Harbor Freight Tools Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Freight Tools Reviews

Updated April 17, 2018
1,152 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
607 Ratings

1,152 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The company is growing fairly quickly so there are lots of new position (in 31 reviews)

  • Paid time off if you build up hour (in 68 reviews)

Cons
  • Not always a good work/life balance (in 37 reviews)

  • Upper management is very negative to employees "below them" (in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Logistics Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really great company. If you work hard, they notice. They really take interest in their employees when they are doing a good job been with the company for a few months and have already been promoted twice. Like I said great company has some great benefits and if you're a hard worker it gets noticed

    Cons

    I really have nothing bad to say

    Advice to Management

    You're doing a great job keep it up!

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Jan 4, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Wow, thank you so much for your feedback, we're happy to hear you're having a great experience with Harbor Freight Tools!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Working Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Logistics Associate in Edmond, OK
    Current Employee - Senior Logistics Associate in Edmond, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A non-hectic working environment. Employees are kept quite busy, but being able to interact with and help customers helps make sure you're not stuck doing the same thing for hours on end.

    In my personal experience and outside observations, we do receive breaks without having to ask for them.

    The management team is beyond excellent. Our logistics supervisor up to our Logistics Manager, and even our Store Manager is extremely hard-working and hands on.

    Cons

    Having to learn new tasks very quickly; sometimes with very little or incomplete instructions on how to perform new tasks.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to experiment on truck nights, in order to find out where/what each employee is most productive and efficienct at.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Mar 20, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback regarding logistics, and for your suggestions. We look forward to seeing you progress with us at Harbor Freight Tools!

  3. "Great place to work. Mutliple opportunities for moving up in company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Del City, OK
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Del City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very flexible schedules, no drug test, great benefits such as 20 percent off everything in the store PTO holiday pay sick pay all as a part-time employee

    Cons

    Often too few people working at one time, far too small of warehouse for the amount of floor load we get in.

    Advice to Management

    Management really has no issue here at least at my Del City store, what really is the issue is Corporate not allowing enough hours to have enough people to properly keep the store running at the level that corporate expects it to.


  4. "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Supervisor
    Current Employee - Logistics Supervisor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay considering the work. Good training. Really stives for a positive work environment.

    Cons

    Very inefficient. Often doing work over and over again for small dollar item's.

    Advice to Management

    Improve technology usage to streamline operations. Put you labor money serving the new customer base you have gained during expansion.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for the feedback regarding technology, we will definitely utilize it in our continuous improvement. We appreciate you being a part of the Harbor Freight family and look forward to... More


  5. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Really loved working with employees and management.

    Cons

    They don’t listen to you, as a cashier they don’t care how your register is short wether it’s your fault or not they blame you for it, like you have control over a register messing up or counting machine messing up.

    Advice to Management

    this goes especially to HR management, instead of pointing fingers at innocent employees you’s need to listen more to them, and when sexual abuse is happening in the work place you need to settle the problem better and not let people like this keep thier jobs.


  6. "reasons why"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time

    Pros

    the company have good hours of operation. The daily operations and closing procedures is fairly easy. It is a good place to work as a manager.

    Cons

    They need to give more hrs to parttime to stop high turnover. For the amount of work the want associate to endure , the company should pay better.

    Advice to Management

    Higher more employees, better pay a must, better raises, more room for opp. to grow. Make sure you all make your associates feel important for their hard work so that they will work harder for you.


  7. "Sales/cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate
    Current Employee - Sales Associate
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools part-time

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to make extra on sales.

    Cons

    Only lead associate get full time

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Apr 3, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback, we look forward to seeing your growth with Harbor Freight Tools!

  8. "Marketing Tactics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They keep people coming in with endless coupons, which is great for the customers, but a nightmare for the cashiers.

    Cons

    So many stupid outdoor signs, such as "Everything Must Go" and "Inventory Closeout". Customers come in expecting closeout discounts, and seem perturbed when we have to tell them, "No we're not closing--it's just stupid marketing tactics".

    Advice to Management

    Bait and switch type of tactics are annoying--STOP IT!

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are constantly testing what resonates well with our customers and Associates, and so we appreciate hearing from you! We look forward to your continued growth... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Salem, NH
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Salem, NH

    I worked at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good Hours
    OK Pay and Benefits

    Cons

    Constant Pressure from District Managers

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and best of luck in your future career!


  10. "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Freight Tools full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, nice compensation for sales associates, advancement opportunities, 401k match and time off earned as you go. (even for part time associates)

    Cons

    Not enough people.that will cover when needed. ( this is not management's fault)

    Advice to Management

    Keep inspiring others to grow and reach their potential.

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Mar 27, 2018 – Employment Branding Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback, and we will continue to grow and develop all our Associates in our Harbor Freight family! We wish you and the team in Oswego the best!


Showing 1,152 of 1,156 reviews
Reset Filters