among employees, the bias towards action, the genuinely transparent nature of the culture, and the empathy towards all employees

    Cons

    The performance review process could be more consistently executed across functions.

  3. "Excellent place to work with great growth opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Cambridge, MA
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The defining aspect of HubSpot is the culture. The entire organization is welcoming, and I have never seen a company that runs as well as this one. You are genuinely looked after by all members of your team.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be difficult to work out at first.

    HubSpot Response

    Nov 11, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the review and for being part of our support org when you were at HubSpot-we really appreciate the feedback and hope you'll stay part of our HubSpot Alumni network! Sincerely, Katie


  4. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very dynamic place. Probably the best managed engineering org I've seen. They've found a balance between process and productivity. Their infrastructure is top notch - you wont have to worry about solving silly infra problems that have been solved a million times before. People are nice. I've actually became friends with some of my co-workers, and we still stay in touch.
    Their product is great, and customers love it. You actually get to interact with customers as much as you have time for (UX tests, actual dinners with customers, annual conference)
    If you haven't so far, at HubSpot you will quickly learn what is actually important when it comes to making software.
    HubSpot is no one trick pony. There is plenty of innovation, new exciting things, and they MOVE FAST!

    Cons

    HubSpot is big on culture and this can be a bit overwhelming. You might feel like you are losing your own identity to it, or that your identity doesn't matter, and it is all about how well you work in the HubSpot system. Whether this is a good thing or not would make for an interesting discussion, but their approach works very well for them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the good work.

    HubSpot Response

    Nov 9, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a HubSpot alum, and for sharing your feedback with us-I really appreciate it! The goal is definitely to do the positive things you outlined, but to also ensure we are really... More


  5. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    Everything about this company is amazing!

    Cons

    Not enough guidance on projects.

    HubSpot Response

    Nov 4, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for submitting a review and for helping our marketing team grow! Sincerely, Katie


  6. "Great place to learn and incubate, however subpar compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    • Sterling executive management team that is constantly unsatisfied and strives to improve
    • Understands that culture is like a shark - continuously moving forward with no steady state; actively invests in thoughtful and genuine initiatives that enrich the employee experience
    • Recognizes the complex challenges in tackling diversity, inclusion, and belonging and the nuances between mentorship and sponsorship; attempts to meaningfully improve in these arenas
    • Truly believes in transparency and allowing employees the ability to use good judgment
    • Best-in-breed business enablement infrastructure that supports flexible working styles
    • Supports continual education via tuition and Kindle reimbursements, in addition to inviting external speakers and implementing internal master classes and a fellows program
    • Allows dogs

    Cons

    • Total compensation below average
    • Variable quality in middle management

    Advice to Management

    HubSpot has embraced the mission to grow better. As someone who joined fresh out of college, I can attest to how seriously HubSpot takes that mission. I was exposed to sharp colleagues and byzantine problems that aligned fully with the goal to grow better. I encountered some of my long-term mentors and advocates there who have greatly influenced my professional character. It was an environment where I was able to thrive, receiving multiple non-programmatic promotions in a few short years.

    This having said, I was a bit disappointed by the story communicated during compensation discussions with my supervisor. I was made to feel that $x was what I was worth and was more than fair. It wasn't until I received offers elsewhere did I realize that this belief was false. I ultimately left for a lateral move that was over 50% more total compensation (base + equity + bonus) which allowed me to better fulfill my personal goals.

    Overall, I absolutely enjoyed my time at HubSpot and am grateful for the opportunities it offered me. I can't speak to if my situation was an intended one on behalf of management; over the years, I have seen many top performers leave for compensation-related reasons without consequent action. If it is a regrettable outcome, then my advice for executive management is to apply the "grow better" lens more critically not only to intellectual development, but to internal transfer/career development as well. In many ways, HubSpot stands above in its peers in HEART, but here it's neither remarkable nor transparent.


