Harbor Freight Tools Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated January 17, 2018
1,092 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
569 Ratings

1,092 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Company is growing very rapidly so always something new to handle (in 29 reviews)

  • Paid time off if you build up hour (in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • awful hours not a good work life balance (in 32 reviews)

  • Upper management is very negative to employees "below them" (in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Happy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Webster, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Webster, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Management is great, PTO is easily earned

    Cons

    nothing negative to say, just an FYI there are expectations, and if you're not willing to work at them, someone else will. You do work hard for your money.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee wishes


  2. "Looking for partime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Contractor for over 20 years, i know every tool.

    Cons

    not any at this time

  3. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Dyersburg, TN
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Dyersburg, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It’s a good job and the co-workers can be silly at times .

    Cons

    The hours are my problem.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Jan 10, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Hello, and thank you for sharing your concerns about your hours, we appreciate you sharing your feedback. Thanks for joining the Harbor Freight Tools family and we look forward to seeing you in the... More


  4. "Receiver / Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Ability to move up in the company.
    Able to move into different department to learn new set of skills.

    Cons

    Unstable hours going from 8 to 12 hours.


  5. "Unload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unloader Associate/Equipment and in Dillon, SC
    Former Employee - Unloader Associate/Equipment and in Dillon, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They had a good benefits for you and your family and they also have a friendly work environment

    Cons

    They has very long hours

    Advice to Management

    They are very excited to see you do your best

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for providing your feedback, and we wish you the best of luck in your future career goals!


  6. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Supervisor in Sherman, TX
    Current Employee - Logistics Supervisor in Sherman, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I love working for Harbor Freight. I get to travel to other stores and help out with new store openings, remodels and relocations. Pay is decent when there's payroll.

    Cons

    I've noticed it's not about what you do its about who you know concerning promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Better starting pay to minimize losing potentially great employees.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Jan 4, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback, and know that your manager would be open to hearing your feedback on compensation as well. We appreciate you being a part of the Harbor Freight Tools family!


  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    The customers and co-workers you worked with her nice and cool

    Cons

    Managers not so much

    Advice to Management

    Take fault in what you do.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Jan 4, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you very much for your feedback, and we wish you the best in your future career goals!

  8. "Ok second job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    No pressure got to see what I was going to buy in future. Had a good floor supervisor as he and I liked tools

    Cons

    Heavy items and angry customers Sales were tough but I knew what sold and what to stock up on the shelves

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    We greatly appreciate you giving your feedback, and are happy you enjoyed your time with us at Harbor Freight. Best of luck in your future career, and thanks again for all your work.


  9. "Good work environment and room for growth with the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Organized, friendly, and fun environment to work in.

    Cons

    Low starting pay and lengthy hiring process

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your feedback on compensation and our hiring process. As you know, Harbor Freight is dedicated to continuous improvement and your feedback will assist us in improving even more... More


  10. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    Good pay
    Employee discount on top of great prices

    Cons

    Payroll or lack thereof
    Upper management

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Dec 27, 2017 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thanks so much for your feedback, and best of luck in your future career!


Showing 1,092 of 1,096 reviews
Reset Filters