Youth Villages Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
32%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
261 Ratings
Pros
  • "It provides the opportunity to truly give back to your community and improve the lives of children and families(in 26 reviews)

  • "I am currently seeking licensure with support from YV(in 24 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Youth Villages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring company and treats you like a family.

    Cons

    Work can be overwhelming if you don’t take care of yourself.

    Youth Villages2020-05-27

    Youth Villages Response

    May 27, 2020Youth Villages

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to know you feel supported.

  2. "Great experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Intervention Specialist in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Youth Villages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, great learning opportunity, great benefits, rewarding work

    Cons

    There is a lot of travel

    Youth Villages2020-05-14

    Youth Villages Response

    May 15, 2020Youth Villages

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate your insight and thank you for your time working with us.

  3. "Best Position"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Teacher Counselor 

    I have been working at Youth Villages full-time

    Pros

    Great working with the kids

    Cons

    Minimum communication skills with employees

    Youth Villages2020-05-12

    Youth Villages Response

    May 15, 2020Youth Villages

    Thank you for your insightful feedback. We are glad to hear you have been enjoying your time while working with us. We 'd love to hear additional insights from you. Please contact us at feedback@youthvillages.org

  4. "I honestly have no words to describe how bad this place is."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counselor in Memphis, TN

    I worked at Youth Villages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None! The only pros are that it looks good on a resume

    Cons

    Everything! There isn't any work-life balance

    Youth Villages2020-05-27
  5. "Great place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Youth Counselor in Douglassville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Youth Villages part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment of working with the staff is always welcoming. You get great benefits for a starting position.

    Cons

    The pay is not great starting off.

    Youth Villages2020-03-02

    Youth Villages Response

    March 10, 2020Youth Villages

    Thank you for sharing. We are glad you are enjoying the culture and the people. . Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  6. "lack of work life balance"

    3.0
    Current Employee - LifeSet Specialist 

    I have been working at Youth Villages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    adequate PTO and sick leave, supportive supervisors, licensure supervision available

    Cons

    lack of work-life balance, lack of training for DCS program, no overtime and consistently work 45-55 hours a week

    Youth Villages2020-02-25

    Youth Villages Response

    March 10, 2020Youth Villages

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved, including our colleagues and families we serve as we work to help children we serve return home to their families. If you'd like to share additional feedback, please contact us at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  7. "Family Intervention Specialist"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Intervention Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Youth Villages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility of making own scedule.

    Cons

    Salary was very low for the years I worked.

    Continue reading
    Youth Villages2020-02-24

    Youth Villages Response

    March 10, 2020Youth Villages

    We appreciate your feedback! We’re so happy to hear you’ve had a valuable experience. The work requirement can be a lot at times, but we hope it is just as rewarding. We are continuously working to improve salary requirements as well. If you have other things you would like to talk about in depth, please email us at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  8. "behavioral youth counselor"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Behavioral Youth Counselor 

    I have been working at Youth Villages full-time

    Pros

    putting a smile on the kids faces

    Cons

    stressful, rules or guidelines are made up as they go along

    Youth Villages2020-02-09

    Youth Villages Response

    March 10, 2020Youth Villages

    Thank you for sharing. We are glad you are enjoying the culture and the people. We are constantly meeting and brainstorming ways to decrease the stress associated with the job. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

  9. "Great place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intercept Family Counselor in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Youth Villages full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly and supportive co-workers.

    Cons

    The pay could be higher for the amount of time you have to work

    Youth Villages2020-01-27

    Youth Villages Response

    February 7, 2020Youth Villages

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. The work required at times can be demanding but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved, including our colleagues and families we serve as we work to help children we serve return home to their families. We’re very happy to hear you enjoyed working with us!

  10. "Its ok"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Teacher Counselor 

    I worked at Youth Villages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay check, positive influence,

    Cons

    No life, messed up schedule

    Youth Villages2020-01-27

    Youth Villages Response

    March 10, 2020Youth Villages

    Thank you for sharing. We are glad you are enjoying the culture and the people. We are constantly meeting and brainstorming ways to decrease the stress associated with the job. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

Found 519 reviews