Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated May 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,356 of over 2,380 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
1,227 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "good pay and very flexible(in 200 reviews)
  • "Health benefits are great and dental(in 160 reviews)
  • "Great people and fun to work at.(in 105 reviews)
  • "You receive a small portion of time off on each paycheck depending on the hours you work.(in 86 reviews)
  • "Some great coworkers they gave me a job(in 47 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Harbor Freight Tools and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Great place to work

    Jul 29, 2021 - Store Manager in Germantown, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Company has great core principles that are applied in my everyday work life. Collaboration, doing the right thing, frugality, humility, keeping our egos in check and continuous improvement. The company is growing tremendously 1211 stores which means extreme opportunity for growth and development. Company believes in work life balance and really invests in their employees.

    Cons

    Overall technology could be better however I have seen much growth over the last four years.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking team! We rely on all our associates to bring value to our hardworking customers and we would not be able to accomplish all that we do without hardworking leaders like you. We strive to be the best place to work by listening to our associates and improving every step of the way. Your feedback will help us do that. We have heard similar responses from other associates and we assure you that we are continuously working to improve in this area. We encourage you to continue providing your suggestions as we strive to be the best place to work. Thank you for your continued hard work and we are glad to have you on the team!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great staff, amazing selection.

    May 16, 2022 - Part Time Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, knowledgeable managers and supvs, helpful to everyone, know where stuff is, willing to check if floor location empty. Tools that last forever, many w/ lifetime warranty.

    Cons

    Easy return with extended warranties. Great deal!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We would not be able to accomplish all that we do without hardworking Associates like you. Thank you for your continued hard work and we look forward to seeing you grow!

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place for students to work

    May 16, 2022 - Store Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people to work with, small store allows for easy location of product, good day pacing, good pay with bonus, flexible schedule for students

    Cons

    Poor scheduling and corporate policy, too much scripting for the required job, requires a lot of multitasking

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We depend on all our Associates to provide a great customer experience and build a great place to work. Please know that we regularly monitor Associate feedback in our efforts of continuous improvement and we highly encourage you to reach out to your Store Manager regarding any concerns. Thank you for your continued hard work and we’re glad to have you on the team!

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    great job to start out

    May 15, 2022 - Senior Logistics Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    experience in sales, customer service, and basic logistics

    Cons

    revolving door at all positions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Harbor Freight, we have a passion for excellence in everything we do. We want you to know that your feedback is valuable to us as we strive to build the best place to work. Thank you for your hard work and we wish you the best in your career journey!

  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not Bad

    May 13, 2022 - Logistics Manager in Victoria, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pays well and affordable insurance

    Cons

    Work late till 12 am I'm not a night person it didn't work for me but awesome place to work and great staff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Harbor Freight, we believe in providing our Associates with respectful schedules and we highly encourage them to reach out to their Store Managers regarding scheduling concerns. Thank you for your hard work in Victoria, TX and we wish you the best in your career journey!

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company/ great people

    May 12, 2022 - Store Manager in Asheville, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership is strong! Very associate/ employee focused.

    Cons

    None that I can remember.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for your positive feedback. At Harbor Freight, we value people above all else and we believe in continuously improving at all levels, including management. Thank you for your hard work in Asheville, NC and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great benefits

    May 12, 2022 - Equipment Operator in Dillon, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything is pretty good about it

    Cons

    It's nothing really bad about it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking team. We strive to build the best place to work by learning as we grow and develop every step of the way. Thank you for your continued hard work in Dillon, SC and we look forward to seeing you grow!

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Sales associate

    May 8, 2022 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance, pto, benefits

    Cons

    Workload, growth, yearly pay raises

    1 person found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for your feedback. We value people above all else and we believe in creating a work/life balance for all our Associates. At Harbor Freight, our goal is to continuously improve by listening to our Associates and improving every step of the way. Thank you for your feedback and we wish you the best in your career journey!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Harbor Freight distribution center

    May 11, 2022 - Warehouse Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, 3 days off during the week.

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work. Getting paid every two weeks.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful