KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Youth Villages

Engaged Employer

Youth Villages

Add a Review

Youth Villages Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Youth Villages CEO Patrick Lawler
Patrick Lawler
311 Ratings
Pros
  • "It provides the opportunity to truly give back to your community and improve the lives of children and families(in 27 reviews)

  • "I am currently seeking licensure with support from YV(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Difficult maintaining a work-life balance(in 85 reviews)

  • "Long hours, mandatory transports on off days(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Opportunities

      Jun 7, 2021 - Regional Manager in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ongoing training and development opportunities

      Cons

      Salaries should be more competitive, but there’s been improvements overall.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for your feedback! We have worked to ensure that every frontline employee who works directly with youth receives reasonable, competitive compensation.  (All Youth Villages full-time positions begin at least at $15 an hour.) We also offer a competitive benefits package that rivals that of many for-profit companies. The continuing enhancement of salary and benefits is at the forefront of our CEO’s priorities in every location that we serve. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not what it seemed to be

      Jun 11, 2021 - Behavior Counselor in Douglasville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Starting pay rate was great for entry level

      Cons

      16 hour shift Covid Protocol

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not sure what this section is asking for

      May 5, 2021 - Residential Night Monitor in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being able to share my love for working with at risk youth. Working with leadership on ways to improve youth's overall stay at the facility. The facility offers many opportunities for the youth (ie caring for rescue animals, horseback riding, learning to play instruments, canoe riding, etc)

      Cons

      It is difficult not to become attached to the youth as many of them don't have close family relationships. It is understandable that this is not encouraged. Oftentimes one wants to give items (for example clothing) to those less fortunate that don't have very much to call their own and this was difficult.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your time with our organization, and we wish you well in your future endeavors. Thank you for your time with us!

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Challenging but worth it

      Feb 24, 2021 - Family Intervention Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are always learning new things. Good professional development role for social workers. Working with kids and their families. Creating good outcomes for people. A great team of supervisors who are always available to help. Teams we work on feel homey. People care about each other here. I would have stayed in the job if my personal life circumstances let me

      Cons

      There is lots of documentation. They says it’s collaborative so there isn’t much outside of sessions but that’s not entirely true. Having 5 families is hard with so much paperwork. Drive time sucks if you get one or Two that’s out of the way. They say it is a flexible schedule but when it comes down to it, it isn’t. Higher up management doesn’t talk to you until a case goes wrong and then they put you in the hot seat, criticize you, and tries to call it “support”

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Burn out is not your fault

      Jun 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'll learn a lot especially if you work with them right out of school

      Cons

      There is no work like balance. The company has chronic staffing issues due to burn out when they address by just dumping more work on already burnt out employees. Then blames the person when they leave, saying that the person couldn't cut it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work!

      May 18, 2021 - Clinical Supervisor in Raynham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive Salary - Culture of the office - Supportive environment - Opportunity for Growth - Cell phone/Mileage compensation - Having an impact on children and families - Constant direction with treatment from leadership

      Cons

      - Work/Life balance - On call system needs revamping - Benefits

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It’s ok but sometimes not worth it

      Jun 7, 2021 - Family Specialist in Cookeville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is decent. The training is good

      Cons

      Benefits could be better. Stop shuffling staff from one supervisor to the next.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Job

      Jun 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good staff members to work with.

      Cons

      It can be overwhelming sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review about your experience working at Youth Villages. During the hiring process, we aim to be very transparent about the non-traditional hours and scheduling that is required for many of our positions. Employees enjoy the flexibility of working with company-issued laptops and creating their own meeting schedules, but it does require time management skills. We understand our line of work may require extra time, particularly if a child or family is in crisis. The work required at times can be demanding, but hopefully fulfilling and beneficial to all involved. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Quick Burnout - Little Support

      May 5, 2021 - Family Intervention Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to make your own schedule (as long as it works with your clients).

      Cons

      You are immediately thrown into the work and have very little actual training of the job you are tasked to do. The training you do receive is mostly about the company itself and not about specific jobs. When something goes even a little wrong, you are made to feel incompetent. You are given little time to complete everything (which is an industry wide issue, not just YV). You get things like random free lunches and swag bags instead of a pay increase.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for your feedback! We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Okay

      May 28, 2021 - Clinical Supervisor in Greensboro, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, flexibility, mostly great people to work with

      Cons

      Leadership expects too much at times. Lacks versatility and compassion for their staff.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Youth Villages Response

      Youth Villages

      Thank you for your feedback! We strive to maintain open communication with management and our colleagues. At Youth Villages, children’s needs come first but we also believe in being committed to our staff’s success and support. That said, we take your concerns very seriously and will take this feedback to the appropriate teams. Please reach out to us to share any additional feedback at feedback@youthvillages.org.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 632 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Youth Villages Job Seekers

    Family Intervention Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Transitional Living Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Youth Villages? Share Your Experiences

    Youth Villages logo
    or