Maurices Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Maurices President George Goldfarb (no image)
George Goldfarb
364 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, hands on customer service training(in 140 reviews)

  • "40% discount flexibility long lasting friendships(in 93 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Pushed to sale the store credit card and didn't work with scheduling my hours with my classes(in 136 reviews)

  • "Upper management was not organized well(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Maurices and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing Work Place

      May 3, 2021 - First Assistant Manager in Buffalo, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing environment. Amazing Co workers. Amazing Discount

      Cons

      I can't think of anything I didn't like

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A great job for young people in school

      May 9, 2021 - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing discount on really great, quality clothes - 40% off regular priced items, extra 20% off of sale items. It's one of the main reasons why I stayed as long as I did. Maurices hires pretty nice people generally, so I personally never had a problem with any of my coworkers. The general clientele at Maurices is also overall pleasant, and we consistently saw repeat shoppers. Worked well with my school schedule while I was in college. I wasn't looking for a ton of hours initially. I ended up getting anywhere 8-12 starting out, and after I'd been there a while I averaged 10-20 a week.

      Cons

      Terrible pay across the board - even managers weren't making what they should've. If you aren't the store leader or the first assistant, you probably won't make enough, as many people that I worked with had a second job on top of this one. There's also not much room for growth within the store or the company. I recommend it for people in school who don't necessarily need the money and who aren't looking for anything longterm. I think they go a little too far with their customer service. Maurices lives by "the customer is always right", so even when they were absolutely in the wrong, we had to take whatever they wanted to throw at us. A lot of times I felt like a doormat for people, and I realized you really have to be okay with sucking up to people. COVID brought out the worst in people; I dealt with more rude people in the year that I worked during COVID than my two previous years combined.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Just know,

      Mar 31, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Puyallup, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic pay. Beautiful clothing. Increased employee discount % off just in time for holiday shopping.

      Cons

      Requiring each associate to mark anything from mundane to complex individual tasks in the company app as “acknowledged”, “in progress”, and “complete” did seem somewhat redundant but its what corporate wanted so I just shrugged it off and did what I was asked!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love

      Apr 24, 2021 - Store Leader in Rock Springs, WY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Care and work life balance is great!

      Cons

      No room for growth. DL positions are only given to leaders around big cities. Doesn’t make sense! I have zoom! I have an airport! I can drive! Will lose talent over it

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not worth it

      May 3, 2021 - SYLIST in Pflugerville, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      40% discount for employees, flexible work schedule

      Cons

      If you work part-time, you will get very little hours. I'm talking less than 8 hours a week. The work the managers have you do around the store is not worth the very little pay they give you. Management is breathing down your neck and micromanaging every task you do. Management says they encourage but won't require you to wear Maurice's clothing, however they look down upon your clothes if it's anything other than Maurices-type clothing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Zero work/life balance

      Apr 18, 2021 - Store Leader in Lockport, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Advancement opportunities - Salary

      Cons

      No work/life balance, your family will come last and business is always first. District managers are very cult-like and reek of toxic positivity. The salary does not match the work load, and they expect more at every turn. Sick? Too bad. Family death? Yeah, sorry but not sorry. Child sick and you have to leave? Not happening. There is absolutely no wiggle room, no margin for loss of profit regardless of the weather. You’re social and private life will be used against you. When I was interviewing for the store leader position the DM asked my current manager and close friend about my last name and said “Oh, great, we’ve been recruiting for diversity numbers! I did think she looked a little tan, right?” I’m a white female, but my married name suggested otherwise.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place

      May 3, 2021 - Maurices Store Manager in Monroe, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of fun with fashion

      Cons

      I have no cons about this employer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love it!

      Apr 30, 2021 - First Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small group of employees, amazing support from all levels of management, great pay

      Cons

      There are none that I have found

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company and People - Doesn’t pay well

      Apr 9, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Burbank, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved the people i worked with over the years and generally enjoyed the company. i was promoted to a full time position but the amount of work v. what you get paid is not enough.

      Cons

      the pay is not very much but great work environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      Apr 29, 2021 - Store Manager in Columbia, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company that truly cares about their employees. Paid time off

      Cons

      Pay not as great as it could be

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,280 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Maurices Job Seekers

    Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Maurices? Share Your Experiences

    or