  7. "Great Place for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -High emphasis on employee growth
    -Great benefits to encourage that growth like tuition reimbursement, free book program, professional development fund, etc.
    -A network of employees who are passionate about their jobs
    -Fun events
    -Excellent speakers come in to share their wisdom
    -Dog-friendly office

    Cons

    None - while the fast-paced work environment might not be for everyone, I absolutely love it here.

    HubSpot Response

    Oct 29, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for spending a year with us and for helping us grow better as a company. I love that you called out the tuition reimbursement and external speakers, and that you note the emphasis on employee... More

  8. "An environment that will constantly challenge you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Incredibly smart and driven people who will inspire and motivate you to be better personally and professionally
    - As someone on the younger side, I enjoy the fact that work and friends blur a little bit - I like hanging out with coworkers on nights and weekends. It makes work all the more enjoyable!
    - Executive transparency
    - Excellent managers who give you actual ownership, don't micromanage, and are invested in your career growth, not just their own
    - Strong focus on diversity and inclusion efforts in recruiting, promotions, and compensation

    Cons

    - Fast pace is not for everyone and can definitely be overwhelming. I have felt at times as though I'm constantly playing catch-up
    - While I believe in the mission of helping organizations grow better, I sometimes find myself doubting whether or not I'm truly making an impact on others' lives - marketing and sales software isn't my passion. That's personal, though
    - Flexibility is a double-edged sword: work/life balance sometimes goes down the drain a bit as a result of seeing that others are online at early/late hours and not defining exactly how much time someone should be spending on work. There are definitely people who manage it well and still crush it at work, but they're few and far between

    Advice to Management

    In my opinion, we need to double down on the customer-first attitude and think about improving the product and service experience before building out even more product.

    Please continue focusing on diversity and inclusion efforts, staying true to HubSpot values, and maintaining the exceptional transparency!

    HubSpot Response

    Oct 29, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us, the feedback, and for helping our marketing team grow! I think the push on the fulfillment of our mission is a fair one-the way I think about it, we help... More


  9. "Fast paced, energetic environment with people who really care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    There are a ton of wonderful things about working at HubSpot. I'll rattle off a few here:
    -Unlimited vacation
    -Flexible work hours
    -Stock purchase
    -Good benefits
    -Generosity in snacks, food
    -Tons of events to attend
    -Many ways to get involved
    -Focus on inclusion & diversity
    -Supportive co-workers
    -Hard working, incredibly smart people
    -Great office space
    -Interesting speakers- always inviting
    -Investment in employee resources groups
    -strong, strong focus on culture
    -Inspirational founders
    -Strong female leadership
    -investment in career growth
    -autonomy to get things done
    -co. invests in tools to make job easier
    -quickly growing & scaling in multiple countries
    -incredible INBOUND conferences
    -just an overall generous org for employees

    Cons

    -would like to see better 401k match
    -it's a growing company- there are growing pains. it's expected.
    -not necessarily a con but there is pressure and urgency that can be felt in many departments

    HubSpot Response

    Oct 23, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the feedback, and love that you call out supportive coworkers and our commitment to diversity and inclusion as reasons you love being here. Appreciate the push on the 401k and the growing... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great coworkers, big potential for impact & ownership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Sharp coworkers, healthy and supportive environment, many opportunities for growth & learning, good compensation, very low politics, comfortable office. Engineering group has a great set of tools to be productive. Product organization means each person can really have significant impact on a part of the products.

    Cons

    Small teams means real responsibility on everyone's shoulders. There has been a lot of focus and investment in D&I over last 2 years but it still a work-in-progress to be where everyone wants it to be.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to have a big vision for what HubSpot can become. Keep investing heavily in diversity & inclusion

    HubSpot Response

    Oct 17, 2018 – Chief People Officer

    Thanks for spending 5+ years with our team, I'm grateful for both your time and energy and for your feedback here. I love how you articulated potential impact, and agree with your callout that with... More


Showing 736 of 791 reviews
Reset Filters