CSX Reviews

Updated May 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,108 of over 1,170 reviews

2.6
32%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
CSX President and CEO Jim Foote
Jim Foote
215 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "poor management..being on call your whole career.(in 85 reviews)
  • "No work/life balance( expected to work overtime every week on salary)(in 36 reviews)
  • "long hours and away from home(in 25 reviews)
  • "Rules are subject to interpritation and what is acceptable to one manager may not be to the next so your never comfortable with what your doing and spend more time worried about wether or not a manager is watching you with night vision than about doing your job and staying alive.(in 21 reviews)
  • "New CEO has changed the company drastically(in 18 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of CSX and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Retired after 43 years

    May 18, 2022 - Track Inspector in Covington, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, retirement and security

    Cons

    I have no complaints about csx!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Does not listen to employee wishes

    May 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people on direct teams

    Cons

    CSX has always been a premier employer, however, in the post covid flexible environment they are falling far behind other employers in the Jacksonville and national markets. Employees have been very open about the fact that that would prefer the possibility of hybrid positions but the company has his head in the sand and has made little to no accommodations. Remote positions are offering higher salaries for professionals. Along with the higher salaries, remote employees do not have to pay for gas. Individuals working in the office are indirectly making lower salaries than people working remotely due to gas. Office employees are also losing 1-2 hours a day to commuting which is unnecessary. This amounts to almost a full extra week of work (just in drive time) that we are dedicating to our employer. This has a huge impact on lifestyle. The company should raise salaries to accommodate for this discrepancy or allow more flexibility. At the end of the day, we have less time with our families and less money. Something has to give. It seems they just don’t care and are not listening.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good money, but not worth it

    May 17, 2022 - Freight Train Conductor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are single and hate being home it's a great job. You can make up to $10,000 a month.

    Cons

    You are constantly being watch by managers and they WILL lie to get you in trouble! You are never home, so it sucks if you have kids.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great company to work for

    May 5, 2022 - Compensation Analyst in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I truly enjoyed my time with CSX, my direct manager was very knowledgeable. This is the first company I worked for where I truly felt I had a great work-life balance as my manager always tried to be flexible with our schedules as long as we ensured all our work was completed.

    Cons

    Sometimes it was difficult to institute change... was met with a lot of "that's not how we do things at CSX."

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company to work for

    May 9, 2022 - Senior Database Administrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company uses cutting edge technology.

    Cons

    This is a very good company to work for.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent Company

    Apr 26, 2022 - Financial Analyst in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting variety of projects to work on. Some teams are better than others.

    Cons

    Senior leadership is the downside, didn’t have many positive interactions. Top down organizational structure.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Not for new people

    May 12, 2022 - Railroad Conductor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, great training, excellent retirement.

    Cons

    After the training, it’s a different job. The railroad doesn’t look after it’s employees, and tries to get you fired to keep numbers down

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    CSX is a temporary job service

    May 10, 2022 - Freight Conductor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was decent, and free health insurance.

    Cons

    The management team is absolutely horrible. They do not care about the employees, or their well-being.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    They work us all the time. I sleep in hotels more often the my own bed

    May 19, 2022 - Locomotive Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Zero, I’m seriously considering quitting after 20 years

    Cons

    Long hours. Nights. Weekends. Holidays without extra pay.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work!!!

    Apr 27, 2022 - Freight Claims Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work life balance and the team environment

    Cons

    Nothing I can point out at the moment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,108 Reviews
</>Embed

CSX Reviews FAQs

CSX has an overall rating of 2.6 out of 5, based on over 1,170 reviews left anonymously by employees. 32% of employees would recommend working at CSX to a friend and 36% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, CSX employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at CSX. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

32% of CSX employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated CSX 1.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 1.9 for culture and values and 2.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at CSX to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with CSX Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CSX? Share Your Experiences

or