Express Scripts Reviews | Glassdoor

Express Scripts Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1574 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Express Scripts CEO Tim Wentworth
Tim Wentworth
342 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, work from home and amazing people are just a few awesome reasons to work here(in 217 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, raises equal to effort put forward, friendly work force(in 127 reviews)

Cons
  • "ESI needs to work on creating a culture that promotes better work-life balance(in 239 reviews)

  • "Company culture sucks, no work life family balance(in 88 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Service Coordinator in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Express Scripts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the Call Center and loved every moment of it. Great Working Environment. Good Communication between co workers, and management. Great benefits.

    Cons

    There really are't any cons i can think of.

    Express Scripts2019-01-02

    Express Scripts Response

    April 8, 2019HR Communications

    We’re glad to hear about the successful communication in your department – but we’re ecstatic to hear how much you love your job and enjoy the benefits offered. Thank you for sharing your opinion. We’re grateful for the work that you do!

  2. "Great company over 20plus years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Express Scripts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Had flexibility in company in positions

    Cons

    Multiple mergers have occurred through the years

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on Pt first work environment

    Express Scripts2019-04-27

    Express Scripts Response

    May 22, 2019HR Communications

    We’re ecstatic to know you enjoyed your tenure with Express Scripts and glad to know you’ve been able to take advantage of the flexibility we offer our employees. We wish you luck on your future endeavors and grateful for the work that you did for us.

  3. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Express Scripts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very nice and approachable. The atmosphere is fantastic which makes me enjoy going into work. And they have a ping pong table - that's where the actions at.

    Cons

    Truthfully, I don't have any.

    Express Scripts2019-08-11
  4. "Mostly an easy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Express Scripts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really nice benefits. Starting pay is pretty reasonable. It's a great place to settle in your career.

    Cons

    Limited ability to move up if you are not based in Saint Louis. Employees based in STL seem to get promoted just for proving they can show up to the office consistently. Not a lot of opportunity to grow into higher paying roles; you mostly become a cog in the machine.

    Express Scripts2019-08-06
  5. "Penny Pincher Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Express Scripts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to advance career, provides on the job training for new technicians

    Cons

    Annual layoffs, underpaid in every role I was in for 10 years

    Advice to Management

    Focus needs to go back to employee satisfaction

    Express Scripts2019-07-30
  6. "Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Specialist in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Express Scripts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Occasional free lunch, great co workers, and fast paced work.

    Cons

    People not pulling their own weight.

    Express Scripts2019-07-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Unfit Managers in a Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Franklin Lakes, NJ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Express Scripts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked with Express Scripts for over 13 years even through all mergers and acquisitions. The benefits and work from home are great pros.

    Cons

    It is concerning to me how employees were let go during mergers and how I have actually heard individuals advise managers not to rehire employees for no reason. There are managers actually bypassing candidates just because another employee advised them not to re- hire them.

    Advice to Management

    HR and Upper Management needs to ensure that Managers are suited for the job.

    Express Scripts2019-08-07
  8. "Product Owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Express Scripts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, competitive salary, allowed to work remote

    Cons

    Hectic pace of work, heavy workload, non-stop meetings, training only available via internal courses (external certifications you must pay yourself).

    Advice to Management

    Hire and promote more from within the company, listen to your employees about heavy workload and unreasonable demands on staff

    Express Scripts2019-07-26
  9. "Very patient centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Production Clerk in Whitestown, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Express Scripts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Healthcare, dental, and vision options.

    Cons

    - Not flexible with schedules - very poor communication on a supervisor level - poor incentive program - poor recognition ( we received a bottle of water once a month on a Wednesday 😐). - Not enough is being done for employees for recognition. - No consistency on a management level.

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your associates, we work in our respective areas everyday! If we have ideas to help make the job easier for everyone, please listen and provide feedback.

    Express Scripts2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Move on Along"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Los Rnchs Abq, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Express Scripts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New hires get decent benefits...better than long term employees.

    Cons

    You will not feel appreciated working here because, basically, you won't be. Management wants to suck the life out of you and give nothing in return. They are controlling, demanding of your time, want 100% accuracy and extremely high productivity. In other words; they want machines.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat the employess like you would want to be treated. There is truth in the old saying " you gather more bees with honey than you do with vinegar"....figure it out.

    Express Scripts2019-07-18
Found 1574 reviews