CSX Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
31%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
CSX President and CEO Jim Foote
Jim Foote
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay and benefits plenty of opportunities if your willing to relocate(in 107 reviews)

  • "Good pay, challenging but rewarding(in 106 reviews)

Cons
  • "Layoffs, work life balance is terrible(in 42 reviews)

  • "Unfortunately you work long hours and my have to spend a good amount of time away from home(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Communications Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I get to be a teammate to some of the hardest working men and women in the United States. Coming from a different industry, I had little understanding on how important rail is to the U.S. economy. I didn't know how many different skill sets were needed to keep the railroad moving. I ignorantly assumed or generalized that there were conductors, engineers and others that support the rail...but not knowing much more. We have operations in the building and in the field, techies, analysts, sales, marketing, a police department and so many more. I have been fortunate to stand side-by-side with a diverse and fun group of craft employees, managers, and senior leadership that have an unparalleled drive. My colleagues are some of the most proud and passionate people I have ever had the pleasure to worked with. The company itself is always examining new and innovative ways to redefine rail freight and the technologies that support what we do. It's an exciting time to be working here! By the way, the pay is pretty awesome too!

    Cons

    While most have good work-life balance, some teams (at certain times) have more work than the typical 9-to-5ers. That being said, you have to remember that the railroad is running 24-7-365.

    Continue reading
    CSX2019-10-16
  2. "Great Pay and Benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits and Retirement

    Cons

    This is not just a job its a lifestyle...not your normal 9-5.

    CSX2020-02-10
  3. "Great place to work"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Inspector in Toledo, OH

    I have been working at CSX full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and pay are great

    Cons

    Work/Home life balance is fully tipped to work

    CSX2020-05-12
  4. "Good job long hours"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainmaster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits and people

    Cons

    Long hours work holidays and very limited time off

    CSX2020-05-07
  5. "Csx"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntington, WV

    I worked at CSX full-time

    Pros

    Salary, Coworkers are only reason to stay

    Cons

    Layoffs, work life balance is terrible

    CSX2020-04-26
  6. "Great Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CSX full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, Good Benefits, Good Environment

    Cons

    Lots of change at the upper management levels

    CSX2020-04-24
  7. "Great at first, but the railroad is no longer what it used to be"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Signalman in Savannah, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, safety, family life, training, medical, benefits, union

    Cons

    Layoffs, temperamental management, misleading, dying business practices, changing expectations

    CSX2020-05-19
  8. "One of the most respected employers in Jacksonville"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Auditor in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for high performers to move to different roles around the company to learn and gain difference experiences. Solid pay, especially when factoring in bonus and benefits. Collegial environment; a lot of really wonderful people to work with.

    Cons

    As a railroad, operations experience is sometimes valued above other critical leadership skills. As a result, there are not very many women in leadership positions beyond the Director level.

    CSX2020-04-10
  9. "Trainmaster"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainmaster (Operations Manager) in Selkirk, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CSX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    PAY plus no time off if u hate your family this is the place for you

    Cons

    The company dangles your days off, your bonus, and everything under the sun, over your head. If it is not their way it is the the highway. The managers of management are completely disrespectful to their managers and SCRRRRREAM at them on conference call while everyone is toned in.No training whatsover its either hit the ground running or get walked on here. Expects you to fire employees if management simply doesnt like them.

    CSX2020-05-12
  10. "CSX sucks"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conductor in Waycross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CSX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nothing nada none zero none nothing nothing.

    Cons

    No life, forget about having a family. Managers watch your every move and try to fire you all the time.

    Continue reading
    CSX2020-05-04
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 776 Reviews
</>Embed