Harbor Freight Tools Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated December 9, 2017
1,078 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
560 Ratings

1,078 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Company is growing very rapidly so always something new to handle (in 29 reviews)

  • Paid time off if you build up hour (in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • awful hours not a good work life balance (in 32 reviews)

  • Upper management is very negative to employees "below them" (in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good work environment and room for growth with the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Organized, friendly, and fun environment to work in.

    Cons

    Low starting pay and lengthy hiring process


  2. "It's a pretty low key job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Management is cool for the most part. They're great about working around my school schedule. As long as you're willing to put in the work(ie show up on time and DO YOUR JOB and not slack off and make your problems other peoples problems) you'll get the hours you want for the most part. PTO even for part time employees. You also get paid commission for all the warranties and Inside Track Club Memberships so on a good paycheck it basically comes out to me making 3-5 dollars more an hour.

    Cons

    I mean none really for me. There's pretty much only one manager I hate working with because he likes to milk the clock and we never leave on time but that's just at my branch I can't speak for anywhere else.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 8, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and providing some helpful advice for our associates. We are committed to providing a great workplace where people can learn and grow. We'll see you in the... More

  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, I enjoy my job very much.

    Cons

    Sometimes tough working with customers on different situation, but overall I have learned a lot about dealing with people.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thanks so much for providing your feedback, and glad you're having a positive experience with us. We'll see you in the stores!


  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Strong values, great work-life balance

    Cons

    Its retail prepare for variable shifts

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you for providing your feedback, and best of luck in your career!


  5. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Supervisor
    Former Employee - Warehouse Supervisor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, Potential for growth, Great management, team players

    Cons

    Work overnight often, physically demanding job, hard to advance within a store

    Advice to Management

    More time off!

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for providing your feedback, which will help us in our continual improvement at Harbor Freight. We also appreciate your hard work, and best of luck in your future goals!


  6. "Chill place, overnight work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    cool people nice managers.

    Cons

    part time, no hours, weird hours

    Advice to Management

    keep on chuggin

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We appreciate you providing your feedback, and thank you for your work with Harbor Freight! Best of luck in your career journey!


  7. "Great company, and great compensation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance, great pay, and great upper management. My current DM is a great guy, and understands family comes first.

    Cons

    The only con is more of a hit or miss. This job can be really stressful if your DM isn't a decent human. Other wise there are truly zero complaints.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback and for being a part of our family in Tucson, AZ for over 8 years! As you know, we are committed to continuous improvement, and will utilize your feedback to keep... More

  8. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lebanon, TN
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lebanon, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company truly makes you feel like your part of a bigger team

    Cons

    I didn't know a lot of stuff about tools when i startedm

    Advice to Management

    Try to teach your employees about the tools they are selling

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We thank you for being a part of the Harbor Freight family, and appreciate you sharing your feedback. We always want to engage and educate our generous associates with knowledge about our tools, and... More


  9. "I love working at Harbor Freight Tools. I've been there about 6months. I love the employees the managers are real nice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Uniontown, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Uniontown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I would recommend harbor freight to a friend to work there. It's not hard work people are friendly.

    Cons

    At first I thought it was hard to sell the ESP's but you have to fund a confront zone for yourself then you'll be okay.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for posting your feedback and welcome to Harbor Freight Tools! We hope you'll continue to grow with us in Uniontown, PA and we look forward to seeing you in the store!


  10. "Senior sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Wichita, KS
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for. I loved my job and my customers. Even liked my managers. Benefits and hourly were decent. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a sales position!

    Cons

    Benefits are only for full time employees. A little high in price, but decent for the money.
    No set schedule if you want full time. Have to be available to work anytime.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Nov 29, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us in Wichita! We are proud to offer great values in benefits for our full-time associates, and will focus on improving them even more. Best of luck in... More


Showing 1,078 of 1,083 reviews
Reset Filters